Brownie points

I’ve never done a giveaway before, so I wasn’t sure how to start this post.  How about:

HEY!  LOOK OVER HERE!  FREE SHIT!

Got your attention now?

Some of you probably know that I do some freelance writing/marketing work, and one of my biggest projects is this fantabulous website:

If you’ve ever clicked on a recipe or restaurant link around here, KartMe might look familiar to you. I use it to keep track all of the recipes, restaurants, bars, and other goodies that I blog about.  And many other aspects of my life, too.

So, what is KartMe? Basically, it’s a place on the web to organize and share all of your favorite stuff.  Movies, books, restaurants, recipes, home decor ideas….anything you can put in a list, you can put in a Kart!

If you’ve ever emailed someone a list of links and asked, “which one of these restaurants/dresses/couches do you like best?” – then KartMe is for you!  I use it constantly to keep track of restaurants and recipes I want to try, and it’s perfect for anyone who’s planning a wedding or home remodelany time you have to keep track of a lot of links, pictures and ideas, KartMe will make your life easier.

And it’s fun and social, too.  You can comment, like, follow, and watch other KartMe users.  Over 12,000 nifty things have been Kart’d by 2,000+ users – and if you’re not one of them, you’re missing out.  So come on over and join the party!

Anyway, I could go on, but since you all know I am kinda biased, I’ll spare you the rest of my PR pitch and tell you to go here to read more about KartMe.  🙂

On to that free shizz.

KartMe is doing a round of smashing summer giveaways and I’m hosting one of them right here!

Since you all know that I’m obsessed with iced coffee and fro-yo, I thought it was only appropriate to center this giveaway around your Favorite Summer Treats.

If you’re anything like me, summertime puts your sweet tooth into overdrive!  I’m not even normally a huge sweets person, but somehow it it’s frozen or ice cold, I can’t resist it.  Here are some highlights from my Summer Treats Kart:

See the rest of my Summer Treats Kart here!

And now, I want to know where YOU go to cool off your sweet tooth in the summertime.  Neighborhood ice cream shop?  Corner gelato stand?  Local cafe?  Kart any or all of them and win…

Special brownies!

No, not THAT kind of special.  Even better!

Sweet Muse, purveyor of out-of-this-world brownies and other baked goodies here in NYC, has teamed up with us for this giveaway – which is awesome, because these might really be the best brownies I’ve ever had.

The lucky winner will receive a Sweet Muse brownie tray – a $40 value, including shipping! Perfect for a gift or party – or, um, to just eat yourself.

Seriously, I don’t think I’d have any problem demolishing a tray of these.  Although they’re plenty flavorful, these aren’t super-dense, fudgy brownies that make your teeth hurt when you bite into them.  They’re light and delicious with a perfect little layer of crusty chocolate on top.  Yum.

For those of you who eye labels, you’ll be impressed with the short and simple ingredient list on Sweet Muse brownies:

No funny chemicals, just good stuff.  The quote inside was pretty cute too. 🙂  You’ll be in good company if you’re the lucky winner: Sweet Muse has been featured by Rachael Ray, Marie Claire and The Nibble.  (And no worries if you’re not in NYC – Sweet Muse will send them anywhere in the US, shipping included!)

So here’s how you enter:

Mandatory Entry:

Create a list (that is, a “Kart”) of your “Favorite Summer Treats” and link to it in a comment here.  It’s just seven easy steps!

1. Visit http://kartme.com/karts/prepopulate/travel/Favorite Summer Treats
2. Select “Search Yelp or Amazon”
3. Search for your favorite shop, restaurant or product
4. Drag your result from the left; Drop it into your list on the right
5. Click “Publish Kart!”
6. Join KartMe (it’s free!)
7. Copy the URL to your Kart and paste in your comment back here on eat, drink, run

Additional Entries (leave a separate comment for each, por favor):

Winner will be chosen randomly!  I’ll announce the winner on Friday, July 16.

I can’t wait to see all of the deliciousness that results from this.  My sweet tooth hurts already. 🙂

Hope everyone is having a great Tuesday!  I’ll be back tonight with a regularly-scheduled post, assuming I don’t melt into a puddle of sweat and shame on the East River track tonight.

26 responses to “Brownie points

  1. First off, I LOVE the concept of KartMe…I have a feeling I will be sucking away some hours creating karts.

    Here is the link to my favorite summer treats kart:
    http://www.kartme.com/idreamofgreenie/favorite-summer-treats

  2. Yay, I love brownies!! I have a feeling many of our fav summer treats are similar 🙂

    http://www.kartme.com/runnerskitchen/top-summer-treats

  3. I created a cart (dkad23) – here’s the link: http://www.kartme.com/dkad23/favorite-summer-treats-1
    Kelly D. – secrets_girl23(at)yahoo(dot)com (aka) dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. I follow @kartme on twitter. (@dkad23)
    Kelly D. – secrets_girl23(at)yahoo(dot)com (aka) dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. I “like” KartMe on facebook. (Kelly Deaton)
    Kelly D. – secrets_girl23(at)yahoo(dot)com (aka) dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Tweet. (dkad23)
    Kelly D. – secrets_girl23(at)yahoo(dot)com (aka) dkad23(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. I made a kart! Not surprisingly, it consists of ice cream, gelato, and fro-yo!

    http://www.kartme.com/karts?ref=top_nav

  8. Win free brownies?! That’s all you had to do to get me to sign up! 😀

    http://www.kartme.com/csjackson/favorite-summer-treats

  9. Yay! Okay! I made one! Now I want to go to these places.

    http://www.kartme.com/sarahkay/favorite-summer-treats

  10. I “liked” Kart-Me on facebook too!

  11. follow kartme on twitter ~ momof2dancers

  12. like on facebook

  13. Pingback: Better your butter « eat, drink, run

  14. I tweeted:

  15. I follow @kartme – @princessla66

  16. I Like KartMe on Facebook – Lydia Al.

  17. Pingback: Glass slipper « eat, drink, run

  18. Pingback: Reading rainbow « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

