Bakin’ and bacon

Nasty, rainy Sunday.  What to do?  Bake, cook and eat of course!

Today’s EAT: Oh, where to start.  I had planned to make both these Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies and some Oreo Truffles.   As it turned out, I lacked wax paper, which nixed the truffles.  So I just made the cherry cookies.

They came out okay!  A little dry maybe, which I blame on my wonky oven and its completely whimsical temperature dial.  Seriously, I don’t think the knob has anything to do with what temp it actually is in there.  Anyway, they ended up cooking longer than they should have.  Still pretty darn tasty though!  And I’m hoping to make the truffles tomorrow.

Then, dinner.  I saw this recipe for Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta on tastespotting, which is a website you should never ever visit while hungry.  This recipe combined several of my favorite things (butternut squash, bacon) and even purported to be mac-and-cheese-like, which sealed the deal for me.

Not gonna lie, any dish that starts out like this has pretty much already won me over:

Hellooooooo, bacon.

The end result was absolutely delish and complety not healthy at all.  I don’t claim to be a healthy cook, but this dish was a little rich even for me!  I think next time (and there will definitely be a next time!) I’ll serve a smaller portion of pasta along with a big salad as a side, to cut the richness of the pasta.

And now I sit on the couch in a bacon coma.  So bad, but sooooo good.

Today’s DRINK:  Mark West 2008 Pinot Noir.  This is one of my favorite inexpensive bottles of wine!  It’s like 7 bucks at Trader Joe’s and very mild, perfect for pairing with a bold-flavored dinner like the one I made tonight.

Today’s RUN:  Meh.  Excercise is overrated. 🙂  At least that is how I feel today!

Leave a Reply

