Am I weird? Are you?

This morning, I wasn’t really feeling any of my normal breakfast options.  Cereal?  Bleh.  Oatmeal?  Nah.  Balance bar?  Meh.

Peanut butter fro-yo.  This is what I was craving.  And unfortunately, it’s not readily available at 9 AM.  So I got creative with the fridge and pantry:

Greek yogurt, crunchy peanut butter, raisins and a little Kashi cereal, all mashed up in a bowl.  I settled happily onto the couch with my concoction.  Pretty darn tasty, right?

A few minutes later, the hubs came in.  A look of confusion and disgust passed over his face.

“Is that…chicken salad?” he asked, peering cautiously into my bowl.

Most certainly not, I replied.  I listed the bowl’s contents and explained that it was my attempt – and a successful one – to satisfy a peanut butter fro-yo craving.

“That is weird.  You are kinda weird,” he proclaimed.  The look of disgust turned to a smug grin.  “You should put that on your blog.  I wonder what your blog friends would think!”

I paused mid-bite and contemplated my fully-loaded spoon.

“I don’t think,” I said, “that my blog friends would find this weird.  Not at all.”

With a dismissive wave, he continued toward the bedroom.  “Well then.  If that’s the case, you are all weird.”

So, dear readers, I ask you: was my breakfast weird?  Are we all, in fact, weird? Comment-vote, please.

Today’s EAT: I haven’t really been planning dinners this week.  Which is kind of nice sometimes; it allows you to cook as inspiration strikes you.

And it struck me hard this morning when I saw this Spiced Skirt Steak with White Beans, Tomatoes and Arugula on Cara’s Cravings.  It looked so good.  And looks were not deceiving – it was!

My execution was a bit different, but the ingredients were the same.  I’m not a huge fan of raw-ish tomatoes, so I cooked the tomato-bean mixture for a few minutes longer, resulting in more of a chili-type thing.  It was delicious.  And also, I love lots of arugula so I just did a big arugula salad on the side instead of adding it to the beans.  Simple, flavorful, healthy, not too expensive…this recipe hits all of my requirements for a great weeknight dinner.  Cara’s recipes never disappoint!

Dinner was not the only use of beans in the kitchen today.  Because I made brownies:

Yup – bean based brownies.  Garbanzo beans, to be exact.  You would never ever believe it by the taste of them, but these rich brownies have just five ingredients: garbanzo beans, dairy-free chocolate chips, eggs, agave nectar and baking powder.  Unbelievable.

Full credit for this ingenious recipe goes to Kate from Clean Eating Machines.  I am munching on one now and still cannot believe that there is no butter, oil, dairy or flour in these.  And making them was ridiculously easy.  You must try them.

Today’s DRINK: Two words. Double. Wide.

Well, I’ve blogged about drinking wine from a box and from a carton, so I might as well address that other master of classiness, the double-wide bottle.

What you don’t see in this photo is that I strategically cropped the price tag out.  This Patch Block Chardonnay, 1.5L, was marked down from $17.99 to $8.99.  I figured it was worth a shot.

And this wine is pretty decent!  Very fruity, almost lemon-y.  I’d buy it again if I spotted it, especially at the on-sale price point. 🙂

Honestly, there are sometimes decent wines that come in the double-wide bottle.  Don’t take it to a dinner party as a hostess gift, but for drinking the the comfort of your own home?  No problemo.

(The Carlo Rossi gallon jugs, however, are in a different category altogether.  I’ll address those another time!)

Today’s RUN:  I rarely look forward to Thursday tempo runs with the same enthusiasm as Tuesday track workouts, but I was pretty stoked for tonight’s workout: a 5K tempo at 10K pace, two loops around the very flat bridle path/reservoir.  That’s short for a Thursday tempo!

Only problem is, I don’t really know what my 10K pace should be.  Both of the 10Ks I’ve run this year were total disasters. Good ol’ McMillan seems to think it should be around 44:00 based on a recent 5K time, so I went with that.  22:00 5K.  And, go.

Without the benefit of any sort of mile markers or real feedback about my pace, I finished in 22:02.  7:05 pace.  Perfect.

Following the tempo, we were assigned an additional res loop incorporating three one-minute pickups at “finishing pace.”  These kinda hurt, but were probably good for me.

All told, with warm-up, pickups, and cool down, about 8 miles for the day.

Today’s QUESTION: First, you really must tell me if you think my breakfast was, as the hubs says, weird.  You too, lurky-loos.  My pride is at stake.

Second, tell me: what weird thing do you love to eat? In addition to the above, I’ll make another peanut-butter related confession.  I like Cheetos dipped in peanut butter. My mouth thinks that those two are just peachy together.  I’ve never met anyone else who agreed!

36 responses to “Am I weird? Are you?

  1. I love to eat popcorn with salsa.

    I also love veggie chicken nuggets and waffles for breakfast.

  2. I don’t think your breakfast is weird at all! It looks delish to me! The cheetos & peanut butter are a whole different story though…. 🙂

    I love pickles & potato chips together. Some people think that’s weird.

    Also, I too saw Cara’s recipe for the steak on her blog today and was drooling! Definitely trying that one soon.

  3. I’ve seen you eat some pretty weird things spending the night at Grandma’s when we were younger but this one is definitely on the extreme side. But…who am I to say what is weird??? Last summer I loved to eat grated mozzarella cheese with spray ranch dressing. Sometimes you just gotta give into your cravings!!!

