The cookie crumbles

“I have some very bad news,” says the hubs tonight, brow furrowed.  He takes a deep breath.  “You know our Girl Scout cookie order?”

Gasp.  NO!

Apparently a mix-up in his office has led to us NOT getting our Thin Mints and Samoas this year.  And now…I fear it’s too late.  The Girl Scout Cookie Selling Season has passed.  There must be something we can do, though – right?

“Well,” says the hubs, “I contacted Girl Scouts of America of New York.  In theory, someone is calling me back.”  I can’t help but snort.  No, he didn’t. I study his face – he’s dead serious.  Yes, he did.

What about eBay? I suggest.

“eBay,” he muses.  “Interesting.”  I have to giggle.

He continues: “There are some people in my office selling their extras, but it’s, like, the lemon ones.  And the trefoils.”  He practically spits with disgust.  “I mean, who orders that?  I kind of want to find them just so I can punch them in the face.”

Ah, my hubster.  So passionate, and so resourceful.  I have a good feeling that we’ll get some hands on some Girl Scout cookies yet.

But certainly no trefoils.

Today’s EAT: Running club night means no cooking for me!  The hubs put together some fancy pizza – a plain Amy’s frozen cheese pizza dressed up with pesto chicken sausage and grilled onions.

It hit the spot!  I don’t know what we did before we discovered flavored chicken sausages…they dress up any pizza or pasta dish so well.

Today’s DRINK: Time to crack open a new  bottle from yesterday’s haul – Fife Chardonnay, 2008:

It’s not bad!  For the price (under $10) it’s perfectly decent and drinkable.  And after running on a muggy night like tonight, a chilled white wine tastes perfect.  (Hmm, perhaps I should have taken a glass into the shower with me!)

Today’s RUN: CPTC tempo run was 4 miles tonight – a relief, because I was really not feeling up to anything super long or super hard.  I ran the loop in 29:25, which I was happy about, especially since it’s faster than both of the 4-mile races I’ve done this year and felt a whole lot easier.   Hooray for improvements in pace!

I also did an hour of Vinyasa yoga at the gym this morning.

9 responses to “The cookie crumbles

  1. So, I’m going to try to pimp a recipe that I am not talented or patient enough to try, but maybe you are! Chow.com has three recipes to make your own Tagalongs, Thin Mints and Samoas: http://www.chow.com/stories/12084 – I’ve always been curious..Although eBay might be an easier bet.

  2. I am going to add here, just because it’s Friday, that for years I thought Tagalongs were actually “Tagalogs,” and was perpetually trying to figure out the Filipino connection.

    • Whoa. I am definitely going to try making these this weekend! I’m not the most talented baker either but even if they don’t turn out pretty I’m sure they’ll be tasty! Thanks for sharing this great find!!

      Want me to bring some to the finish line on Sunday? 🙂

  3. I have a box of the Samoas that I can send to you. Seriously. I bought 10 boxes and we only have one left.
    I can’t help you with the thin mints as we did not get those either.
    send me an email with your addy and I will ship those bad boys to you.

  4. the girl scouts council of NYC is located in the same building as my grad school. saw lots of girl scout cookie boxes in the hands of cookie crazed elevator riders – i could raid the place er something. or steal from people in the elevators. hmmm.

    is that chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s?

  5. lol your hubster is so funny. 😀

    Hey I have a box of thin mints. I love them, I really do, but I’m trying not eat processed foods & HFCS. Want them??? If not, I hope you find you some soon!

  6. Pingback: He actually did it « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

