Well played, PA

In addition to having a blast at Tough Mudder, it was really fantastic to get out of the city for a couple of days.  I’ve only been living in NYC for a few months and can already see how easy it is to forget that paying $17 for martini is not normal.

Armed with a rental car and reservations for a “suite” at the Comfort Suites in Allentown, four of us headed in to the sunset on Saturday evening.  Shenanigans ensued.

FIRST, we got to our “suite” which was really just two queen beds and a microwave.  Yeah, I guess I saw that coming.  Good thing we’re all good friends.  As we strolled out of the hotel for the evening, we noted the hotel’s cheesy looking “Legends!” bar, which looked anything but legendary.  Cue snotty comments.

THEN, dinner.  On recommendation of several staffers at Bear Creek, we headed to a quaint little steakhouse down the road, the Inn at Maple Grove.  We weren’t sure what to expect, but eating at local places is always one of my favorite parts of travel.  And as it turns out?  Dinner was fan-freaking-tastic.

Apparently the place has been in business for like 200 years.  That’s kind of cool.

Also cool?  When you order a martini, you get the overflow on ice in a little carafe.  Amazingness.

Two martinis for the price of one.  Or one half, by Manhattan standards!  Along with $20 for overflowing carafes of wine.  We may have indulged a bit.

NEXT, we headed back to the hotel.  The parking lot was packed.  Could all of these people really be going to that awful-looking Legends bar?  Yes, apparently they could.

I guess this Legends place is, like, the nightlife center of the Lehigh Valley.  Bouncers, DJ, girls walking around with trays of Jello shots…we couldn’t not join the action.  So we drank beer, danced, and chuckled at the unexpectedness of it all.  Whatever I anticipated my weekend to include, it was NOT dancing at a hotel bar to the worst mix of “Don’t Stop Belivin” I’ve ever heard.

Bedtime came probably a little too late, but it was so much fun.

FINALLY, on the way out of town on Sunday we ate at one of the most entertainingly-named restaurants I’ve ever seen: the Chicken LoungeChicken. Lounge. So bizarre.

It wasn’t bad!  I had chicken.  But alas, there was very little lounging, as it was time to hit to road back to NYC – but not before hitting TARGET.  My love for Target knows no bounds and there is no Target in Manhattan.  (Which angers me constantly, but is probably good for the bank account.)  It was a quick trip but I stocked up on lots of household stuff as well as two great running tops!

Many thanks to the great state of Pennsylvania for the cheap drinks, horrible dance mixes and value shopping!  Much love, Allentown.

Today’s EAT: Time for a big-ass salad dinner!

To prevent groans from the hubs, I pumped up the masculinity of this salad with some steak.  Tonight’s big-ass salad components: Mescalin lettuce mix, baby spinach, Gorgonzola, toasted pine nuts, hangar steak and port-poached pear slices with homemade red wine vinaigrette.  Major yum.

Today’s DRINK: Nada – I’m hydrating with plain boring water on this muggy day.  A girl’s gotta take a night off from time to time! 🙂

Today’s RUN: A sluggish 5 on the TM (44:00).  I hate the treadmill.  And I hate heat/humidity.  Two evils that will compete for complaints this summer – along with their third rival, morning.  Ugh.  There are so many things to love about summer, but for me, running is not one of them.  Before long I will have to start either waking up early (which I HATE) or learning to love the treaddy.

Today’s QUESTION: Do you change your running/workout routine in the summer? I’ll be increasing my mileage in June in preparation for the Chicago Marathon in October, while shifting toward morning workouts (yuck).

4 responses to “Well played, PA

  1. I will be changing my training schedule. I start marathon training in June so my mileage will increase. I also plan on doing two-a-days when I can; this way I can get in my mileage and have time for strength & core work.

    I still think we need to have a meet up at the expo in Chicago!

  2. I take a lot of joy from heading to random, semi-rural hotspots/karaoke bars and living it up with the locals. Does that make me sound elitist? Hope not. The best party I ever went to was in a VFW hall.

    Anyway, yeah, I get up earlier in the summer. But I’m lucky that I wake up early anyway. It’s not so bad when you get used to it, I promise!

  3. It’s funny, I actually run more outside in the summer, even though it is warmer. I just get up earlier 😦

Leave a Reply

