California Love

The hubs and I rolled in to our apartment at 3:30 AM this morning, off of a (delayed of course) flight from LAX and a whirlwind weekend in Southern California.

The main attraction was the wedding of a friend from college.  It was fabulous – we saw so many people we hadn’t seen in several years.  Somehow though, once the open bar got going, it was just like 2002 all over again.  Except with a much worse hangover the next morning!

Along the way we also got to hang out with this handsome little guy…

…also known at Jinx, my sister-in-law’s adorable and incredibly high-energy doxie.  And also spent a wonderful afternoon with this beautiful little girl….

…also known as Calla, whose precious little face might be the most expressive thing I’ve ever seen!  And of course she has her mom’s cheeks and big blue eyes. 🙂

Along with lots of friends and family time, no trip to the west coast would be complete without some excellent seafood.  Fortunately our trip coincided with the first day of Restaurant Week in LA, and we took advantage with an awesome dinner at The Lobster in Santa Monica.  (Not surprisingly, I had the lobster.)

We also managed to squeeze in a sushi lunch at a little strip-mall sushi joint called Irori Sushi that was near my sister-in-law’s apartment.  It was fan-freaking-tastic.  Sushi is just so much better in LA than NYC….it really is.  And all of the good places are always in random strip malls.  (I’m looking at you, Hamasaku.)

And of course we had to make a stop at the king of all California institutions: In-n-Out Burger.  Honestly, I don’t even go for the Animal Style (although I know many people love it…it’s pickle/relish content is a dealbreaker for me).  And it’s still by far the best fast food burger I’ve ever had.

Over the weekend, a lot of people asked me which city I liked better, having lived now in both: New York or LA.  As a city, I’ve gotta go with NYC.  There really is no place on earth like NYC.  Buuuut….LA definitely has the sunshine, the beautiful coastline, the awesome sushi joints in random strip malls and the best burger on the planet.  (Shake Shack, while delicious, is no In-n-Out.  Not even close.)

At the end of the day, it’s a close call.  I love NYC, but I’ll take a LA getaway in a heartbeat.

Today’s EAT: Well, as you can see we pretty much ate our way through the weekend.  Trying to be a little good this week.  For lunch I had a Chicken “Club” Sandwich from Energy Kitchen, whose shtick is that nothing on their menu is over 500 calories.  And for under 500 calories, I’d have to say this sammy is pretty darn tasty.

Then this evening, I pulled some frozen dumplings from Vanessa’s Dumplings out of the freezer, then boiled and seared ’em up for a quick and (relatively) healthy dinner.

These dumplings might be the best food value in all of NYC.  You can buy a bag of 50 frozen dumplings at the restaurant for like $8.  And they’re pretty hearty…6-8 is definitely a full meal.  And a delicious one too.

Today’s DRINK:  Sipping on a Blue Moon.  I am sure that true beer snobs chortle at the popularity of this beer, but I find it a great everyday drinking beer.  It’s nice and flavorful without being too heavy.

Today’s RUN: A somewhat-planned rest day.  I am absolutely beat – not getting to sleep until 4 AM does that to me, these days.  So even though I just had a rest day on Sunday, I made today my rest day for the week.  I’ll pay for it this weekend, I am sure, when I just want to be a lazy slob!

One response to “California Love

  1. Glad y’all had a great weekend with wonderful family and friends & AWESOME food. I miss home. 😦

Leave a Reply

