Chicken, little

Here is a surefire sign that you’re getting old: It’s Friday night, and instead of getting pumped about going out, you are really excited to cook an awesome recipe that you’ve been waiting for all week and then collapse onto the couch in your pajamas.

And, party people, it would be one thing if I could say I had a really stressful week at the office.  But as you probably know I spend most days on the couch in my pajamas.  Sigh.  Yep: definitely getting old.

Anyway.  I feel somewhat redeemed by the fact that dinner was, in fact, awesome.  Cornish game hens are one of my all-time favorite things to cook, and I went with one of my all-time favorite recipes (see below) resulting in a orange-y, herby, buttery mess of mini-chicken:

Awesome.

Whenever I make cornish hens, I wonder why I don’t make them more often.  They are inexpensive, quick to roast (relative to an actual chicken, anyway) and have tons of flavor.  Eating them can be a bit of a mess, I suppose.  After the first couple of bites, the fork is relegated to the role of auxiliary tool and it’s all about picking that tender meat off of the bird’s delicate bones with your fingers.  Yum.

Sayeth the hubs: “Restaurant quality.”  And then he did the dishes.  What a guy.

Today’s EAT: The recipe – Roasted Orange-Herb Game Hen.  I’ve made this so many times that I have my own list of tried and true modifications:

  • I used two hens and the hubs and I each had a whole one.  Hey, I’m a hungry girl and it’s Friday night – I ain’t splittin’ no bird!  Besides, I like the way they cook better when you cook them whole instead of halved.  Increase the cooking time to 50-55 minutes.  It’s worth it.
  • I always add lots of thin orange wedges – a whole orange’s worth – to the pan with the hens.  Some stuffed in the cavity, some just placed around the birds.  I add them to the reduction of pan juices to make the sauce at the end and they are delicious.
  • Used dried herbs.  Dries rosemary, dried thyme, and poultry seasoning.  Klassy!

Little chickens were served alongside garlic mashed potatoes (no recipe here – just potatoes, soy milk, butter and garlic!) and Honey Glazed Carrots.

(Oh, and the hubs and I broke the wishbone of my bird after dinner.  He won.  Unfair!)

Today’s DRINK: White wine two nights in a row!  I would have loved to have served a nice Pinot Noir with dinner, but I didn’t have any on hand.  Instead I went with this Bonterra Chardonnay:

As usual, a TJ’s cheapie.  It’s okay, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy it again.

Today’s RUN: Day off today!  I did drag my butt to the gym to lift, though.  My strength training has been seriously lacking lately.  Between trying to run 30ish miles a week, go to yoga a couple of times, and lift a couple of times, it sometimes seems like a challenge to fit it all in!

Anyway, today’s workout.  I did my “ten things” workout and picked ten things to work my arms/chest/back.

  • Bench press: 2X10 with 70lb bar, 1X10 with 75lb bar
  • Shoulder press: 3×10 with 15lb dumbbells
  • Low row: 3×10 with 5 plates
  • Lat pull down: 3×10 with 6.5 plates
  • Headbangers: 3×10 with 30lb bar
  • Upright row: 3×10 with 40lb bar
  • Bicep curl: 3×8 with 20lb dumbbells
  • Assisted pull-up: 3×8 with 52lbs assist
  • Assisted dip: 3×10 with 46 lbs assist
  • Push up ladder 10 down to 1

I was particularly happy to get the push-up ladder done without having to go onto my knees at all!  55 “real” push ups, yay!

2 responses to “Chicken, little

  1. For some unknown reason I’ve always been intimidated by cornish hens, but it sounds like they’re actually really easy to cook!

  2. That dinner looks fab!

Leave a Reply

