Winners and losers

Let’s start with the latter, shall we?

This morning’s 4-mile Run for Central Park could have gone better.  At 29:24, I lost over a minute on my time from the same course last May.  Major meh.  And yet…I feel like I should be more upset about this, because I’m really not.  It was hot.  It kind of sucked.  The first mile felt like 6:04 and was actually 7:04.  Oh well – what are ya gonna do?

Race Stats

Race: Run for Central Park 4M
Date: July 17, 2010
Weather: OMG HOT.  High 80s/low 90s, humid
Time: 29:24
Pace: 7:21
Place (overall): 746 / 5056
Place (women): 114 / 2,531
Place (AG F 25-29): 39 / 703

Just eyeballing my gender and AG places, I’m guessing the whole field was a little on the slow side today.  Dog days of summer will do that do ya.

Even though my time was mediocre, I felt like I pushed myself as hard as I could.  I didn’t fail because of head games.  And my Achilles felt freaking awesome – which is to say, I didn’t feel it at all!

Maybe it was because I was rockin’ these babies?

Nike Free.  Unstructured, uncushioned, unsupported.  We have a winner!

Not the direction I thought my footwear would take after my Cinderella dilemma last week, but seriously?  They feel amazing.  No Achilles pain at all.

Admittedly, I spent much of my work day yesterday analyzing myself on the video-treadmill.  In neutral shoes, I looked wobbly.  In stability shoes, I looked wobbly.  In the Frees?  Well, kinda wobbly.  But they felt good, so I went for it.  And wore them in the race today, which BTW is something I would never ever recommend doing – wearing new gear in a race.  It was an idiotic move, but I think I got lucky and escaped disaster.  I guess we’ll see how my legs feel tomorrow, though.

Anyway.  Do as I say, not as I do.

I also picked up a new pair of Ghosts so I’ve got the Ghost and the Free at my disposal.  The Frees are gonna be for short runs and speedwork only – at least for now.  (Although I logged 8 total in them today and they felt great throughout).  And I’m not totally giving up on the Ravennas yet – I might be able to squeeze some miles out of them by alternating them in once or twice a week.  We’ll see.

Aaaaand, that’s enough rambling about my shoes.  Y’all have put up with more than enough of that lately.

How about some more winners?

Congrats to the winner of my KartMe / Sweet Muse Brownie giveaway: #5, Kelly D!

She Kart’d this amazing-looking Chocolate Peanut-Butter Ice Cream.  Yum.  I’ve got your email Kelly, so I’ll be in touch. 🙂

And my copy of The Art of Racing in the Rain goes to #15, Ashley at Cupcakes and Combat Boots!

Congrats! 🙂  Email me at eatdrinkrun@gmail.com so we can work out the deets.

That’s all I’ve got for today – no daily E, D, R.  I’ve already babbled enough about my running – and the eating and drinking just haven’t been that exciting so far (Larabars and water).

Have a great Saturday night!

13 responses to “Winners and losers

  1. Congrats on the race hun, especially that you stayed healthy!
    Maybe those ‘Frees’ are a lot like my old Converse All Stars. 🙂
    I have heard some people recently talk about going all the way to barefoot as the best thing for your feet when running.
    Makes you wanna go hmmm…

  2. Congrats on your run and thanks for the book recommendation. It sounds pretty interesting.

  3. Hot as balls out there yesterday … hell, today too. Ugh. Great race. You were mentally strong and pushed thru rough conditions. Glad the Free’s worked. Reading Born to Run so I am not totally surprised that the less is more approach worked for your leg/Achilles issues. Probably forced you to run more on the forefoot, which alleviated some of the pressure on the heal, etc. It was a short race so taking the risk of wearing new kicks made sense.

    Great job. See you Tuesday.

    • Haha. When I passed you coming up that hill in mile 3, and you were like, yay, keep it up? I was totally thinking to myself, he is gonna blow by me in five minutes. Which of course you did. Nice race – 90* in July is not PR weather, I think we are all starting to finally get that through our thick skulls, huh?

  4. Glad the Nike Free worked out so good! I ‘vebeen curious about those myself…

  5. Nice race! I have Free’s, too! I have only run in them a couple times on the treadmill (bought them for weightlifting) and they felt great. Glad you found something that felt good.

  6. Congrats on the race, and even better that your achilles is feeling better. How are you feeling 20 hours later?

  7. Nice job racing! It was (and is) SO HOT! Yay for the achilles feeling good as well 🙂

  8. So lovely running with you today! Please send some of your good achilles karma my way. Thanks!

    • You got it!! I was thinking today, maybe you tweaked it during your beach run? The soft stuff is a nice break from pounding on the roads, but it can also be kind of hard on you in a different way. Anyway, hope it takes a hike soon!

  9. nike frees are sa-weet! i totally want a pair, but know that my injury-prone self probably wouldn’t do well in ’em. oh well.

    no worries about the meh quality of your race – it’s freakin’ hot out there girl! nobody’s PRing in this weather, for sure.

  10. Woohoo!! I never win ANY giveaways so I’m super excited about winning the book! You made my Tuesday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

