June playlist: indie chick

Just putting it out there: I am so not a hipster. You won’t find me in Brooklyn listening to bands no one has ever heard with boys in skinny jeans.  While drinking PBR.

However, I so am a preppy chick who gets really sick of Lady GaGa all the time.  So what’s a girl to do?  Duh: wade through her iTunes library in search of some fun songs for running that are a little off the beaten path.

And so I present: my faux-indie running playlist.  Enjoy, hipsters – and prepsters too!

You won’t miss Lady Gaga one bit.  I promise 🙂

Today’s EAT: Tonight was sort of a throw-it-together dinner, but it worked!  It’s so much easier to get away with very simple meals in the summertime, when things are so fresh and tasty.

Shrimp sauteed in butter and olive oil with garlic, grape tomatoes and fresh basil over fresh linguine.  Simple and delicious.

On the side, a watermelon-strawberry-feta salad: just cubed melon, sliced strawberries and crumbled feta with a splash of white balsamic vinegar.  The combo of sweet, salty and tangy was ridiculously good!

Today’s DRINK: It’s Monday, so let’s have Today’s DRINK: AM Edition, shall we?

The latest in my attempt to avoid the racket that is coffee-shop iced coffee!  I saw this little can at the grocery store and figured it was worth a shot.  Basically, it’s lightly sweetened espresso (50 calories in the can) that’s chillable.

And?  It was pretty heavenly, actually!  I put it over ice and drank it as-is: no additional sugar necessary.  The only problem is that it’s not really that much cheaper than getting an iced coffee from Starbucks.  I think the can was two bucks.  Bleh.

I’ll definitely buy these again though, especially if I find them cheaper somewhere!

Today’s RUN: Oh my god, it was already in the mid-80s at 7:30 AM today.  I wanted to cry.  I think I need to move to Alaska.  (You betcha!)

Anyway.  I dragged my whiny butt out the door for five miles.  It was hot.  I sweated a lot.  In spite of the fact that I felt like a total slug, I finished in 43 minutes, 8:40ish pace.  Good enough.

Then, after work, I decided to tack on another 6ish miles via my commute home.  Even though it was STILL like 85 degrees, I felt a bit perkier and clocked in at ~50:00, ~8:20 pace, with a backpack.  Even better.

11 miles for the day and I am exhausted.  Tomorrow’s weather isn’t supposed to be much better, and I have a feeling that I’m going to want to – at the suggestion of a teammate – jump in the East River after our weekly track workout.  (And it might actually happen.)

Today’s QUESTION: What’s your favorite genre of music? I like – or at least tolerate – pretty much anything!  Including country. 🙂

11 responses to “June playlist: indie chick

  1. I can totally support a “faux-indie” playlist…some of my faves you didn’t mention are:

    “Are Friends Electric” by The Dead Weather
    “Walking On A Dream” by Empire Of The Sun
    “Soldier Girl” by The Polyphonic Spree
    “Bodies” by Savoir Adore
    “My Delirium” by Ladyhawke
    “Beautiful Inside” by Katie Herzig
    “We Don’t Want Your Body” by Stars
    “Evil” by Interpol
    “While You Wait For The Others” by Grizzly Bear with Michael McDonald

  2. Oh and “Walking On Air” and “Strange Boy” (both by Kerli)

  3. You’d love Japan. Besides the sushi, iced coffee is the norm here. Even in the winter, you’ll see people drinking cans of iced coffee.

    • I couldn’t bring myself to drink it straight outta the can – it just felt weird. 🙂 I could definitely support a sushi-and-iced-coffee diet though! With lots of Sake too, of course!

      Hope you’re enjoying your summer over there!

  4. And…thank you for verbalizing things that I think but cannot wrap my brain around actually writing. I don’t understand, really, how you can get pumped up by music you hear every damn time you turn on the radio/shop in the Gap/watch TV. Repetition DNE excitement. I actually do love the hipsteresque music, although I just started listening to Janelle Monae – she’s like fusion hip hop/rock/R&B, with a touch of Outkast. Really good.

    Have fun at the track tonight! 😀

    • Janelle Monae, huh? Sounds really cool – I’ll def check her out! Yay for sharing new music finds!

      Do a google search for “running playlists” and it’s pretty depressing how homogeneous the results are. There’s a world beyond the Black Eyed Peas, people!

  5. That watermelon feta salad looks divine! And I’m like you with music – I’ll listen to just about anything with a catchy tune. Country, rock, pop (I sure do love me some GaGa and Britney), etc. I’m impressed with your faux-indie playlist though b/c I haven’t heard of any of those artists! I’ll have to check ’em out.

    • I love Gaga and Brit too – I just get a headache from hearing them over and over and over again. Although after a hiatus, I’ve been enjoying Poker Face in occasional rotation on my iPod again! It’s just over-saturation, IMO. I wish the radio stations would mix it up a little more!

  6. I can tolerate most kinds of music. I like upbeat, happy music that gets the blood and emotions flowing!

Leave a Reply

