This is NOT a resolution

But….I am trying to eat a bit healthier in the new year.

This is one thing about having been a runner for the last 15+ years.  I have never really needed to worry about what was going into my mouth.  Within reason, if I want it, I eat it.  And I love food and love eating!

However, as the big 3-0 approaches, I fear that I may have less latitude with my free-wheeling culinary tendencies.  I have certainly put on a few pounds in the last couple of years.  And while I wish I could just hire a personal trainer to whip me back in to shape, it ain’t gonna happen at NYC rates.

So, the hubs and I have launched something of a joint contest/bet.  If we can both drop a few pounds by our third anniversary, April 29, 2010, and weigh in at our April 29, 2007 weight, we’ll treat ourselves to a ridiculous sushi dinner, omakase-style, at one of the insanely expensive sushi places in NYC – something on which we would never otherwise drop coin!

10 pounds – that’s what I need to lose.  In 13 weeks.  Totally do-able, right?  Well, you may underestimate how much I enjoy cooking with things like bacon and butter.  And drinking wine.  It’s only been one week, and already I have complained like 17 times about how un-fun it is to cook healthy and how much I’d rather be frying pancetta than baking chicken.

So if you have tasty, healthy recipes to get this calorie-loving aspiring foodie through the next three months, feel free to share!  Otherwise, I might drive myself crazy.  Or to the BBQ wings at the bar downstairs (DROOL).

Today’s EAT: I made a healthy dinner.  Really.  Turkey sausage in a sauce of tomato sauce, garlic and onions.  Over a bit of whole wheat pasta.  It was….good.  Not crispy-duck-good, but good.

Today’s DRINK: A nice E.B. Foote red.  While I will attempt to moderate, I will NOT give up my wine entirely. 🙂

Today’s RUN: No running…just a 90-minute Vinyasa yoga class at the gym.  It kind of kicked my butt.  90 minutes is a long time to spend in utter humiliation over your lack of flexibility.

10 responses to “This is NOT a resolution

  1. Congrats on the running Shelb, I do admire your spirit for it!
    I do enjoy reading your blog as well…and I bet you eat healthier than many people I know. And probably much healthier than most.
    I am happy however, to hear of your interest in maybe taking that to even a little higher level.
    Here is a great site for all information anyone needs for healthy eating and nutrition.
    Hope you enjoy…and good luck with your new-age diet!

    http://www.whfoods.com/

    Love, Dad

  2. Good Luck! I need to lose 10 lbs. too. :-\ Not quite sure how to do that yet. 😀
    You know I love eating!

  3. Oh so I guess you don’t want that recipe for the Maple Glazed Apple Bacon Doughnuts! 🙂

  4. Um…yes, I do. You’ve gotta have a treat every once in a while, right? 🙂

  5. We’re doing the same thing – though on our end it’s who ever completes fewer cardio sessions in Jan has to gas/wash/detail the other’s car.

  6. Pingback: Plain old boring chicken? « eat, drink, run

  7. Love the blog, SVP! And totally admire the dedication to healthy eats!

    One favorite recipe of mine is to bake chicken breasts in parchment, slathered with non-fat plain yogurt, garlic, and whatever spices you fancy (I typically throw in a bit of cumin or turmeric, lemon, salt / pepper, paprika, and some water to thin it a bit). Serve with brown rice, some sort of veggie, and a finely diced tomato, onion, and cilantro salad (with a touch of olive oil and lemon).

    It’s both easy and tasty, and you can use the remaining breasts for a salad the next day!

    xx

    H.

  8. That sounds awesome, Halah! Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Non-resolution update « eat, drink, run

  10. Pingback: Three years ago… « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

