Grocery WIN

I’m not much of a planner.  Outlook calendar?  No thanks.  Training plan?  Yawn.  Vacation itinerary?  Nah, I’d rather fly by the seat of my pants.

So, this whole process of being on a grocery budget and planning meals to cook has been quite a challenge for me the last few months.

I know that may sound ridiculous – after all, I am almost 30 years old – but as dumb as it is, I’ve always been a really bad grocery shopper.  I’d often go into Whole Foods with no list or preconceived idea of what to buy and come out with, like, a bunch of random fruit, a $14 block of cheese, and chocolate truffles.  And then proceed to order delivery for dinner because I had no real food to cook.  Oy.  Bad.

Well, the $14 cheese habit – and the delivery habit – had to end last year when the hubs and I went down to one income and moved to the most expensive city in the world.  Say hello to the food budget and the weekly meal plan, and goodbye to superfluous dairy.

I think I might be finally getting the hang of it though!  Because….I don’t have to buy groceries this week! My Trader Joe’s run from last week, with a little careful forethought, will last us at least through the weekend.  Hooray for not wasting food!

Impulsive grocery shopping is still fun, though, and I must admit I haven’t broken the habit entirely.  But I try to be a little smarter about it.  Strolling through the Greenmarket, for instance, and picking out one or two things that look particularly delectable – and, even better, are in season and locally produced.

(But…I still treat myself to a ridiculous little hunk of imported cheese once in a while.  Shhh….don’t tell the hubs.)

Today’s EAT: I’m about to share one of my favorite recipes in the entire world.  Ready?  This: Rack of Lamb with Caramelized Shallot and Thyme Crust.

Really, I could go on and on about how easy and delicious this recipe is, how is tastes and looks so fancy but is really quick to make, etc etc.  There’s only one problem with it.  Rack of lamb is damn expensive.

So tonight, I used the same recipe and “crusted” a tenderized chicken breast.

Served with mashed sweet potatoes and salad.  I thought it came out really well.  The hubs was less enthusiastic, moaning that it “just reminded him of the lamb.”  Aww, poor hubs.  Someday when we’re not on a strict budget, the rack of lamb will be a staple once again!

Today’s DRINK: There was a splash of EB Foote Merlot left in the bottle from last night, so I’m doing my part not to be wasteful and sipping it up.  That’s probably it for tonight….I am exhausted and headed for bed early.

Today’s RUN: I wanted to give the Will Power and Grace class I went to last week another go, and there’s a class offered at lunchtime on Mondays.  However…it was WAY too nice outside to NOT run today.  Dilemma.  I ended up doing both – headed to the class after clocking an easy 5 miles, 40:40.  This is probably why I am so tired!  It was almost two hours of exercise when it was all said and done.

8 responses to “Grocery WIN

  1. I’m really impressed! I’m naturally a planner, but I’m still rarely ever able to skip my weekly grocery trip!

  2. i always struggle to keep fruits and veggies stocked and seem to have to go back for these things… otherwise i’m all about saving as much money/ time on groceries! (maybe that’s why i eat out so much? hmmm).

    that chicken looks fantastic! will have to give the recipe a try.

    • The fruits and veggies are a challenge. We’re down to the last of the fruit and pretty much out of veggies. 😦 I’ll probably stop at the Greenmarket tomorrow and pick up at least some salad mix!

  3. I weekly grocery shop too. Mostly for fresh produce, milk, eggs and such. We bulk shop too and have two deep freezers full of meat, cheese, etc…

    • I am SO jealous of your freezers. I’d love to be able to bulk shop. I bought a family pack of chicken breasts once and they pretty much took over my tiny apartment freezer. 🙂

  4. We have slashed our grocery budget as well and its not nearly as fun as regualar grocery shopping!

  5. I drive to a gigantic grocery store about 25 minutes away to do my shopping (yes, it’s THAT cheap), so I get really annoyed with myself if I don’t stock up and have to shop during the week. But, alas, I also blow the remainder on schmancy cheese.

  6. Pingback: Abundance « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

