May playlist – rock me classic

Last month’s old school Y2K playlist was so much fun!  So I decided to take it back even further this month.  As a 1980 baby, these songs actually predate me – but there’s no rock like classic rock, and it’s great for running!

I grew up listening to this stuff, and I still love it!  I have my parents to thank for always having the “oldies” station on in our house.  When I was in middle school, I was a huge nerd and literally only listened to Beatles CDs for like two years.  I knew every word of every song.

The best thing about classic rock is that it will always be good.  Truly timeless.  And although I realize the definition shifts as time marches on, the 70s will always be the “classic rock” era to me.  (Side note, was anyone else miffed when “Glee” identified U2’s “One” as classic rock on this week’s episode?!  That was, like, early 90s!  Old, I am.)

Anyway, I rocked out to this playlist all day today, and I have to say, it’s freaking awesome!  And although I didn’t run with music tonight, I definitely had some Kansas in my head, pulling me through my tough tempo run!

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!  I know you know some of these songs, if only from Guitar Hero and Rock Band. 🙂  Give them a shot for working out, too!

Today’s EAT: The hubs is out of town tonight, so you can probably guess what that means for dinner…

A big-ass salad, of course!  This one was delightful, featuring mescalin greens, a sliced Trader Joe’s chicken sausage, dried cherries, toasted pine nuts, romano cheese and homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

This was also a great meal for cleaning out the fridge!  The hubs is already up in Boston* for some work stuff, and I am joining him up there tomorrow morning.  We’re headed out to Cape Cod for a weekend of fun with a big group of the hubs’ former classmates – it should be a blast!

Today’s DRINK:  I was cold cold cold when I got back from running in the park tonight, so some red red wine sounded perfect.

This 2006 Bordeaux from Chateau Haut-Sorillion is probably not something I’d normally pick off the shelf.  I mean, the label is totally boring, and all in French.  Yawn.  But TJ’s was sampling it when I was there the other day, and it was delicious and cheap (of course!) so I picked up a bottle!  I am surprised more wine stores don’t offer samples.  Samples get me every time.

Today’s RUN: Tempo night tonight with the club – and in a fun change of venue, we ran loops on the Central Park Reservoir path rather than the road.  Tonight’s workout was a 4.7 mile progression run: three times around the loop, which is 1.57 miles.  First loop at half marathon pace, second at 10 mile pace, third at 10K pace.  I was happy with my splits, although the last few minutes of the final loop were pretty tough!

Loop 1 – 11:45 – 7:29 pace

Loop 2 – 11:35 – 7:23 pace

Loop 3 – 11:00 – 7:00 pace

Total – 34:20 – 7:18 average pace

With warm up and cool down, tonight was ~8 miles total.  And let me tell ya, I am beat.  I’ve got a longish slow run planned for tomorrow (maybe 8-9?) and then I’ll embrace my Brooklyn Half Marathon mini-taper with open arms!

Today’s QUESTIONWhat’s your favorite musical decade? This is such a tough one for me, because the 70s had great rock, the 90s are very nostalgic for me, and of course the 80s are just totally fun.  And the 60s were so pivotal to the development of modern music!  At the end of the day I’d probably say the 90s, but it’s a close call!

*Also known as the city that I would most like to wipe off the face of the planet, sports-wise. Hate.

6 responses to “May playlist – rock me classic

  1. first of all, thumbs up to boston hatred. except boston the band, because those are good tunes.

    i love this playlist of yours. i always say i am not a music person because i know nothing about modern music, but really, my dad’s influence never got my music taste past 1985. i’ll never tire of bruce or creedence or elton or well, pretty much anyone on this list. that era tends to bring me back to blasting jungleland with my sunroof open on my drive to school in 12th grade, which is maybe the only positive thing i can say about driving.

    ps – u2 is considered classic rock now? i want to cry.

  2. I’ll be honest – if “Carry on my Wayward Son” came on as the last song in my workout, I’d turn off the iPod and walk my way home. But that’s just me being a stick in the mud. I’m not sure I have a favorite decade. I tend to like new sounds, or else I get bored. But the late 80s are pretty good.

    Have fun with the Massholes!

  3. I definitely have a soft spot for the disco era. 🙂 but 80’s and early 90’s were the best tunes!

  4. Any playlist that includes CCR and Steppenwolf is alright with me!!!

  5. Love the Boston footnote—-city not the band though! 🙂

    Loving the playlist and may have to steal some stuff off of there. I love classic rock and also had my Beatles phase but have been getting back to them thanks to Pandora. I would have to go with the 70’s being my fave due to classic rock and disco (it’s a guilty pleasure and I absolutely love it).

  6. I don’t think I have a favourite decade as such. I think 1975 to 1985 had the best albums released but I like bands from all decades. I have to say the 90s was probably my least favourite because of all those boybands! I think there was a while in the late 90s/early noughties where I actually had to stop listening to the charts!

Leave a Reply

