Porkin’, pamperin’ and a poopy race

Sitting around in Columbus Circle after today’s race, brunching and chatting with teammates and fellow runners, I whined that I wasn’t sure how to address it on the blog, given how terrible I felt about it.  Sarah wisely suggested haiku.  So here goes:

Mile one: way too fast.
Miles two through six: craptastic.
Humiliation.

That about sums it up.  When, oh when, will I learn?

Race Stats:
Race: NYRR Women’s Mini 10K
Date
: June 12, 2010
Conditions: Warmish (70*), humid
Time: 49:17
Mile Pace: 7:56
Place (overall): 580 / 5,189
Place (F25-29): 189 / 1,375

This one isn’t going down in any record books, that’s for sure.  Might even be a personal worst.  I’ve run faster 10Ks when I was just running for fun.  To say I fell apart is a serious understatement.  In fact, I am not sure I’d have even seen it through to the end if I hadn’t spotted Elgin somewhere around mile 4.  I pulled off the course and was nearly in tears.  He pointed my pathetic ass back onto it and proceeded to trot alongside me outside the course until I pulled myself together enough to make it through the last mile.  (I owe ya one, dude.)

On the bright side, I did get to run within, like, 5 feet of Paula Radcliffe for the first mile!  Love that her five-months-pregnant pace is my going-out-too-fast pace.  Ha.

Anyway.  Forgetting about this one and moving on to the rest of my fabulous day.

Post race, I hung with the girls for a while, munched some delicious Whole Foods bar goodness, and soaked up some sun.  Then home to pick up the hubs and off to the Big Apple Barbecue Block Party in Madison Square.  Man, wish I’d had my camera…the people watching was fantastic!  And the baby back ribs were pretty good too.

After we’d stuffed ourselves with pork and a Mister Tastee cone, I walked the hubs to the train station.  He’s headed out of town for work.  Boo.

But…that means I get to have a little girly time tonight!  On the way home I treated myself to a cheapo mani:

Kind of smurf colored, or kind of cool?  I’m still deciding but leaning toward cool!

Da feet also got some love:

(Ignore the flip-flop marks, please.  Ew.)

Now I’m chillin’ at home with a cold beer, completely ignoring the fact that my apartment is a total disaster and plotting more fun activities for the evening instead.

Hey, I suffered through 6.2 embarrassing miles this morning.  I deserve it! 🙂

Today’s EAT: I’d definitely recommend the Big Apple BBQ Block Party if you’re a NYCer!  Well, assuming you like meat.  Lots and lots of meat.  Of course it was crowded and a little chaotic with all of the lines for the various pit-masters, but worth it!  Bring along a blanket and make a picnic day out of it.  I always forget how nice Madison Square Park is!

Today’s DRINK: I really wanted a beer at the BBQ festival.  Because seriously…is grilled meat really complete without a cold beer?

Alas.  The beer garden was packed.  And probably overpriced.  We skipped it.

Instead, I’m enjoying a belated beer pairing with this Blue Point Brewing Company Summer Ale:

It’s a tough call, but summer brews might be my favorite seasonal beers.  Not that I don’t love a good Oktoberfest or have a big soft spot in my heart (and on my liver) for Great Lakes Christmas Ale, aka the most Dangerous Beer in the World.  But summer ales are always just so refreshing and fun and fruity (without being too fruity).  Loves.

Today’s RUN:  Warm up and race total: around 8 miles.  I didn’t even bother cooling down.  Bad girl.

I’m not sure what the next few weeks hold for me, running-wise.  Races I am committed to include a 5K at the end of July and our club championships, a 5M, in August.  And of course, Chicago looms in October – which I am totally in denial about right now.

I guess I’d pictured myself pretty much racing every weekend this summer, because it’s always been so much fun for me.  But I think I might need to take a few weeks off and just focus on quality team workouts and figuring how to work my Chicago training into things.  Besides being really expensive when you add it all up, I’m not having races that I’m happy with right now.  A break might help.

