Classy on the Cape

Q: How many MBAs does it take to fly a kite?

A: Seventeen.  Minimum.

The hubs and I just rolled back into NYC after a wonderful trip up to Cape Cod with over 50 of his former business school classmates, spouses/SOs, and even kids.  As expected, it was a pretty ruckus weekend!  Between attempted kite flying and golf cart off-roading, it was great to kick back in the sunshine and catch up with everyone.  (And hola if you’ve found your way here after chatting this weekend – apparently I love to run my mouth about my awesome blog after a few beers!)

Our hotel was beautiful and the whole area was gorgeous.  Seriously, super classy.  Too classy for me, probably.  I realized this when I found myself wandering the immaculate grounds on Saturday afternoon in a bright orange sports bra clutching a can of Bud Light.  And that was before the barefoot golf incident.  Yes, I fit right in with the New England country club set. 🙂

Emmy loves it when we travel.  There is nothing more exciting than poking around in our luggage!  Whee!

Amazing weekend, but the hubs and I are both exhausted and sunburned and happy to be home!  We’ll sleep well tonight I am sure.

Today’s EAT: I won’t even pretend that I ate well today.  I had a McFlurry for lunch.  Yep.

Today’s DRINK: We are unwinding from the trip home with this:

It’s a French white of some sort, obviously.  I’m not even sure what kind of wine it is, but it’s not bad!  A little sweeter than a Chardonnay.

Today’s RUN: Today was a day off, which was not really a part of the plan, but since I am officially in mini-taper-mode, I’m not gonna sweat it.  I got a great 10-miler in on Friday afternoon before the shenanigans started and a solid 4 on Saturday as well.

Today’s QUESTION: What’s your favorite vacation spot? The hubs and I often discuss the fantastic weekend/summer house that we’re going to own one day (in our dreams).  We go back and forth between beach and mountains – it’s a tough call!  At the end of the day, I think the mountains win for me, just because there is so much more to do there.

8 responses to “Classy on the Cape

  1. Hood River, Oregon is one of my favorites. Very scenic, wine tasting, hiking and biking!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! My perfect vacation area is one with lots of hiking trails and kayaking spots. 🙂

  3. You know what’s really embarrassing? I just don’t get the joke at the top. At all. I am kinda doomed to be poor, I think. BUT…looks like a sweet weekend. Massacusetts can totally handle your sports bra anyway.

    My favorite vacation places are split three ways between San Francisco, Seattle and Western Massachusetts.

    • Haha…it wasn’t really a joke. Because they really could not figure out how to operate a toy kite. It was hilarious. Education isn’t everything apparently. 🙂

  4. I am quite jealous of your weekend on the cape! I think Nantucket might be my favorite vacation spot.

    5 days till Brooklyn! Let the carbo-loading begin.

    • Hooray! I am so excited to lighten up on the mileage a little bit this week. Are you working out this Tu/Th? I think I’ll do the Tues workout but skip Thurs.

  5. ahhh your cat DOES look just like mine! bet the little shit is spoiled rotten too.

    • You have no idea. Last night she slept on my pillow. I have a crick in my neck this morning, but the cat was comfortable!! Little shit indeed.

Leave a Reply

