Fear of commitment

Every couple of years, I must undergo a serious evaluation of one of the most important relationships in my life.

We spend every day together.  Pretty much anywhere I go, we go as a unit.  My companion from the first moment I wake up until I shut the light off at night.

Of course, I am talking about my phone.

For several years now, I’ve been solidly on Team Blackberry.  All of those fancy touch phones?  Didn’t trust ’em.  Even as more and more of my friends started sporting those fancy-schmancy iPhones.  My BB was good enough for me.

But now I find myself at something of a crossroads.  I’m definitely not going the iRoute, as iDon’t feel like dealing with the hassle of switching from Verizon.  And also because I hear that they do everything except allow you to place and complete phone calls – at least here in NYC.

Clearly touch phones are the future though.  And I don’t want a dinosaur of a Blackberry while the rest of the world moves on.

Hence the fear of commitment.  Two years is a long time to spend with a phone!  This is not a decision to be taken lightly.

And so, for the last couple of months I’ve been on and off flirting with the Droid:

For some reason I just can’t quite get on board though.  It seems a little…large.  And heavy.  And just…not an iPhone.

I was at the Verizon store last week and I’ve gotta say the salesguy’s pitch was rather weak.  I expressed my Droid concerns (too big!  not as cool as an iPhone!) and he responded thusly:

“This can do so much more cool stuff than an iPhone.  Check it out.”  He loaded an app of some sort that lets you look at the night sky.  Google Maps for the night sky.

Um…okay?  And that’s useful to me how?  Come on dude, you can do better than that.

If you have a Droid…do you love it?  Hate it?  What am I missing here?

At the end of the day, I just want a phone that weighs next to nothing, takes up negative space in my purse, has a infinite battery life, can place calls and send emails, and can entertain me on the subway.

And that can make toast.

Hmm.  Maybe I need an iPhone after all.

Today’s EAT: Chicken dinner!  Except instead of skinless boneless chicken breasts, I made – gasp! – bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, based on this recipe for Roast Chicken Thighs with Shallots:

Delicious fatty skin.  Mmmm.  No, I did not eat the skin.  But cooking chicken with the skin on makes it so much juicier and adds a delicious little layer of fat on everything.  Finger-lickin’ good.

Double naughty: I cooked the sweet potatoes in the same pan, so they cooked in the chicken juices and fat too.  To die for.

Partial redemption: Served sinful chicken and potatoes alongside a very healthy salad with red wine vinegar.

Today’s DRINK: Exciting news – I finally stocked up on some wine!  I’m taking tonight off, but I can’t wait to crack one open tomorrow night after running.

Today’s RUN: Easy 5 miles, 40 minutes flat.  It’s unbelievable how amazing the weather has been for running the last couple of weeks.  Knock on wood.


3 responses to “Fear of commitment

  1. I hate Apple and all that they stand for. I was a Palm girl and a Blackberry girl, but unfortunately the iPhone does kick ass. You have only one device for music and talking and there are a lot of great apps (including one from Wine Enthusiast) so sadly and with a very heavy heart you should just go for it, man. I really don’t know how I lived without mine as long as I did.

    Trader Joe’s delivers right? Does Costco deliver? I might not be able to live without my 2-3 time month visit to Costco (yes, I go all the time even in Japan, but they have cheap delivery fees)

    • I hear ya. I’ve definitely thought about just going for it. The other big problem I have with the iPhone is its size, though. Similar to the Droid, it’s way bigger than my petite little BB. The music thing doesn’t really do much for me, since I mainly use my iPod to run and wouldn’t want to take a massive brick of a phone running with me.

      I just wish the Droid wasn’t so dorky looking. Why is it that only Apple can come out with nice looking products? (Says the serial iPod purchaser.)

      So. Torn.

      (And yep – TJ’s delivers! Best five bucks ever spent.)

  2. iPhone all the way!!! 😀
    That’s coming from an Apple/a Mac user though.
    There was a rumor that Verizon would be getting the iPhone, but it looks like that was just a rumor.

Leave a Reply

