Denial

Oh hey, it’s me.  Chicago.  Can’t wait to see ya in October!  Just fifteen weeks to go!  XOXO, your fall marathon.

[Plugging my ears.  Closing my eyes.  Lalalalalalalalala.]

Frankly, I simply have not accepted the fact that it’s now officially summer (!) and I have an early fall marathon to train for.  I was pretty excited about doing Chicago when I signed up for it back in February, and I’m sure at some point I’ll get stoked about it again, but is just seems so….early.

So many things stand between me and this marathon.  Many shorter races.  My favorite holiday of the year, the 4th of July.  And my 30th birthday.  Yikes.

But back to those shorter races.  I think that’s what I am going to focus on for the next couple of months.  I don’t want to be in denial about the marathon, but I don’t know if I have it in me to focus singularly on a marathon for 15+ weeks.  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever trained that long for a marathon in the past.  NYC training last fall was, like, 7 weeks – thanks to a summer spent traveling in Asia and not running at all – and I still managed a sub-4-hour finish.

Besides.  My coach is always saying that summer 5Ks make for fall marathon PRs.  I hope he’s right.  Because aside from throwing in a longer weekend run on most weekends, I think that the 5Ks are what I’m going to focus on.

So, Chicago.  I’m glad you stopped by to say hello.  However, I only want to hang with you one day a week for the next few weeks.  Like, tops, dude.   K, thx, bye.  XOXO, Shelby.

Today’s EAT: I’ve been working my retail butt off the last few days.  That meant coming home to an empty fridge at 9 PM tonight.  Gussied-up frozen pizza to the rescue!

Just take one of these (snore):

Then throw a bunch of tastiness in a skillet with a bit of butter.  Such as, onions, chicken-apple sausage, diced apples and chopped walnuts:

Bake pizza for a couple of minutes to crisp up the crust, then add toppings and bake until drool-worthy.  I added a little shaved parm, too!

Ok, so it’s a little lacking on the veggie front.  But still healthier (and tastier, and much cheaper!) than getting take-out!

Today’s DRINK: Aww, look at the little green man on the label!

Huh, what?  The wine?  It was okay.

This Fuerza white table wine was decent enough, but I’ll admit that I totally bought it because the label was cute.  Sucker, I am.

While it wasn’t bad, it was nothing special either.

Today’s RUN: Another scorcher today.  When I dragged my butt out the door at 9 AM, it had already topped 80*.

Five easy, sweaty miles in the morning.  Then, work.  Then another 3.5 sweaty miles home (still in 80*+ temps).  Lots of slow running and sweating today.  Okay.

Tomorrow night I have a track meet!  It’s the final installment of the NYRR Tuesday Speed Series, and I am definitely gonna run in this one.  I haven’t decided which race yet – probably the 1500M or 3000M.  In any case, I’m sure it will be interesting – I haven’t raced on a track since college!

Today’s QUESTION: Do you have a big goal or event looming on the horizon?  How are you preparing for it? I’m sure my denial strategy isn’t the best, but I suck at long-term focus and planning. 🙂

12 responses to “Denial

  1. I’m training for Hood to Coast in August. It’s a 200 mile relay race from Portland to the coast. It doesn’t seem real quite yet. But soon I will be training hard!

  2. Haha, my big goal is Chicago. I’m training for 18 weeks, though, because I’m not as much of a rockstar as you! I just want to finish in a semi-reasonable time.

  3. Ugh, you just reminded me about my half-marathon in October! I’ve been enjoying the whole exercising without a plan thing for a few weeks now, but it’s definitely time to start looking up training plans and get working!

  4. Chi-town for me too!! Already have 2 weeks worth of training down. Will throw in a coupla shorter races in there though (e.g., Club Champs 5M)

    though honestly, once this whole BQ monkey is off my back, i would love to move down in distance and focus on perhaps the half…we’ll see how things go…

  5. Have fun tonight!! It should be a good time. Wish I had gotten my act together to enter.

    To answer your question: NO. And lord, that makes me happy. I was pretty focused on Brooklyn as a peak race; now that summer has arrived, it’s a miracle that I’m running at all. This year, I’ve decided, will not be my year for long-distance goal races. And I’m A-OK with that.

  6. I bought a Fuerza a while back, but a red. And I totally bought it for the label too.

  7. I had this same revelation over the weekend abt NYCM and choosing a traing plan 18 vs 12 weeks. Gah!!!

    Good luck at Icahn!! Have fun and hammer it!

    Listen to TR and your intuition. You’ve run 26.2 before so until you are ready to lock in do the shorter stuff. Plus 19 milers in this weather is suicide inducing, but it only will get worse. Bleh! :-/

  8. Chicago Marathon and hoping to BQ. I am following Hal Higdon’s intermediate marathon training program and adding speed & strength to the program.

  9. I feel that way about racing lately…so I just don’t do it, lol. I figure it’s not worth it to put a bad taste in my mouth as far as racing so that I will hopefully look forward to it again one day. It is just suuuuch a time commitment, as you obviously well know 🙂 But you will do great! On the horizon, just a big move taking place…soon. And I need a house. That’s my goal…to find a house my husband and I can agree on from 1,000 miles away :-/

  10. Nice job with the pizza! I too am prepping for a fall marathon – NYCM. I’m trying to build my base now and start “official” training in a few weeks. However, my main goal is to not do anything stupid (i.e., overtrain) and injure myself before the actual marathon occurs. Something I have not been able to do in the past 2+ years…!

  11. I don’t have any fitness goals right now, but I have something due August 1 that I really need to get started on!

  12. Just want to say that I am totally a devotee of the “doctored-up” frozen pizza. Ironic, but last night I also started with a frozen pizza (spinach/garlic variety) and added my own tasty chicken, extra mozz and parm and cooked to a tasty golden brown. Anyhow… my own looming decision is whether to sign up for a fall marathon, or just a half. Ahh, decisions…

Leave a Reply

