Take That, Rachael Ray

Okay, I swear, I don’t regularly watch Rachael Ray.  But, as someone who works from home, I usually have the TV turned on to the music channels, or something mindless (enter: Rachael Ray) to drown out the sounds of the city and make me feel less alone.

The other day, the tube just happened to be tuned to RR.  And I happened to catch that she was making something that actually sounded pretty interesting: a “lasanga” with pumpkin and sausage.  I just happened to have a pack of turkey sausage, with destination recipe unknown, thawing in the refrigerator.  Perfect!

So today, I googled Ms. Ray’s show, assuming I could find the recipe online.  As it turns out….not so much.  Her website was out of date, listing the ingredients of the recipe but refusing to divulge the instructions, stating that the show had “not yet aired.”   Very unprofessional, R-squared!  Shame on you!

However, I was so excited about the prospect of using my turkey sausage in this unconventional manner, that I decided to go ahead and try to make a lasagna like the one I’d seen.   And I have to admit: it came out phenomenally.  Probably even better than the one on her ridiculous show.  HA!

IMG_2136

Full recipe is below.  And I’ll go to bed with the smug knowledge that while I don’t have an audience of thousands of viewers who tune in every day to watch me make paninis and be artificially perky….I have you, my blog readers. 🙂

Today’s EAT:  My version of Butternut Squash Lasagna with Turkey Sausage.  Recipe and full write up here.

Today’s DRINK:  I’m chugging Airborne.  I have a slight stuffy nose today – allergies, I hope!  I do not need any swine flu right now, thankyouverymuch.

Today’s RUN:  No running, but I did go for a nice 30-minute walk.  I’m anxious to get back to some sort of working out, even though I’m taking this week off of running.  Maybe something easy at the gym tomorrow.

3 responses to “Take That, Rachael Ray

  1. Ooooh. That recipe looks yummy. I may have to try it this week!

  2. Sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Oh, Rachael Ray. « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

