Believe in yourself

Alternately titled: How I finally stopped being a pussy, overcame by fear and self-doubt, and joined a running group.

A few weeks ago, I wrote about running alone versus running with people.  (To paraphrase: basically, I enjoy running alone but, gee, it would be nice to run with other people sometimes.)

Since I moved to New York last August, I’ve had “join a running club” on my to-do list.  And for a while I’ve had my eye on Central Park Track Club.

There was only one problem.  They are fast.  And quite a bit more serious and competitive than the running club I used to belong to when we lived in Cleveland.  I mean: you have to try out – i.e. attend a number of workouts before you can apply for membership. Yikes.

I will fully admit that I was intimidated.  For the last three months I’ve been making excuses every week as to why I should not go to their weekly tempo run.  It’s raining.  It’s snowing.  It’s too hot.  It’s too cold.  I’m feeling sluggish this week – I’ll train a little more on my own first.  All of these masking the true reason I was putting it off:  I’m afraid I’m not good enough.

Well, you know what?  That is bullshit.  I am good enough.  Or maybe I’m not.  But the only way I’m going to find out is to try.

So I decided that this was the week – no excuses.  With butterflies in my tummy, I headed up to Central Park this evening.

And…it was fun. 🙂  Of course I am not the fastest person in the group.  Hell, I was pretty much hanging out in the caboose!  But everyone was so nice and friendly and welcoming.  I am excited to go again next week – no more butterflies!

In the end, who knows what will happen.  I guess I could, after attending my requisite workouts, apply and have my application rejected.  Which would be pretty embarrassing.

But far better than not having tried at all.

Today’s EAT:  By the time I got back from running and showered, it was rather late and the hubs had long since fed himself.  I foraged in the fridge and came up with a rather random assortment of stuff to throw in a skillet for a quick, albeit rather strange, dinner.

Ready for the random?  Whole wheat fresh pasta, deli turkey, balsamic vinegar, pasta seasoning mix and parm.  Plus sunflower sprouts.  It was, um, interesting.  The smoked deli turkey was definitely not the ideal protein for this, but it’s what I had available.  This would have been excellent with grilled chicken!

Today’s DRINK: I earned a beer tonight, don’t you think?

Mmm, I love Blue Moon!

Today’s RUN: The club workout was a 10K (hilly) tempo run at half marathon pace.  I finished in 47:20.  If I can run that pace at my half a week from Sunday, I will be a happy camper!

4 responses to “Believe in yourself

  1. I knew you’d have no problem running with that group!

  2. Wow, I’m so glad you did that! I need to get my butt out there too 🙂 Let us know how it goes next week.

  3. Ah! Jealous! Good for you. I am so joining that team once I get my ass moved closer to New York.

Leave a Reply

