Karma. I haz it.

I had a meeting this afternoon.  Post-meeting: a planned happy hour.

I hemmed and hawed about this.  Because, really, happy hours are not in the budget right now.  But…I hadn’t been “out” in a while.  Resigned to feeling sorta guilty about the money aspect, I accepted anyway.

Then, on my walk from meeting to bar?  I stumbled upon a ten-dollar bill on the sidewalk! I snapped that baby up.  There was my happy hour.  Pretty much paid for.  Hah!   Shelby: 1.  Budget: 0.

Karma. Sometimes it rewards you for being good.  And sometimes it covers your ass when you’re being just a little bit bad.

Today’s EAT: The hubs is home tonight!  Hooray!

You might think I’d cook him a nice dinner to welcome him back?  Well, you thought wrong.  We got takeout.

Y’all might recognize this Banh Mi sandwich and summer rolls from Baoguette from my post a couple of weeks ago.  What can I say – I’m a creature of habit?  And I can’t get enough of Vietnamese food.  Not even when I spent three weeks traveling there last summer!

Sea kayaking in Halong Bay.

And hubs and I waiting out an epic rainstorm at a bar in Hanoi.  Vietnam.  LOVE.  When can I go back?

Anyway.  Tonight I split the Banh Mi and summer roll with the hubs and added some “Vietnamese corn,” which was so delicious.  Really, how can you go wrong with chargrilled corn, heavily spiced and flavored?

Today’s DRINK: Hubster picked up some wine while I picked up food.  He seems to be on a Rose kick lately – this is what we had!

It’s pretty good!  Standard pink wine.  Not sure if it’s substantially any better than other inexpensive pinks, but it’s enjoyable enough!

Today’s RUN: None – day off!  (Sigh of pleasure.)

Today’s QUESTION: Karma – do you believe in it? I don’t, really.  But I think it’s funny and ironic when things work out like they did today! 🙂

10 responses to “Karma. I haz it.

  1. Yay for found money! Your dinner looks delish.

  2. If you want to check out something interesting about Karma, Will Smith would tell you to read “The Alchemist”, by Paulo Coelho…I think you have that book. 🙂

    Don’t forget to call me on Sunday, the real father’s day. 🙂 I am looking forward to talking to you!
    Love, Dad

  3. I’m going out for happy hour tonight and am trying not to spend money on such things. Maybe I can be as lucky as you were.

  4. hooray for finding money! I found a gift card yesterday with 12 bucks on it that I forgot I had – hello new pants!

    You and your hubby are cute!

  5. That would make my afternoon! I like going out. I don’t go out enough. Sigh.

    I only believe in karma as it relates to driving. For example, if I am a selfish bastard on the road, then I am going to get it from another driver. So I try to not be such a selfish bastard. It takes a lot of concentration.

  6. Best day ever was when I was walking home from work one day and took a different route than normal.
    I found $10 on the ground! Awesome!!

    A couple of paces later I found a $20. Amazing!!

    …then I realized that someone dropped a wad of cash. $300.

    Best day of my life.

  7. I liked your pic of Halong Bay! We went there a few years back and your picture brought back great memories.

    Glad that you got to go to happy hour guilt free!

  8. I DEFINITELY believe in karma!!! And all the laws of attraction, luck, etc…good things happen to good people who believe they are lucky!! 🙂

  9. I totally believe in karma! I love that you stumbled upon that $10 bill and got to enjoy 🙂

  10. That corn looks amazing!

    I’m a firm believer in karma. I like to think I have a lot of good karma saved up somewhere, and it’ll get back to me eventually (wishful thinking, maybe…). I’ve also definitely witnessed bad karma come to those who (mostly) had it coming. And it was indeed a bitch…

Leave a Reply

