Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner

Oh yes.  Guess who was the first female finisher in her 5K tonight?!  THIS GIRL!!

Granted, it was a small race.  And maybe you are joining the little voice in the back of my head in saying, Wait a sec – wasn’t this a “guess your time” race?  Where people are aiming to hit their predictions rather than win?

Well, to that voice I say suck it!

Glee, of course

Nobody is gonna rain on my paraaaaaaaade!

Okay, yeah, I know Deena Kastor could have been back there logging ten minute miles to win herself a prize.  I don’t care.  100 people ran today and I was the first chick across that line (and, I think, 6th or 7th runner overall).

I really needed this.  My last few races have been just crappy, and today felt great!   I don’t have an official time yet, but glancing at the backward-facing clock they had at the finish line I think I finished around 21:20.  I know I’m not setting any world records with that time, but it’s a good time for me right now, and something I can feel confident about and build upon!

And relative to my prediction?  I think I was about 15-20 seconds off – I’d predicted 21:37.  Not sure if that will be close enough to win a prize, but honestly I don’t really care.  Running a good race is enough of a prize for me!

The whole no-mile-markers, no-watch, no-clocks thing was kind of interesting too.  Actually…I kind of liked it.  I found myself taking in the sights and scenery of Prospect Park and really observing landmarks (hey – that building that was at the start is now across from us!) to try and orient myself and determine how far I’d run.  I’m not sure if it would be a great thing for a longer race – at some point, having feedback about your effort and pace is helpful.  But for a 5K is was fun to just run hard without worrying about how many miles I had left.

Running races in NYC can be kind of defeating sometimes.  There are just SO many people, and SO many of them are fast.  It’s hard to get fired up about running for 10th or 20th place in your age group, you know?  Even though there were so many reasons why tonight’s race was not a big deal, it felt so amazing to hear all of the race volunteers exclaim “Hey – first woman!” as I ran by.

Small victories.  They can be so empowering sometimes.

Race Stats (updated official results):
Race: JackRabbit “Anyone Can Win” 5K
Date
: April 13, 2010
Conditions: Cool (55*) and cloudy
Time: 21:19
Mile Pace: 6:52
Overall place (all):  6 /93
Overall place (females): 1 / 55
Prediction place: 15 / 93 (19 seconds off – woohoo, I won a $20 gift card!)

Finally, a sub-7-minute pace.  Finally, a race where I actually stayed engaged throughout the entire thing.  Finally, a strong finish.  Finally, I feel good about running again.

Today’s EAT:  It was kinda late when I got back from the race, so I opted for an easy dinner.  But true to this blog post – I did have chicken!  Grilled chicken on a big salad, with a frozen mini cheese pizza.  Not too exciting but it was super quick and hit the spot.

I’ve got a couple of good recipes planned for the rest of the week though, so stay tuned!

Today’s DRINK: Celebrating my little victory with a bottle of two buck chuck.  A cheap wine for a cheap win – haha.

Today’s RUN: Between race and warm up and cool down, I covered about 6 miles today.

Today’s QUESTION: What’s a small victory you’ve had lately that has really made you feel great? I think I’m going to be riding this race high for a little while. 🙂

18 responses to “Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner

  1. GREAT job!!! I love the 2 buck chuck celebration wine. That’s a staple around here!

    Honestly, my small victory was my track workout today…just surviving it. It was one of those days…

  2. Congrats on your race! a 21:20 finish time is awesome! I wish I was that fast!

    My small victory was my 6mi run in the 85 degree FL heat, ew. It was awful.

  3. AWESOMENESS!!! how exciting to win. you rock girl! live it up, bask in the glory, throw a party… al; that good stuff. it’s great to have moments like this that get you back in the swing of things!

  4. congrats! that’s seriously awesome. and really, is there a better way to celebrate at home than with a bottle of two buck chuck? i had some last night too – no special occasion required.

  5. Omg! That’s amazing!! congratulations – how fantastic to see your hard work pay off. And winning a race is NOT a small victory. So, the only remaining question is, is Park Slope cool enough in your opinion to be the city’s best neighborhood? Having an awesome race notwithstanding.

    • Sadly, I didn’t get much chance to explore the area! After I finished and did my cool down I was pretty chilly and hungry. Definitely planning a trip back out to Prospect Park with the hubs at some point though, to walk around and check out the neighborhood too.

  6. Awesome job! I only dream of the day to run a sub-7 pace at a race!

    I’d have to say my small victory is the trail. The first run was awful, fell face first but got back up and finished the run. Then headed back to that same trail and ran without falling and finished 12 minutes faster then the first time.

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! That is so freaking awesome!!!!

  8. Sending a big congrats and hug Shelb!
    I hope you bask for a long while!
    Love, Dad

  9. Congrats! How awesome. That is my ultimate goal- to be the 1st female finisher. However, it would have to be a very very small race!

  10. Congrats again 🙂 Your attitude is motivating!

  11. CONGRATS!!! Thats freakin awesome… you should be proud! My small victory… hmm… probably my 5k that I ran last weekend. It has been three days and I’m still riding on that one… 🙂

    Love your blog!

  12. KICK BUTT JOB!!! You are FAST, girl!!! That’s great! You should be very, very proud! Being the first female is a huge accomplishment. When I ran the Chicago 1/4 Marathon I got to mile 6 and someone yelled, “You’re the first female…GO!!!!!!!!!!!!” and I was like, “What the heck” (NO idea I was the first female). So I ran my butt off. With 100 meters to go, some lady snuck up on me and finished ahead of me by 2 seconds. My family was yelling at the finish, “She’s coming up on you!” and I couldn’t do anything about it…my legs were GONE. It was something like your pace…6:47, I believe. Needless to say, I could never, ever, ever do that now…so it’s all in the past. Kudos to you!!!

  13. CONGRATULATIONS!! That’s not a small victory – you rock!
    For me – I re-joined the gym after not going for about two years, and I feel great. I promised myself to commit to 3 x / week, but I’ve actually been doing 4 or 5, and I’m pretty proud of myself.

  14. Congrats on the race! Thats amazing! I’m just excited to “know” someone who made it across the line first! Whoo hoo!

    Small victory – I kept up with my brother for over 2 miles of the 5K we ran together last weekend and ended up with a 8:11 pace (good for me!)!

  15. Pingback: Crummy bedmate « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

