A tale of two evils

Well, it’s summer.  And the epic battle has begun.

In one corner: the alarm clock.  It went off at 7:00 this morning, at which time I was either to get up and run a 5K race, or do a long run.  Negative on both counts.  I shut it off and went back to sleep.

In the other corner: the treadmill.  Ugh.  Just, ugh.

After awaking (again) at 9:45 and realizing I’d already kinda missed my window to run outside without subjecting myself to oven-like conditions, I accepted my fate.  Today would be a treadmill day.

I realize there is no point to this post other than to bitch and moan, but I just don’t like this hot, humid summer weather.  And if there’s one thing I hate more than running in the heat, it’s getting up early.  I miss the days of being able to get a weekend long run in at noon.  Sigh.

End of whine.  On to something more positive. 🙂

Today’s EAT: It was a clean-out-the-fridge kinda day!

First item to use up: a couple of links of chicken sausage. So breakfast was whole-wheat pancakes, eggs and sausage:

I admit, the inclusion of pancakes was totally to have an excuse to pour maple syrup on the sausage.  Mmm…is there a better combo out there?

Second item to use up: a duck thigh.  Kinda random, huh?  Enter duck quesadillas:

I chopped up the meat and heated it in a pan, then stuck it between two whole-wheat tortillas with cheddar cheese and scallions.  With a side of lime and greek yogurt for dipping, this was a perfect light lunch for the hubs and me!

Today’s DRINK: I am sure I have mentioned this a few times, but it is H-O-T in NYC right now.  I spent most of the day sitting in front of my overworked air conditioner.

After my treadmill run and a cool shower, though, I decided to chill out even more with a glass of cold Prosecco:

I love bubbles.  And I firmly believe you don’t need any excuse or “special occasion” to enjoy them. 🙂

Today’s RUN: I usually run pretty quick on the treadmill – mostly because I think that subconsciously, I’m trying to get it over with.  I logged 5 miles in 38:55 today, 7:47 pace.

After my run, I did some core work – including some “walking planks,” inspired by She Runs Brooklyn.  These were a great workout!  I felt a lot of work happening not only in my core, but my shoulders too.  I’m gonna definitely work them in to my core routine.

Today’s QUESTION: Need to whine about something? I’ve clearly done my share, so rant here, guilt-free. 🙂

10 responses to “A tale of two evils

  1. Hmm, whining…well, I have to go run 11 miles on a treadmill tomorrow on my day off. I don’t HAVE to, I guess, but it will make my life a lot easier later in the week. I am not thrilled about this idea, but…such is marathon training.

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    It’s HOT in Fl too.. Today we went back to our old house and cleaned… with NO a/c. I shut the power off right after we moved out. That was not fun.

  3. I’ll join you in whining about the heat…it is just unbearable!!! I’ve been getting up at 5:30 to work out and it’s still too hot – ugh!

  4. WAHHH I have a 10-page paper due Wednesday and I haven’t started it. WAHHH. Also, this weather is giving me a really lovely heat rash.

  5. mmm, pancakes!

    I would love to whine about the fact that I have been working non-stop since last Monday and won’t get a break until Friday. And, I’m tired.

    Thank you! 🙂

  6. I love your blog and usually read every word, but when I saw the pancakes I completely zoned out. I’m sure the rest of the post was awesome, but the pancakes deleted my memory and ability to focus. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

