My big fat Greek salad

You guys know how much I love a big-ass salad.  It’s hard to get the hubs on board, sometimes, though.   I don’t know if it’s the word “salad” or what – but something turns him off.

But really: what is a big-ass salad but a deconstructed sandwich?  Or perhaps…a gyro?

That’s what I had in mind, yesterday, when I dreamed up this BAS:

Lamb balls, feta, crushed pita chips and red pepper flakes over mixed greens.  Yes, I said lamb balls.  Why does that feel sorta dirty?

They’re just mini-meatballs, made with lamb and lots of spices, according to this recipe: Nigella Lawson’s Aromatic Lamb Meatballs.

The real star, though, was the tzatziki sauce that I used as a dressing!  I didn’t use an exact recipe, but just blended the following in my blender:

  • Lowfat Freek yogurt (1 C)
  • Chopped garlic (1 TBSP)
  • Chopped cucumber (1 medium cucumber, peeled and seeded)
  • Lemon juice (1 TBSP)
  • Olive oil (2 TBSP)
  • Salt and pepper

Seriously?  This tasted as good – or better – than that amazing white sauce you get in your food-cart gyro.  I still have a ton leftover, and I’ve been dipping everything from carrot sticks to pita chips in it since.  So dang good!

It took him a couple of bites to get behind this salad, but once he did, the hubs actually loved it!  Yay for a BAS that’s healthy, tasty, and a hit with everyone in our (admittedly, two-person) household!

Today’s EAT: The hubs had dinner plans of his own, which left me thinking of two words on a Saturday night after a long day of work:

SUSHI DELIVERY

Yellowtail, white tuna, salmon, egg, tofu, and a yellowtail scallion roll from The Loop.

I took this solo-dining opportunity to order a couple of things that I enjoy that the hubs scoffs at: namely, any non-fish sushi.  But hey, I like the egg and tofu sushi once in a while!  I even saved the tofu as my “closer”:

(Does anyone else do this?  Save the bite of your meal that you expect will be the most delectable and set it aside to savor as your last morsel?)

Anyway.  Dinner was delicious, and I have to say, The Loop was a pretty good value.  The sushi pieces were pretty big and reasonably priced.  By NYC standards anyway.

Today’s DRINK: You drink red wine with sushi, too.  Right?

Umm.  Not the best food and wine pairing, but whatever.  I opened this bottle when I got home from work and didn’t feel a need to switch when dinner arrived.

Pairing aside, I love Bogle wines.  They are consistently tasty and affordable.  My favorite is their Old Vine Zin, which is unfortunatelty not as prevalent as this Petite Syrah.  The Petite Syrah is also pretty stellar for the price, though.

Today’s RUN: Two days off were apparently enough for the Toe Crater.  I am back in action!

Today was an easy day – I did five miles around CP and the bridle path with one of the pace groups from work.  I was tempted to add more miles in one fashion or another, but decided to keep it short and easy just in case.

Tomorrow, though?  I’m thinking of a 5k race.  It’s 11 PM and I still haven’t totally committed to it, but I just might do it.  It’s not until 9:30 AM, so I figure I have another 30 minutes to hem-haw and sip wine before I’d absolutely have to hit the sack.  We’ll see!  If not, it’s a long run.

Today’s QUESTION: Are you a Greek food fan? I have always loved it but never cooked it, really.  Great recipes welcome!

6 responses to “My big fat Greek salad

  1. Yummy! That BAS looks so good and so does the yummy sushi. Mmm.
    Yep, I save the “best bite” for the end. 🙂

  2. Oh my, that salad looks great. I never thought to add meat like that to a greek salad (which is the only greek food I’ve made before) but I definitely see myself making lamb balls (hehe) in the future.

  3. That salad looks great. I have a mean spanikopita recipe….it’s pretty easy, except for handling the phyllo dough.

  4. the hell with it! Sounds good to me. “Appropriate food and wine pairings” are for pretentious assholes. 🙂

  5. Down with the BAS in all it’s forms … lunch at the jobby consists of BAS or pasta. Loves me some BAS, especially in the summer.

  6. Oh my gosh, I LOVE Greek food. There are no good Greek places around us here and it makes me so sad. Hummus and pitas and baklava and saganaki…yum.

Leave a Reply

