Feline Friday

Sorry for another kitty post.  I just think it’s too cute when they hang out together!

Emmy (left) is older (age 7) and was an only cat for her entire life, until we adopted Parker (right, age 4 or 5) last fall.  Watching two adult cats – one of whom has always been the only baby, and one of whom is a rescue from the streets – become buddies has been so much fun!  I don’t think they’ll ever be a cats who snuggle and groom one another, but they get along fantastically and it’s adorable when they chill together.

Today’s EAT:  A couple of friends were having dinner at The Redhead in the East Village, and I went to meet then for a drink even though I’d already blown my eating-out budget for the week.  This may have been a mistake.  The food looked fantastic.  Okay…and it tasted fantastic, too.  I may have sampled a bit even though I was only out for drinks.  Definitely worth another visit!

I came home to Vietnamese food that the hubs had ordered, though, so that was great too!  I had my favorite-food-ever summer rolls for dinner, along with some noodles.  Delish.

Today’s DRINK:  Friday means fancy cocktails!

Why, yes, I will make any excuse to combine fruit and vodka.  I proclaimed this a pineapple martini, and it was delicious: 3 large chunks of fresh pineapple, diced, and shaken with chilled vodka.  Poured into a sugar-rimmed glass, topped with a bit of club soda and a maraschino cherry.  (Okay, two cherries.)  The best part was eating the fruit after the booze was gone. 🙂

Today’s RUN:  Easy five miles on the Hudson (42:45).  Also: an hour of Vinyasa yoga.  And: upper body lifting.

  • 3 X 10 bench press with 70 lb bar
  • 3 X 10 shoulder press with 15 lb dumbbells
  • 3 X 10 assisted pull-up with 58 lbs assist
  • 3 X 10 assisted dip with 46 lbs assist
  • 3 X 10 lat pull-down with 6 plates
  • 3 X low row with 5 plates
  • Push up ladder, 10 down to 1

Um, I spent entirely too much time working out today.

Today’s QUESTION: What’s your favorite way to unwind on a Friday night? Tonight was pretty much my ideal evening: a relaxing run; some happy hour action early; a fun homemade cocktail; and relaxing on the couch!  I love going out, but the older I get, the less I feel the pull of the bar after dark!

2 responses to “Feline Friday

  1. You can keep posting kitty pics. I love ’em!

    My favorite way to unwind on Friday nights is to swim and then spend the evening with the bf drinking wine and watching tv.

  2. Ditto…I love the kitty pics

    Also, that cocktail looks DELISH!

Leave a Reply

