I’m a Local!

Or am starting to feel like one, anyway.  

And it’s kind of a fun feeling.  I admit, I get a little rush of pride when some random tourist stops me on the street – picks me, out of all of the people walking around! – to ask where Bleecker street is or which way to the 1 train.  I feel kinda proud of myself when I can actually answer, too.  My neighborhood is not the most easily understood place in the city.

I kind of wonder what will end up happening next year; if we will stay in NYC or end up somewhere else.  I never thought I’d say this, but I would actually be OK with staying here for a few more years.  Not, like, forever….but for a couple more years?  Sure.  I like it here.  A lot more than I thought I would.

Today’s EAT: Going to Malatesta for dinner, which has been on my list of places to try.  Excited.  I love trying new restaurants!

Today’s DRINK: After dinner, headed to a monthly meet-up thingy with the some of the hubs’ b-school classmates.  We’re going to Cowgirl Hall of Fame, which looks just deliciously kitschy and fun.  I’m wearing my pink Frye boots for the occasion. 🙂

Today’s RUN: Well, I’ll start by saying that my run yesterday (which I never blogged) was a disaster.  Ugh.  I went out for five miles and made it maybe four, generously.  I made a mistake which I often make when the season is changing: I dressed totally inappropriately.  Looked outside and saw rain and wind and thought “December – cold” and put on tights and a long sleeved tee.  Well, it was actually in the 50s.  If there is one thing that I hate while running, it is being too hot.  I was miserable.  Ugh!  In addition to that, I just felt off: my legs were all heavy, my lunch was staging a rebellion in my tummy, my head was itchy.  Writing that one off to a bad day!

Thankfully, today’s workout was better!  I needed to do weights, and was too lazy to try to run AND go to the gym, so I just did a short run on the treadmill, 3 miles, 22:55.  Tried to keep the pace a little brisk to compensate for the short distance.  And then I did my weight workout (upper body – back, shoulders mostly) and it was great!

One response to “I’m a Local!

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you are loving NYC and can see yourself staying for awhile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

