Thanks, Dad

…for always being my number one fan.  From little league games (where it must have been painful to watch me duck from the ball in the outfield) to track meets (where thankfully, I was a much stronger competitor), you never missed a chance to tell me you were proud of me.

…for instilling a love of healthy things in me.  I know I complained mightily about vitamins and homemade carrot juice throughout my youth.  And those vitamins…yeah, I still don’t take them on a regular basis.  But in a world where so many kids grow up with less than stellar role models, you were the exact opposite.  And really, I have come a long way with vegetables.  You’d be impressed.

…for not allowing me to spend my afternoons playing video games.  And for doling out book reports instead of groundings on the rare (rare!) occasions that warranted them. 🙂  In retrospect, being a well-read and active kid was way better than beating Super Mario Brothers.  And I have you to thank for that.

…for teaching me to to be independent and adventurous.  I know it sucks that I keep moving around the country and always seem to be living 3,000 miles away, swinging through town only for whirlwind holiday visits or stopovers en route to some ridiculous foreign excursion.  Know that home is always in my heart, even if I don’t visit as often as I should.

…for reading my blog.  And commenting. 🙂  I have had several people mention how cool it is that you do that.  Thanks for being a member of my little community here.

Happy Father’s Day to all of the dads out there!

Today’s EAT: Since the hubs is NOT a dad, at least not to human children (meow meow, say Emmy and Parker!), he was NOT off the hook today.  Heh, heh.  In fact, he cooked dinner!

Seared duck with a cherry-port sauce, pasta with sundried tomatoes, and salad.  Though he does it infrequently (and makes a huge mess of the kitchen), the hubs is actually a fantastic cook!

And actually, this dinner was the result of a bet I won a few weeks ago about whether some random actor was or was not, in fact, Ian Ziering.  (Um, he definitely was not.  Really hubs, challenge me on 90210 trivia??  Not smart!)

Glad he lost though!  Because it was a delicious win for me!

So, so good.  Thanks for dinner, babe!

Today’s DRINK:  Did I mention that we did a Trader Joe’s wine stock-up yesterday?  Yeah.  It was like being a kid in a candy store.  Except, um, I was a 29-year-old in a liquor store.  Same thing.

Tonight with our duck, the hubs and I split this Zafrika Pinotage.  Don’t think I’d ever had a Pinotage before!  According to Wikipedia, it’s like a smoky Pinot Noir and a signature wine of South Africa.

It was perfection with the duck!  I loved this wine because it’s just a tad more full-bodied than a Pinot Noir.  Will definitely buy agian!

Today’s RUN: Was kind of a fail.  Meh.

Sooo…I planned to do my long run before work today.  That was a great plan until I woke up at 8:45 this morning.  I guess I set my alarm’s time for 6:30, but never actually turned it on.  Oops.

Plan B: do the 12-13 miles after work.

Well, it was a noble plan.  But after being on my feet for 8+ hours and stepping out in to 87-degree weather at 7:30 PM (seriously, WTF?), I kinda doubted that I’d make it very far.  I slogged through an hour on the bridle path and reservoir at CP before calling it a day and hopping on the subway.  It was hot.  My feet hurt.  I’m calling it 7 miles, rather optimistically.  And now I’m ending my week with a measly 35 miles when I should probably be logging about 10 more than that.  Ugh.  Oh well.

Today’s QUESTION: Did you celebrate father’s day?  What’d ya do?

8 responses to “Thanks, Dad

  1. Thank you sweetie…that really means a lot to me. You have always been a joy. Much love, Dad

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    Great tribute to your Dad!

    We did not celebrate Father’s day. Neither of our Dad’s live close by . We celebrated my hubs b-day instead.

    We lounged on the couch for hours and watched the Bourne trilogy, he cooked up some steak & potatoes for dinner. Then we vegged on the couch again and watched the worst Morgan Freeman movie ever, The Contract.

  3. Yay for dads! I too have a list of those little thank yous for my parents that I completely resented at the time (hellooo whole wheat sandwiches and no Disney channel). They don’t always know best, but usually they know better. And I definitely love that your dad reads and comments on your blog.

    Sorry your run sucked. Yesterday was miserable, from start to finish. I saw people running around 9:30 a.m. and they looked like they were ready to expire.

  4. Isn’t it great having a husband who can cook?! Mine really enjoys it but also makes a HUGE MESS. What is up with that?

    I didn’t celebrate Father’s Day other than making a call to my Dad and telling him that we’re going to try to come visit sometime soon. It was kind of sad but hopefully we’ll make up for it soon!

  5. Yes I celebrated fathers day. I visited with my dad, he took me through town showing me the tornado distruction from a couple weeks ago (insert sad face) and then we had an amazing lunch at Palm Palace of fresh pita bread, hummus, salad and kibbee nayee. I also bought dad a new Nathans hydration belt…too bad it’s the wrong won. Oops.

  6. The duck looks SO good! My hubs isn’t a dad either…just to our furbaby, lily 🙂 We didn’t do much to celebrate – I played 2 hockey games while he cleaned and packed. He’s away this week on business, so we didn’t even get to enjoy a nice meal together yesterday…just grocery shopping! I did send my dad a card and an HD TV and we got to talk 3 times yesterday, though 🙂

  7. Great post!! And how exciting about trying your first Pinotage. I always find that they’re hit or miss, particularly as they often will have the taste of band-aid. I’ll have to keep an eye out for this one.

  8. Cool that your dad reads your bloggy…my parents don’t even know mine exists (and I intend to keep it that way…hehe.) I spent the day with la familia on the other side of the Hudson… nice day 🙂

    Oh and I’d love to challenge you to some 90210 trivia sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

