WTF NYC Moment(s) of the Week

I haven’t done one of these in a while, and it’s a good thing I’m overdue because this week has been a doozy!

WTF NYC Moment #1: University Ave near Union Square.  Preppy woman walking a large, immaculately-groomed standard poodle.  The poodle was wearing a wife beater. Why?  Just…why?  WTF??

WTF NYC Moment #2: My building has an exterminator that swings by monthly to check for signs of pests.  He’s a nice enough guy.  Today he showed up with a copy of “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Amazing Sex” tucked under his arm.  I have literally been racking my brain for a scenario where this would make sense.  He stopped at the library on his way to work?  One of the units in our building is a booty call?  So bizarre.  WTF.

WTF NYC Moment #3: Apartment stoop in the West Village.  Sunny day.  Guy talking on cell phone.  Conversation snippet: “Yeah, he was like a black Bob Saget.” Guy was of course as white as a cotton ball.  And, um…I kinda want to know who he was talking about!  Because, WTF?

WTF NYC Moment #4: The alley behind my building is a popular place for people to film shit.  I’m not sure why, but there are always photo shoots and student film crews back there.  Today?  Was apparently Drag Queen day.  They were doing some sort of glamor shoot.  And damn those ladies were loud!  WTF!

Today’s EAT: I loved my Cinco de Mayo nacho dinner so much that I decided to revisit the nacho genre for dinner tonight.

The players in this version?  Chicken (poached and shredded), sweet potatoes (roasted), black beans (seasoned and simmered), a little cheddar and a scoop of plain Greek yogurt.  The hubs eyes lit up with delight when he saw this plate.  And for good reason: it was pretty delightful!  And so easy, too!

Dinner was a little on the late side tonight.  Here is why:

Frozen yogurt from Bloomingdale’s.  Who knew?  This was hands-down the best fro-yo I have ever had.  Pinkberry, hang your overpriced head in shame!

Normally, Thursday nights are tempo run nights.  But with a half-marathon two days away, I wasn’t having any of that.  So I met up with teammates Jacqui and Megan for a wonderful little fro-yo date instead.  It was, I am sorry to say, WAY more fun than the five-mile tempo run that the rest of our group did.  Sorry, tempo run.  You lose. 🙂

I’m going to bed with a full and happy belly tonight, and can’t wait to go back to Bloomie’s for another creamy yogurt treat.  I might even be able to get the hubs on board with this (he is a tart yogurt hater).

Today’s DRINK: Well, I had planned to leave the beer in the fridge alone tonight.  But I’m up late tonight finishing a couple of work/writing projects, and as awful as this sounds, sometimes a little liquid inspiration helps.  So I cracked a Harpoon UFO.  And it indeed helped.  Or at least made me happier about spending my evening working. 🙂

Today’s RUN: Two very mellow loops of the Bridle Path in Central Park for a total of 5 miles (44:30).  I’m officially on hiatus until 7 AM Saturday morning!  Woohoo!

Today’s QUESTION: Frozen yogurt – yay or nay?  If you love it, what’s your favorite place to get your fix? I have enjoyed the likes of Pinkberry in the past but this Bloomies yogurt has raised the bar.  I don’t think I can go back to PB now!

13 responses to “WTF NYC Moment(s) of the Week

  1. Your nachos always look so amazing!

  2. OMG. I literally laughed out loud at the dog in the wife beater and the other WTF moments did NOT disappoint either. Amazing.

  3. love the wtf moment with the dude and the guide to sex. people are bizarre. heh heh.

    ‘chos look good. i own a shirt that reads “I [picture of a nacho chip] NY.” it’s priceless. i’ll have to wear it at a nachos outing in the not-so-distant future.

  4. Ahh, Forty Carrots! It was decidedly worth the however much I paid for it. I give fro-yo a thumbs up. I’m a sucker for 40 Handles, though.

    Tomorrow, I expect to see a black Bob Sagat tranny wearing a wife beater on the F train. Good luck!

  5. Great post. The exterminator thing is very sketchy. Since there is zero production going on at the jobbie, I will rack my pea brain to figure out how the book thing could have come about.

    For miles 1-3 and 5, I might argue with you on the tempo vs. froyo debate. Mile 4 sucked (as usual) so froyo is that hands down winner.

    Never tried Pinkberry for the reason you describe … it’s expensive and I’m cheap.

    Hammer the crap out of Brooklyn! You have your CPTC gear?

    • Yep – I got my singlet from Devon last week! Ready to rock it out!

      • Regarding your exterminator/homie, my guess is that he found that book in an apartment or common area. If he is blowing out little critters, he wouldn’t bring the book from his truck into your the apartment building. My conclusion – you have a freak in your building who briefly found a solution to sub par relations, but is now out of luck because Joe “the Mice Killer” snaked his/her book. Tragedy.

    • That actually makes a lot of sense. People are constantly leaving crap in the stairwell. He probably picked it up from there.

      Classy people in my building!

  6. Umm, your nachos looks amazing. I think I might make them tonight.

    And I will go back to 40 carrots with you anytime,anyday (well, within reason). I pine for that froyo.

    Good luck tomorrow!!

  7. Maybe the exterminator was “trying to impress you?” … ha jk. Who knows.. Hm, your WTF moments make me want to pay attention to what goes on around me more.. .. I do have a WTF moment.. can i share? okay, i’ll share.

    This lady came into our office(Dr office) and asked us if we could test her coffee grains? …. she apparently thinks someone is poisoning her. She says, “they are Great Value brand (walmart) and it’s Columbian flavored, but it doesn’t smell or taste right, i bought a home drug test, but I figured i’d come here to see if you can test them”.. My office manager proceeds to tell her uh we don’t test coffee grounds and the home drug test is for urine only.. good luck lady. WTF?

  8. Your WTF NYC moments made my day! Sooooo freaking funny…especially the exterminator with the sex book. LOL.

    Also, I am OBSESSED with frozen yogurt. I wish it wasn’t so damn expensive b/c I spend a lot of money on that shit! 🙂 We just have one fro-yo place here so it’s a monopoly!

  9. lmao. funny stuff.

    mmm yogurt looks delish. i wish we had a bloomingdales here.

  10. Pingback: Brownie points « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