  4. I can’t wait to see you pregnant!
    I’d say your breakfast was…creative.

  5. Ok lurker coming out to vote…. Definitely NOT wierd. In fact that is a pretty similar combo for me when there is greek yogurt in the fridge!

    I currently have a love for cinnamon. Ive been putting it on everything, veggies, fruit, pb, bread ckn!, you get the idea.

  6. Not wierd, but it’s beyond my palette which is growing, but limited. There. A nice Swiss answer.

  7. I love you, Shelby, but point goes to Drew on this one. As long as it tasted good to you though, that’s all that matters. I don’t think we ever have five ingredients that go together in the house at one time – I only wish I could make stuff out of the blue like that to satisfy cravings beyond tater tots.

  8. not a weird concoction at all – it sounds delicious! but i do agree with the hubs when he says that we’re all a little weird. it’s true. funny, i was eating fage + cereal + banana the other day and BT was totally puzzled. i’ll throw some peanut butter into the mix next time to see if i can get a rise out of him. 😛

    oooh i’ve got an idea: fage, cashew butter, banana and a touch of yogi cereal. tomorrow’s breakfast, done and done. i’ll let you know how it tastes and what the boy says.

    have i mentioned i’m totally impressed with your ability to cook legit meals nearly every night? i can last a couple of nights out of the week, and the other nights i either eat out or eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. sad!

    date very soon. it’s gotta happen.

  9. I don’t think your breakfast was weird at all! In fact, I regularly have “ice cream” for breakfast by making up protein shake concoctions with ice and frozen fruit and a little xantham gum – it makes them totally spoon-able kinda like soft serve. And I regularly mix peanut butter into greek yogurt and cottage cheese 🙂 I actually did this last night and then gave it a churn in my ice cream maker so it was really like fro-yo!

    Glad you liked the steak!

  10. weird? not at all! In fact, it sounds & looks delicious.

    Are those brownies not heavenly? I have my cousin and mom hooked on them!!

    Thanks to Cara (Hi Cara!), I just love to mix my tuna with mashed avocado! Yum.

  11. WEIRDO.
    Joking. Not-weird. Ever seen the concoctions from the Big Gay Ice Cream Truck? That shit is weird.
    I used to eat bowls of sauerkraut for a snack. That’s pretty weird. Also…boiled tofu with mustard and tamari? Only on occasion.

  12. I eat that for breakfast ALL THE TIME. Not weird!

  13. that is my breakfast is what i have most days i just add some banana slices and cinnamon to it.. soooo yum!! pb+greek yogurt+kashi go lean=heavenly

  14. whoops my comment got all screwed up… what i meant to say is that is: i have that for breakfast most days plus i add some banana and cinnamon to it… pb+kashi go lean+greek yogurt=heavenly

  15. My husband is constantly, constantly telling me I’m weird. I’m ok with it 😉

  16. Greek yogurt mixed with a big spoonful of peanut butter and cereal is a staple in my diet. Not weird at all!!

    Have you ever tried PB2 (powdered pb)? It makes Fage 2% greek yogurt taste like peanut butter mousse. Yummm.

  17. Actually I think that breakfast sounds really tasty!

  18. Not weird. Yogurt goes with everything mashed in a bowl to make any flavor!

    My latest weird food has been devilled eggs and olives. That’s what I had for lunch yesturday. So good!

  19. lifeisbeachykeen

    Not weird, sounds delish. I made up my own snack last night of plain greek yogurt, granola & syrup.. Chris said WTH is that? .. it was quite yummy.

  20. MAHHH Finishing speed was brutal…luckily you had a slacker w/ you to walk in between them.

    I LOVE the fact that you have a blog…Watch out i’m def going to creep on it!

  21. WHAT I eat that all the time!! Literally. It’s delicious and not the least bit weird!

  22. One more vote for perfectly normal and acceptable breakfast.

    Your hubs would get off of your case if he had seen my lunch. It brought a whole new meaning to egg salad. I took my typical salad that I have for lunch and I poured it into a skillet over eggs and made it into an omelette. My husband would have rated that my lunch “tasty, but not servable to company”.

  23. if that is weird, well I don’t want to be normal 🙂

    btw, those brownies look heavenly!

  24. Not weird!! But cravings like these are totally why I made my smoothie-turned-popsicles…because in the summer you need REALLY light breakfasts that might technically qualify as “ice cream.”

  25. Your breakfast looks fantastic to me! I really want to try it 🙂 And, I can honestly say that I’ve never seen a recipe for brownies with beans in them, but the final product looks fantastic!

  26. I’m a little late to the punch, but I totes don’t think your breakfast was weird. I do something similar with Greek yogurt and PB for a snack after dinner A LOT! and it’s DELICOUS!

    Those brownies also look amazing.

  27. Yogurt for breakfast is totally acceptable. And I have only just begun to show the weird things I eat on my blog. I have the judgy eye-peering-into-bowl husband, too.

    just ordered my PB2 from Netrition. Cheaper shippng then the PB2 website f.y.i.

  28. I actually don’t think your breakfast is all that weird. Sounds yummy! I add cereal to a lot of things for the crunch. And lord, I’d totally be in trouble if froyo places were open at 9am–I’m always craving it!!!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

Leave a Reply

