WTF NYC Moment of the Week

As I was haulin’ my lazy butt to the gym today, I passed a well-dressed guy in a trenchcoat…carrying a toilet seat.  WTF?

Obviously NYC is a largely pedestrian city, and as someone who doesn’t have a car, I’m sure I’ve been spotted carrying my fair share of bizarre things around my neighborhood.  But toting a toilet seat through the West Village?

“Hey dude, you still coming over for brunch today?  Can you bring your toilet seat?”

Weirdness.

Actually, it’s become kind of a fun NYC pastime to invent backstories for people whose bizarre antics or conversations I observe.  And believe me, I’m not hurting for material.

Today’s EAT:  We are headed to Nook for dinner, a very cute-looking bistro in Hell’s Kitchen that I’m very excited to try out!  And – huge bonus! – it’s BYOB, so I’ll be scouring the wine rack shortly for something that won’t embarrass us in front of our dining companions. 🙂

Today’s DRINK: I’m bored waiting to go to dinner, so why not have a glass of wine?  No brainer!  I opened a bottle of Chilean wine that I got at TJ’s a while back.  It was inexpensive – under $10.  Panilonco 2008 Reserve Chardonnay/Viognier:

Pretty sure I was enticed by the shiny gold lion on the label.  (Oooh, shiny!!)  I wonder sometimes how much money wineries invest in their labels.  I would guess a decent amount?  A cute label always sucks me in.

Anyway, it’s not a bad wine!  It pretty much tastes like a Chardonnay to me.  I’d buy it again!

Today’s RUN: I had some time on my hands today – so it was a perfect day for a nice long workout at the gym.  Except for the fact that apparently every other member had the same idea – the place was packed, ugh!  But aside from dodging the pretty boys in the weight room, I got a great workout in: 3 easy miles on the TM (24:45), then upper body weights (bench press, lat pull down, shoulder press, assisted dip, dumbbell fly, lat raise, low row, supermans and lots of push ups).

One response to “WTF NYC Moment of the Week

  1. So weird. lol I love your WTF NYC Moment of the Week. 😀

Leave a Reply

