…and a Friday Funny

I love the site Stuff White People Like – it’s absolutely hilarious.  One of my best friends and teammates from college sent this to me this afternoon and it made me smile!  I’m sure I must have read it at some point before, but it cracked me up (http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.com/2008/01/26/27-marathons/)

***************

#27 Marathons

January 26, 2008 by clander

In life, there are certain milestones of physical activity that can define you.  A sub 5 second 40 yard dash, a 40 inch vertical leap and so forth.  To a white person, the absolute pinnacle of fitness is to run a marathon.  Not to win, just to run.

White people will train for months, telling everyone who will listen about how they get up early in the morning, they run when it rains, how it makes them feels so great and gives them energy.

When they finish the marathon, they will generally take a photo of themselves in a pair of New Balance sneakers, running shorts, and their marathon number with both hands over their head in triumph (seriously, look it up, this is universal).

They will then set goals like running in the Boston Marathon or the New York Marathon.

If you find yourself in a situation where a white person is talking about a marathon, you must be impressed or you will lose favor with them immediately.  Running for a certain length of time on a specific day is a very important thing to a white person and should not be demeaned.

Also worth nothing, more competitive white people prefer triathlons because Kenyans can’t afford $10,000 specialty bicycles.  If the subject ever comes up, just say that triathletes are in better shape than football and basketball players.  It’s not true, but it will make the conversation a lot more genial.

***************

Hilariousness.

Today’s EAT: The hubs and I cooked dinner together and I concocted some Open-Faced Garlic Parmesan Burgers:

Not a recipe per se, but: chop onions.  Saute with minced garlic for a few minutes.  Mix with lean ground beef, shredded Parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and paprika.  Form in to patties.  Broil (or grill if you have a grill – you lucky bastard).  Serve on half a bun with sweet potato fries and a salad – and lots of ketchup, obviously. 🙂

Today’s DRINK: I also concocted a cocktail for our Friday evening in!

Chilled vodka, Hansen’s pomegranate diet soda, and a splash of chambord.   Just a little bit sweet and sparkly – and a lot delightful on a Friday night!

Today’s RUN: 5 miles easy/recovery, up and down a very windy Hudson River Park path on my normal 5-mile route.  Ugh – it was all tailwind on the way out and all headwind on the way back.  I was actually swearing at the wind as I plodded toward home.  Finished it in 43:30.

Also did an hour of Vinyasa yoga this morning, which was much needed.  I’m really sore from something.  I don’t know if it’s the new class I did this week or my long run, but my booty huuuuurts!!

4 responses to “…and a Friday Funny

  1. I feel as though our ketchup-vs.-pickle-which-is-the-greatest-evil is probably tired, so I will not revisit it here. But it does amuse me to see the shapeless ketchup blob assume such a prominent position on the plate, picture, and blog.

  2. oh, soames. that was only round one of the ketchup. you should have seen the size of the pile when I went back for seconds!

  3. Just out of curiosity, do you hate all pickled things? Like kimchi?

  4. kimchi, ew. Yeah, I would not eat that.

Leave a Reply

