Blasphemy…store bought dressing

A confession: Balsamic vinegar and I have something of a love affair going.

I will eat it on just about anything: poured over pasta, soaked into a crusty baguette, dumped over veggies…hell, I would practically drink the stuff.  It has almost replaced ketchup as my favorite condiment.  (And I once ate 37 packets of ketchup at McDonald’s.  So that is saying something.)

Obviously my go-to salad dressing is Balsamic Vinaigrette.  And I make a damn good one, if I do say so myself.

But I guess not everyone loves Balsamic like I do.  The hubs, for whom I make dinner almost every night and who is generally very complimentary of my cooking, recently suggested that he’d like a different kind of salad dressing every now and then.

Hrmph.  You want the store bought crap?  Fine.

So yesterday when I was grocery shopping, I picked up a bottle of Trader Joe’s Italian dressing.  Although I was still a bit miffed about the situation, I had to admit it looked pretty unoffensive.

I tried it on my lunch salad today.  Which, by the way, was awesome:

Mixed greens with leftover flank steak from last night’s dinner, goat cheese, and – yes – those are crumbled Baked Ruffles potato chips.  (Don’t judge me.  Sometimes I crave a tiny bit of something carby and salty on my salad, and we don’t stock croutons!)

And the TJ’s dressing.  Which was surprisingly and refreshingly good.  I thought I’d miss my balsamic, but nope – not at all!

Maybe the hubs is right.  Maybe I should expand my salad-dressing repertoire.

So if you have a good dressing recipe, send it my way please!!

Today’s EAT:  I made a tasty and healthy dinner:  Honey-Lime Mahi Mahi Tacos with Blood Orange Salsa and Chili Sauce:

I made this one up and was really pleased with how it turned out – definitely a keeper!  I was especially happy with how the Greek-yogurt based sauce came out.  Normally I would make a dish like this with a mayo-based sauce, but (duh) that’s not terribly healthy.  Greek yogurt tastes almost the same and is packed with protein instead of empty calories!  (In fact, the hubs didn’t even realize that the sauce wasn’t mayo based.  Really a great substitution that I’m going to try on all of my mayo-based sauces!)

Today’s DRINK: I made a much-needed TJ’s wine run today!  Our little 12-bottle wine rack is fully stocked now – hooray!

Sipping on a Mouton Cadet Bordeaux tonight – it’s a white Bordeaux, which is a new one to me, but it is delicious!  I would say it’s medium-bodied – kind of between a Chardonnay and a lighter wine like a Pinot Grigio.  And just a tad sweet.  It was great with the Mahi.

Today’s RUN: I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m pretty easily motivated by shiny new things when it comes to running, whether it’s a playlist, a new item of clothing or a pair of shoes.  So when my new shoes arrived today, I was very excited to take them out!  (Even though they are the exact same model of shoes I’ve had since last summer.  No matter.  Shiny!  New!  Exciting!)

Unfortunately, the sidewalks were pretty sloppy today from last night’s snow.  So I took my shiny new shoes to the treadmill at the gym, where I did a ladder of intervals (1-3 min recovery between each):

400 (1:35), 800 (3:28), 1200 (5:17), mile (6:56), 1200 (5:22), 800 (3:21), 400 (1:35)

I was pretty happy that I was able to more or less maintain a sub-7 pace throughout the workout.  If only I could get to where that were a comfortable pace!!

Hoping to take the shoes out for a little recovery run outside tomorrow.  Hopefully the sidewalks will be thawed!

3 responses to “Blasphemy…store bought dressing

  1. I just wanted to say that I also have a love-affair going on with balsamic vinegar…perhaps I should try branching out a bit! Also, love the idea of subbing Greek yogurt for mayo! I do it all the time with sour cream, but haven’t tried mayo yet. Think it would work for something like chicken or tuna salad?

  2. That salad looked so good…restaurant quality!

    I also love the shiny newness of fresh running shoes.

  3. Pingback: Single girl + big-ass salad « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

