Reason #332 why cats rock

Because they don’t have to be walked in a torrential downpour.

Seriously.  I love dogs and can’t wait to welcome one to our family someday.  But as I was sloshing back from the gym through flooded streets in the freezing rain, I most definitely thought to myself: I’m so glad I don’t have a dog in the city.

I suppose there is a sort of community that springs up from this shared misery of city-dog-owners on days like today.  You can see it: they are huddled under awnings or commiserating under dripping umbrellas, leashes in hand, while their shivering dogs strive to do their business on the soggy sidewalk.  Every now and then one breaks away to collect a waterlogged pile of poo and,with a grateful yet sympathetic smile that pities the owner whose pup has yet to discharge, return to the comfort of indoors.

Meanwhile, my two feline piles of fur spent today sacked out on the bed, completely oblivious to the raging storm.

It’s good to be a cat.  And a cat owner.  Win win.

Today’s EAT: I wish I could say tonight’s dinner was “healthy and delicious!”  But alas, it was one of the two.  Can you guess which?

I’ll give you a hint: those bones were licked clean.

When I saw bone-in beef short ribs in sale this week, I couldn’t resist.  They rank among the fattiest cuts of meat out there, but holy smokes are they delicious.

I followed this fairly classic recipe, making just a few modifications (no celery, dried herbs, none of the food processor nonsense – I just chopped things fairly small).  I think this was the first time I’d made short ribs since the sad demise of my crockpot.  (Which was truly a tragic day.  It did not survive the move last August.  But it’s probably okay, because I don’t really have room for it in my itsy bitsy kitchen anyway.)

Anyway, it was delicious.  I served it over mashed sweet potatoes with a side of french green beans.  On a stormy day like today, worth every hearty bite.

Today’s DRINK: I’m going to let you in one one of my favorite techniques for justifying midweek lushery: cook a dinner that requires wine, and then you *must* open a bottle…and then, well, it would be a shame to let it go to waste, right?

Especially a delicious bold cab like this one:

A rodeo-themed Cab called “The Show?”  Get out. Of course I had to buy it.  It was a tad pricy for my normal wine budget – I think it was $13 – but it’s well worth it!  Not just a catchy label, this one.  I’d definitely buy it again.

Today’s RUN: Speedwork on the treadmill.  One of these days I’ll be more creative with my interval workouts, but today I went for a tried-and-true set of 6 X 800M repeats at 5K pace at 1% incline with 60-90 seconds rest in between.  I started out at 6:45 pace and worked my way down, with the last one at 6:15 pace.  (Note: I haven’t run a 5K in a while.  So I really don’t know what my current pace is.  I’d be pretty happy with that pace though.)

Does anyone else feel like a bit of a tool doing speedwork on the treadmill at the gym?  I feel like people are looking at me and wondering why I keep running super fast and then stopping.  And why there is sweat flying off of me in every direction.  I know that runners probably get it, but I think I was perplexing to the two older ladies who were walking on the treadmills down the row today.

4 responses to “Reason #332 why cats rock

  1. i am the sweatiest mofo on the treadmill at my gym, too. that was me yesterday, as i was feelin’ wimpy, but today i forced myself to run outside despite yuckiness. everyone and everything that happens at the gym is weird, so i figure little sweaty girl doing speedwork just adds another element to the bizarre gym-mix. today i went to lift some weights and overheard “ohhh yeah, that feels GOOD” from some buff dude on the machine next to me. funny stuff.

    question about the mashed sweet potatoes: butter, milk and salt? that’s all? what do you do?

    • yep, pretty much! I actually left the butter out of them tonight because the rest of the meal was so rich, and that was fine too. Just a little plain soymilk and salt. I love sweet potatoes.

      and um….weird dude at the gym. It’s not supposed to feel *that* good….

  2. Yes. Yes I feel like a huge tool. A huge sweaty tool whose face becomes a brilliant scarlet on the treadmill. And if I’m doing intervals, I’m breathing hard and schvitzing even more, and people start to get worried. Hell, I start to get worried.
    Super impressed by the 800s, however. You ran those fast!! And I tend to think intervals on the treadmill seem much, much harder.

    • Oh yes, I left out the part where my face looks like a ripe tomato. Especially since they seem to think 75 degrees is a good temperature for working out in my gym.

      Anyway, thanks! I was pretty happy with the workout. TM intervals usually feel harder to me too, but for some reason this workout felt great. Still can’t wait to get back on the track though!

Leave a Reply

