WTF NYC Moment of the Week

Okay, maybe this is more of a “WTF stupid person” moment of the week.

In line at the post office.  Girl walks up to the counter.

Dumb Girl: “I’d like $10 of stamps please.”

Postal worker: “Alrighty,” – punches some buttons on computer – “that will be $10.12.”

DG: “No.  I only want $10 worth of stamps.”

PW: “Okay, um…how many stamps do you need?”

DG: “$10 worth.”

PW: [long sigh and not-so-subtle eyeroll]

Although I’m generally not a fan of the post office and its staff, I had to feel sorry for the guy!  Seriously dumb girl, you’re buying stamps, not gasoline!

Today’s EAT: I had great plans for a salmon recipe this evening.  Alas…it sucked.  I’m not sure what happened but it was just not good.  I have some leftovers so many I’ll try to salvage something worth writing about for tomorrow’s lunch.

And because dinner was so unsatisfying, I apparently feel it’s completely appropriate to snack on Girl Scout cookies for the remainder of the evening.  Right?

Today’s DRINK: Here’s a confession: I really don’t enjoy drinking water.

Sure, I like some cold water after a hot run, or if I’m especially thirsty.  But generally?  As just a beverage to have with dinner, I’m pretty ambivalent about it.  I’m sure this is part of the reason why I love having wine, or sometimes beer, with dinner.

So what’s a girl to do on a booze-free night?  Whip up a midweek mocktail!

Club soda + a few chunks of frozen mango, slightly thawed + a half teaspoon of sugar + a festive glass = happy alcohol-free sipping for me!  This reminded me of those flavored sparkling waters.  It wasn’t too sweet, but there was definitely a light mango flavor to it.  And the best part was eating the mango chunks at the end. 🙂

Today’s RUN: An easy 5 on the Hudson (43:45) and some upper body weights:

  • Bench: 2 X 10 with 70-lb bar; 1 X 10 with 75-lb bar
  • Lat pull down: 3 X 10 with 6 plates
  • Shoulder press: 3 X 12 with 15-lb dumbells
  • Low row: 3 X 10 with 5 plates
  • Assisted pull up: 2 X 10 with 52 lb assist: 1 X 8 with 46 lb assist
  • Assisted dip: 3 X 10 with 46 lb assist
  • Push up ladder: 10 down to 1

Today’s QUESTIONWhat do you normally drink with dinner?  Water, juice, soda, booze?

11 responses to “WTF NYC Moment of the Week

  1. Water and / or wine, with dinner. I HATE soda. Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever had one. Ick 🙂 That beverage you made looks yummy though!

  2. Mmm – your mocktail looks yummy! I used to drink NOTHING with dinner (bad, I know!). Now my husband has me hooked on milk – gotta get my calcium! 🙂

  3. Haha, some people….are very special!

    And I’m more of a water, juice, or soda person. Mostly water. I haven’t had booze in many many months.

  4. Wouldn’t it have been awesome if she had argued with the postal worker and held up the line even more? Yeahhh.
    I usually drink water with my meals, unless I’m at a restaurant, in which case I’ll add wine. If it’s pizza, though, regular beer or root beer.

  5. 99.9% of the time, I drink water. There are the few special times that I will have a diet pop but that’s with a meal like pizza or nachos.

  6. I usually drink water with dinner at home and wine with dinner out. I typically have a glass of red wine most nights, but if I’m home I curl up with it post-dinner on the couch and throw in a square of dark chocolate 🙂

  7. 5 nights a week I will have water or crystal light. 2 nights a week I do wine or lately sangria! I love your mocktail because fruit in my drink is my favorite!

  8. Mmm your mocktail sounds delish!

    What a dumbass girl. lmao.

    I usually drink H2O for dinner.

  9. WOW, girl at post office needed some help.

    At dinner i generally drink water or crystal light lemonade.

Leave a Reply

