Fish fry-day

As I’ve mentioned here before, I absolutely love bar food.  And I’ve been craving a good fish & chips for a while!  With a hunk of cod in the freezer and no plans for the evening, I decided that tonight was a good night to experiment with a homemade version of this pub classic.

Now, clearly deep frying is not the healthiest cooking method.  But on the other hand there is nothing wrong with a little oil in a pan once in a while!  In an attempt to prevent my homemade fish-fry from becoming a total grease-fest, I compromised:

Cod chunks were battered, then pan fried until golden brown, then baked until cooked through.  This was a great way to get a crispy fried crust without balls-out deep-frying!

Post-pub-feast, I’m chilling on the couch with a pint of beer, remembering fondly the trip to Scotland that the hubs and I took last summer and all of the delightful fish and chips (and pints!) that were consumed there.  I love when a specific food reminds me of such a fond memory!

Today’s EAT: I took this Jamie Oliver fish and chips recipe and altered it slightly.  The primary change is the one I described above – half-frying the fish and then finishing it off in the oven.  I also made regular baked oven fries instead of deep-fried fries.

The verdict?  A much healthier version of one of my pub favorites!  Topped with a little red wine vinegar, this meal definitely satisfied my fish & chip craving.

Today’s DRINK: I asked the hubs to stop on his way home tonight and pick up some beer for the fish batter.  “What kind?” he asked.  “Any kind.  Light beer.  Whatever,” I replied.

I was expecting something like Bud Light and had to chuckle when he presented this:

Ballatine Ale?  In a pint can?  Which purports to be “America’s Largest Selling Ale?”  What does that even mean?

It’s not bad, though!  Certainly worked fine in the recipe and isn’t bad to sip on either.  I was just surprised that I’d never heard of it.  I feel like there aren’t many major beers that are unknown to me!

Today’s RUN:  An easy ~7 miles, wandering around the Hudson River park and then making my way up to midtown, where I had to pick up my race packet for Sunday.  Took the F train home from there.  I love running errands, literally!

Today’s QUESTION: What’s your favorite bar food?

8 responses to “Fish fry-day

  1. Love love love fish n chips!! Runner up would be nachos. Mmmmm

  2. I love bar food, too! Sometimes some good, greasy food is what I crave! I’m big on sweet potato fries from a bar here – they are out of this world!!! 🙂

    I love that you ran your errands, literally! When I lived in the city I used to do the same once in awhile! Why not kill 2 birds with 1 stone!? 🙂 Enjoy your weekend, hun!

  3. Popcorn, when it’s free. When I’m paying, pita chips and artichoke dip.

  4. oooh, i’ve never cooked cod before. i’ll have to add this to my “stuff shelby has cooked that i wanna try too” list.

    the other night i had some fabulous nachos and chicken quesadillas at 2am. although the fact that it was 2am and i may have been a little drunk makes a difference. yeahhh.

  5. Oh yeah I LOVE bar food. Mozzarella sticks? Sign me up!!

    This looks great, I’m going to have to try it sometime. I did a “fried” fish sandwich last night…posting the recipe this week, but you grill the fish and then press it into toasted panko. But this whole battered effect looks really damn good!!

Leave a Reply

