New Years Eve in numbers

The hubs and I just got back from a wild and wonderful week in Whistler BC.  Here are some fun stats:

SEVENTEEN friends crammed into the Westin Whistler.  Plus a few assorted family members of the group in the area.  Watch out, Whistler Village.

FORTY-NINE centimeters of new snow.  That’s like 20″!  Most of it fell on New Year’s Eve, which made for an amazing New Year’s Day, which was even more amazing considering that I actually made it out of bed and was on the gondola at 8:30 after staying out pretty late the night before.

FOUR ski days – two of them with fresh powder.  Incredible.

FIFTY pitchers consumed apres-ski.  That’s my best guess, anyway!  I figure 10-15 pitchers a day, over four days.  We logged some serious time at Black’s Pub!

THREE reasons to celebrate – other than the New Year, that is!  One engagement, one baby on the way, and one wedding anniversary.  What a great excuse for lots of bubbly and toasting – not like we really need one!  Congrats to all three couples!

ONE coat thief.  SO weird – this random chick who was trying to steal our jackets from the table we’d bought at the bar on NYE.  Needless to say, she was not so sly – we kept catching her.  Apparently we weren’t her only targets.  According to credible witnesses, she was spotted tottering around in the snow in her little mini-skirt later that night….only to be stopped by the police with a purse and jacket that weren’t hers!  Very strange.

TWO exhausted but happy New Yorkers, getting ready to leave the beautiful Pacific Northwest and head back to NYC tomorrow.

I’m so glad that we made such excellent friends during the hubs’ two years at business school.  It was SO good to see everyone – and can’t wait to do it again!!

Today’s EAT: Um….perhaps a salad with low-cal dressing?  This last week has been a whirlwind of amazing but not-so-healthy Canadian delicacies.  Check out some of the awesome places we ate.  But yeah…I need a little detox now!

Today’s DRINK: Tonight’s the last night of drinking the parental wine.  So sad.  Tomorrow it’s back to two-buck-chuck.  Boo.

Today’s RUN: Are you kidding me?  I can barely move after three straight days of skiing.  I’ll have to get back on the horse at some point this week though….I have a 5-mile race next weekend!

4 responses to “New Years Eve in numbers

  1. I just came across your blog through the Nest and had to comment…my husband and I vacationed in Whistler earlier this year and it was amazing! Most beautiful place I have ever been. Hope you guys had a blast!!

  2. Sounds like a great New Year’s (and what a fun write-up)!!! Happy 2010!!

  3. so glad you had a great time. I love Whistler, but obv. I am a bit biased 🙂
    Can’t believe we were within shouting distance (again) and didn’t meet up.

  4. Janine, we loved it too! I want to go back in the summer sometime. Hope next time we are in town it’s less hectic and we can meet up!

Leave a Reply

