A champagne triple

Well, it’s approaching midnight, so I am probably the last running blogger out there to wish everyone a happy National Running Day, eh?

It was very appropriate that today was a running holiday of sorts, because I ran a lot.  I guess it’s also appropriate that I share with y’all my new part time gig:

In you’re a New Yorker, come and visit me at The Running Company’s East Side store!  I’m really loving working with a great group of runners there – it’s a fun job. 🙂

Anyway.  On to the abundance of running.  I rolled out of bed this morning for an easy recovery run after last night’s track workout.  My legs actually felt lovely and loose as I trotted along the Hudson for 30 minutes, ~3.5 miles.

Then my weekly volunteer shift at the kitty rescue.  Lots of kittens, lots of fun!  On to a quick lunch, catch up on some emails and stuff, then in to work for the afternoon.

The store hosts a twice-weekly running group.  I was recruited to lead one of the pace groups.  Um, I get to go running?  While on the clock?  Yes, please!  So I logged another easy 3.5.  Fun times, chatting with our customers and run-groupies.

Back at the store: it was a special occasion, being National Running Day, so they had champagne.  I love champagne.  As soon as I was off the clock, I indulged in a glass.  And then immediately headed out for my third run of the day: the run home.

I’m blaming the F train on my decision to run home tonight.  The F train must be the slowest train in the entire MTA system.  It often makes me want to say the F word.  So rather than waste 30 minutes on a subway commute, I decided it would be better to just run the ~6 miles to my apartment.  With a backpack.

By the time my sweaty butt got home, I’d logged at least 13 miles for the day and been on my feet for many, many hours.  Exhausted.  But in a good way.  It feels good to be busy again.

Happy National Running Day, all!  And if you missed your run today, I’ve got two extra to spare.  You can take one in your honor. 🙂

Today’s EAT: Dinner needed to be quick and easy tonight, so I went with one of my go-to speedy meals: a dressed-up frozen pizza:

This pie was loaded with some hard salami and sauteed baby bella mushrooms.  It was tasty and filling!

I am hoping to actually cook something at some point this week.  Sometimes life gets in the way, though!

Today’s DRINK:  BEER.  I was dying for a cold beer when I walked in the door tonight, sweaty and hot and gross.  So I took one in the shower with me.  So refreshing.  Even if it was the questionable TJ’s Vienna Lager that I blogged yesterday about not really liking.

Today’s RUN: Plural, obviously!  3.5 + 3.5 + 6 = 13.  Those are all estimated distances.  And everything was at a very mellow pace, so I’m hoping my legs aren’t totally dead for tomorrow night’s weekly tempo run!

Today’s QUESTION: Did you run today?  Tell me about it!

17 responses to “A champagne triple

  1. Paid to run? You’re a professional runner now. Congrats on the new gig. 🙂

  2. You did log a lot of running yesterday! How awesome is it that you’re getting paid to run?!?!? I mean, since you’d be doing it anyway and everything. 🙂

  3. I will totally visit the UES location. And try on 20 pairs of shoes, then buy a Gu and leave. But congratulations on the job! Yay running schwag discounts! I can’t believe you pulled a triple. I ran once, early, and turned into a puddle of Sarah-sweat, which was gross, and enough for me.

    • Yes! You’ve articulated why I will receive my official store ban from Jack Rabbit any day now … except I’m too cheap to even buy the GU. I walk 3 more blocks to Super Runner’s Shop and save $0.25.

      • Oh no, don’t tell me you’re one of those customers! Haha. As long as you don’t expect me to spend two hours talking about your shoes with you…then okay. 🙂

  4. oh yes. The shower beer, an old friend of mine. Way to run double on NRD. (ha! that looks like NERD!) The plantar fasciitis still plagues me so I’ll take you up on that spare.

  5. Wow! That is alot of running.
    I did run a few miles yesterday and I signed up for my first 1/2 marathon yesterday.
    Am I nuts?

  6. congrats on the new job! if you count running from awning to awning in the pouring rain on the way to get my breakfast sandwich, then yes, I ran today.

  7. I have nominated you for a Trendy Treehouse blog award. Visit my blog post for details! thanks for being you 🙂
    http://pileofpics.blogspot.com/2010/06/trendy-blog-award.html

  8. There’s so much I love about this post!

    1) running as a means of commuting. YES. I do that all the time. In fact yesterday morning I ran to work, dropped off my stuff, and then continued on up to the reservoir for some more running. We might be crazy, but we’re not alone! It’s a simple and efficient way to tack on some easy miles, while not having to stress about slow/late buses/subways!

    2) shower drinks. YES. This is positively one of my favorite things to do. I makes me feel like the drink is even colder when the shower causes more condensation to build up around the can/bottle. It also makes me feel a little nutso, which is always welcome.

    I was actually thinking of taking a second run yesterday after work, but then I decided to go get a buffalo burger instead 😛

  9. congrats on the new part-time running-related gig! how fun! clearly i didn’t run yesterday but I finally ditched the crutches after today’s drs. appointment, and so running will commence soon – soon being early august. but alas, there is running in sight! hallelujah. 🙂

  10. I am late on this – but congrats on the new gig.

    Also, I bought TJ’s Bavarian Heffeweissen (sp?) once. Never again. I don’t dislike many beers, but it became the “punishment” drink for the loser in a heated match of Wii Bowling years ago.

  11. 3 runs in a day is epic. you are my running hero.

    also, did your legs feel shitty after tuesday’s 400’s? because mine still do.

    congrats on the new job! i’m going to come visit you and we can go get froyo.

Leave a Reply

