Cabin carbfest

Hey, hey – I am back from the wilds of Southern Pennsylvania!  I had a great weekend with my girlfriends.  And I would say more, but, well…

Heh.

Although honestly?  What happened at the cabin?  Besides a ridiculous amount of chatting?  Was carbs.  Lots and lots of carbs.

Bagels, pizza, bread, french toast, pita chips, ice cream, tater tots….that’s pretty much what I ate all weekend.  And it was delightful.  I’ve been making a real effort to minimize white bread/flour over the last few months, but holy hell, simple carbs are really tasty once in a while.  Like the massive asiago-cheese bagel from Panera.  Or the French Toast bake that we made one morning.  To die for.

I also didn’t do any running – or any activity more physical than uncorking a bottle of wine – while I was away.  A much needed break after Brooklyn Half, and I’ll be ready to start hitting the workouts hard again this week!

Today’s EAT: You mean, aside from the chicken sandwich and waffle fries from Chick-Fil-A on the way home?  Swoon.  Why is there no Chick-Fil-A in NYC?

I came home tonight with a feeling in my gut (literally) that I should have something pretty light for dinner.  And the fridge was nearly empty, too.  I scrounged together a cheese-and-cracker dinner for the hubs and I, with some hard salami and an apple:

It was actually delicious and the perfect amount of food for a light dinner for two!  I used to eat dinners like this all of the time when I was eating on my own.  Who says dinner has to be hot?

Today’s DRINK: I needed a glass of wine after my 7-hour bus ride (thank you, traffic).  I’d been very curious about this bottle since I bought it and was happy to finally pop it open:

A Shiraz-Viognier blend.  Very interesting!  It was quite light – milder in body than a Pinot Noir – and actually paired perfectly with our appetizer dinner.  I really enjoyed it, but it’s definitely not a traditional red to serve with bold food like steak or spaghetti.  It was light and crisp and almost a little peppery, in a delicate way.  Very unusual and enjoyable.  And it was a Trader Joe’s cheapie, so I’ll definitely be buying it again!

Today’s RUN:  Snort.  Yeah…tomorrow.  I’ve got some carb backlog to burn up.

Today’s QUESTION: Do you ever eat snack food for dinner? I am a big fan!

11 responses to “Cabin carbfest

  1. Sometimes that’s just what the body needs!!

  2. girlfriends + gastronomic treats + gab time = grand ole time in tha woods. and many Gs. i approve!

    two nights last week my dinner consisted of a ton of corn chips and guac and pita chips and fine cheese. some of the few best dinners in awhile, i’ve gotta say.

  3. To answer your question – yes. But what happens in the snack food aisle stays in the snack food aisle.

  4. There is a Chik-Fil-A in NYC, it’s in the NYU dining hall on University Place. Limited menu, but all I ever want is the classic sandwich anyway.

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/chick-fil-a-new-york

  5. ha ha you forgot french bread & cheese!
    I take blame for the carby-fast foody goodness this weekend.

    Check out the Yalumba Viognier by itself, it’s a good one!

  6. I love snack food for dinner! But my husband thinks it’s literally just a “snack” before the actual dinner. 😦 Men!

    Glad you had so much fun with your girl’s weekend! I have a girl’s weekend coming up soon and I’m SO EXCITED to relax and eat/drink til my heart’s content.

  7. There’s a Chick Fil A at NYU…I think you need a student ID to get in, so hit up Noor. 😉

  8. Sounds like a good time! I would send you a Chik Fil A if I could, we have three within four miles of me (really, is that necessary) and one across the street from work. Love me some Chik Fil A.

  9. Until I found religion (a.k.a., getting my head handed to me by TRs workouts), Double-Stuf Oreos and milk would constitute, maybe not dinner, but more than just a snack. 😉

  10. Snack food for dinner is the best! For the past couple New Year’s Eves, my boyfriend and I have made appetizers like spinach artichoke dip and stuffed mushrooms to eat while we drink champagne and watch the ball drop. Sometimes just cheese, crackers, hummus, and veggies are a great dinner too!

Leave a Reply