In the meantime, I’ll be spending lots of quality time with these guys:

Foam roller and stick, you hurt so good.  Maybe some extra time with them will help bring my legs back to life, too.

Today’s QUESTION: Haiku about something! Anything! 🙂

16 responses to “Porkin’, pamperin’ and a poopy race

  1. Aww dude, I’m sorry about the crap-tastic miles 2-6. I’ve been there, believe me.

    Let’s drink all our troubles away tonight, see you soon!

  2. Very glad you quickly put this race in perspective. Happy to help and know you would have done the same.

    Smart to focus on the workouts. Racing is fun, but improvement comes on Tues/Thurs.

  3. I’m sorry you had a crap race! I did too. Although, I would have been happier with your time than mine (50:00 – boo). Since I barely know what a haiku is, I’m going to pass on that one:)

    A delicious cold beer sounds perfect now!

    • Sorry you weren’t happy with your race either! Glad I am not the only one who was feeling the suck out there. Ugh. Oh well, on the the next one, right?

  4. Paula is a freak: http://www.letsrun.com/photos/2010/nymini0612/imagepages/image9.php

    She’s 5 months pregnant and thinner than me on a good day!

    Anyhow, you’ve got the right attitude about the bad race. It happens, its not worth dwelling over. You’re clearly putting down good workouts, just have to get yourself ready for an A race. Plenty of time till Chicago to boot…so now is the time to play around a bit!

    • She had a major entourage the whole time, too! Crazy.

      I’m curious to hear about your Chicago training schedule – I really am avoiding all thoughts of it and pretending it doesn’t exist right now. You’re right that it’s a ways off, but I’m going to have to acknowledge its existence at some point. Ugh!

      • Well, I tend to do more like a 14 week build for marathon training, and we’re just about at the 16 week point? For Boston I did 14 and my peak mileage was something like 4 weeks out. I plan on doing something similar, but I haven’t quite figured it out yet though I’ll have a better idea of what it’ll be after next Saturday. (Have to run a race that will determine whether or not I’ll run another race, once that’s answered….I can make my plan.)

        So, yeah. You’re not alone in not thinking about it. 😉 I’ve only been hanging in the low 40s since Boston so….hm.

  5. LOL-I think we were running near each other in the middle miles-I think I heard one of your teammates cheering for you!! But I totally hear you, that was NOT my best day out there either. Only thing that salvaged the morning for me was getting Kara Goucher’s autograph.

    Hope u had a great time at the BBQ!! One of my friends was trying to get me to go, but I had to have birthday drinks for a friend of mine at the Boat Basin instead…and strawberry margaritas win out every time 🙂

    • I totally I saw you! You passed me somewhere in the 100s on the East side. (If it was you. LOL. It was a girl in a Flyers jerz who looked kinda familiar.) I was too busy self-destructing to find out though. Haha.

      Sorry you weren’t thrilled with it, either. Ugh. Many of us around here need a redemption race, stat!!

  6. No one is doing a haiku!

    Bad races happen.
    Regroup, recoup, recover
    And run well next time.

    I have raced more than I have ever in a season since college – and it’s less than you – and I definitely feel its toll. While it’s fun, peaking for an important race might be better for you at this point. If you’re not overtrained, being plain ol’ tired (tahred, as I say it in my head) is almost as insidious. Bummerface about the beer garden.

  7. That 10K was craptastic for me too. I feel a little better knowing someone else was in the same just-make-this-thing-end boat as me yesterday.

    If it makes you feel better, my craptastic pace was about a minute slower than yours – I wish I had run 7:56s!

  8. Pingback: NYRR mini 10k race recap | The Runner's Kitchen

  9. Pingback: Am I weird? Are you? « eat, drink, run

  10. Pingback: Race Report: Capital City Classic 10K | eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

