Abundance

Walking home from TJ’s and the Greenmarket today, I wrote a poignant post in my head for tonight’s blog about the changing of seasons, how wonderful it is to have fresh food all of the time, how mother nature provides such a bounty as the weather changes, yadda yadda yadda.

But I won’t bore you with that.  Instead, I’ll just say: OMG STRAWBERRIES!

These would’ve cost an arm and a leg a few short weeks ago.  Today?  4 LBS for $7.  A flat of strawberries two feet long.  I spent a good chunk of my afternoon washing them and cutting the stems off.

Now here is the question.  What’s a girl to do with 4 LBS of strawberries?  Any suggestions?

Another thing that was abundant today in NYC: heat.  It was like 95* today.  Ugg.

When I was out and about I saw three separate groups of people attempting to lug a just-purchased window AC unit down the street.  Um, people?  I am the queen of toughing it out when it comes to most stuff – hello, I once schlepped an entire case of wine from Union Square to my apartment a mile away by hand because I was too cheap to pay a $5 delivery charge – but at some point you just get a cab, guys.  It looked miserable.  And made me thankful that our apartment came with an AC unit already installed.

Today’s EAT: Meet my favorite recipe in the world: Rack of Lamb with Caramelized Shallot and Thyme Crust:

I’ve blogged about it before…about making it with chicken because I’m a tightwad and lamb is expensive.  Well, tonight, I went for the real deal and picked up a frenched rack of lamb for dinner.  It was to die for.  Roasted asparagus and arugula salad were pretty spectacular, too.  Not really a special occasion, just a random Wednesday night, but sometimes it is nice to have a nice dinner, just because.

This recipe, I’ve made it probably 30 times.  And dropped jaws at dinner parties with it.  It is just so easy and so good.  It is shocking how few ingredients it contains, given the bold flavor.  Seriously, try it!  I’d love to know what you think, too!

Today’s DRINK: It’s a pink drink week:

Rose wine just screams summer.  And this Mulderbosch cab rose is quite enjoyable on a warm night!

Today’s RUN: You think I was going running in 95* weather today?  Hell to the no.  I went to my air-conditioned gym and hit the elliptical for 30 minutes and then took a 90-minute Vinyasa class.  On a “day off” somehow I still managed to spend two hours at the gym!  Oh well, the yoga felt amazing – I haven’t been in a couple of weeks and really have missed it.

Tempo night tomorrow night – I think my legs are recovered enough to handle it, I guess we will see!

Today’s QUESTION: Do you have AC?  Could you live without it if you had to?

And also, what the hell should I do with all of these strawberries?  Suggestions and recipes welcome!

14 responses to “Abundance

  1. Strawberry salad, jam, salsa, strawberry shortcake…

    Thankfully my BF’s house has awesome AC. my last apartment had the window AC. it didn’t really help…

  2. My vote is for strawberry salad, shortcake, parfaits, mix in with oats or yogurt.

    The lamb looks terrific. I have always been kinda scared to make lamb because it sounds like a complicated process but may need to rethink that.

    AC I could do without if I lived a little north or near the ocean. It gets so sticky humid here and would die without it. When I first moved to Phoenix, it was July and our AC broke. I thought I was going to die.

  3. I am impressed with those delicious looking berry’s. All the better if they are organic. Do you remember the strawberry patch we used to have in the backyard?
    What a treat it was to have vine picked fresh strawberries on the morning cereal in the summer.

    With yours, I might have a neighborhood strawberry shortcake party…with cooled berries and cool real whipped cream…and healthy short cake.

    Only AC needed in the car on the Northwest Coast. 🙂

    Love, Dad

  4. We tend to be cheap too. It has to be sub-human hot to click on the bought air. Our building has great cross-ventilation when windows are open.

  5. Freeze ’em. Seriously, put them in a plastic bag and use when you’re inspired. Or in the winter, when fruit is a joke.
    I’m addicted to my A/C. I don’t like using it, and HATE the energy it saps up, but I hate the heat even more. Fickle pickle over here, what can I say.

  6. Dip those in some chocolate ganache! Maybe not all of them, I freeze mine – the trick is lining them up on cookie sheets til frozen solid then putting them in bags, great for smoothies and fun cocktails! No AC for me, I live in the Pacific NW, absolutely no need for cooling…

  7. I wholeheartedly agree with freezing them. You can then puree them in the blender (with or without milk / ice cream… or other fun additions) for a delicious smoothie!

    Also, if you sprinkle some sugar on them, they’ll release their juices. Throw them in the blender, and you’ve got an incredible tasty sauce for, well, anything.

    And finally – this is a new favorite – layer a slice of baguette with brie and sliced strawberries and bake until the cheese is melted and the strawberries slightly browned. Voila! tasty little hors d’oeuvres.

  8. I’ve lived without it before and yeah.. it’s NOT pleasant. Now I have AC but I actually turn it off until the afternoon when it gets really hot…I love keeping the windows open!

  9. Yes we have AC. I tried living without it for the past few days, but DH turned it on yesterday when he got home from being out of town.

    As for the strawberries; strawberry short cakes, ice cream, freeze them for smoothies/shakes, strawberry preserves/jam, strawberry tarts, strawberry pie.

  10. this is why I like you: “hello, I once schlepped an entire case of wine from Union Square to my apartment a mile away by hand because I was too cheap to pay a $5 delivery charge”

    I bought a shitload of TJs strawberries too! Woo hoo! I like throwing them into smoothies — I don’t even cut off the stems, I just throw the whole damn thing in there. Plus you can freeze them so they don’t turn on your before you get through the whole box.

    I also made a great salad yesterday with spinach, strawberries, almonds, gorgonzola and champagne vinaigrette. weeee!

  11. I’m determined to try that lamb recipe whenever I can actually find lamb chops in the grocery store. Unlike you, I do not live in a big city with plentiful places to buy yummy gourmet food! 🙂

    As far as the strawberries, I would make those into a beautiful tart or pie!

  12. A fruity drink perhaps? When I was a bartender at a certain chain with a certain penchant for baby back ribs, surprisingly I made the strawberry puree from scratch each day from just frozen strawberries for all the drinks. I’m not a big blended drink fan, so I would make a cocktail on the rocks with some puree with….rum? citrus vodka? Martini shaker style over rocks.

    As for the A/C, it was a dealbreaker for us when we were house hunting. My husband is much more heavy handed when it comes to turning it on then me.

  13. I’ve been nabbing strawberries too in huge amounts while they’re in season and cheap! Most of mine go into smoothies although I love me some strawberry shortcake too!

    I have A/C but don’t need it on as long as I can have a fan pointed on my face while sleeping / relaxing

Leave a Reply

