Demanding beasts

Well, well, well.  Hungry, are we?

This is what I am confronted with pretty much any time I step in to the kitchen during the morning or evening hours.  They totally crack me  up with this mirror-image thing, which they do often.  Sitting or laying in the same exact position, down to the curl in the tail.

It’s a good thing I have these furry faces to come home to on a grumpy day.

Emmy's Blue Steel pose

Parker loooooves an unmade bed.

Today was a grumpy day indeed.  It was just full of fail at every turn.

After getting some work done this morning, I decided to take advantage of the continued heat wave – sunny and 50, again! – with a run in Central Park this afternoon.  For whatever reason, it was totally one of those bleh runs, and I ended up cutting it short.  I blame too many clothes.  I wanted to make a couple of stops on the way home, so I wore pants and a long sleeved tee.  If there is ONE thing that ruins a run for me, it’s being too hot.  Ugh.  I shoulda stuck with shorts and just toughed it out on the post-run errands.

Cut to the errands.  The apartment was grocery-barren, so I planned a Trader Joe’s trip after my run.  I’m not sure if I’ve blogged about this before, but TJ’s in Manhattan can be a stressful and time-consuming experience.  There is a whole team of TJ’s employees whose sole responsibility it is to direct people into the appropriate lines (which wrap around the whole store).  I’ve waited for up to 45 minutes in line.  As long as you expect it, it’s not so bad…and you can do half of your shopping while in line, if you plan it well.

Well today, there was a line outside the door, just to get in.  With a Hawaiian-shirted TJ’s bouncer at the front and everything.  The line was at least 100 people deep.

Umm…..no.  I love TJ’s, but NO.

So home I headed, frustrated and grocery-less, having completed half of my intended workout.

Two minutes of cuddling with some cute kitty faces made it almost better, though.

Today’s EAT: Given my grocery situation, exacerbated by the lack of a dinner companion, I flip-flopped between ordering something in, or heating up a frozen pizza-thingy that had been in the freezer for a while.  I figured the pizza-thingy was probably a little healthier.  It was rich, but the crust was paper thin:

Ham, caramelized onions and gruyere cheese on a super thin pastry crust.  Delicious, and 600 calories for the whole thing.  (And duh, I ate the whole thing.)

Today’s DRINK: I’ve had a bottle of this year’s Georges Dubeouf Beaujolais Nouveau sitting around for a few weeks; I decided tonight was the night to try it.

I had never really heard of this wine or thought much of it’s role until my awesome wine-blogger friend Allison mentioned it a while back.  It is tasty and very different from other reds…it’s very, very fruity (because it’s so young, I guess) and just a tiny bit sweet.  You can get much more thorough explanation of what this wine is about over at Allison’s blog.  I’ll just say that it’s yummy.

Today’s RUN: I probably made it about 4 miles.  I had planned to do a 6-7 mile tempo run.  Ugh.  Oh well.  There’s always tomorrow.

2 responses to “Demanding beasts

  1. Well, I still don’t get the cat thing hun, but I am glad they can make you happy when you are having one of those days.
    Sounds like someone should apply for another TJ’s franchise in your neighborhood!
    Dad

  2. Hey…thanks for the shout-out!!

Leave a Reply

