July playlist – yeehaw!

Just gonna put it out there: I like country music.   Yep.   In spite of my salmon-eating, North-Face-wearing, Pacific-Northwestern upbringing, there is a little slice of redneck in me.  Y’all.

(In fact, did you know that my favorite vehicle ever owned was a dented little pickup?

Actually, you can read all about it here.  I’ll bet you didn’t know I used to have a wee blog back in the Cleveland days!  I had kind of forgotten about it myself.  Aaaaand I just wasted an hour on a trip down memory lane.)

Anyway.

Country can be a little tricky for running.  It tends to lack the driving energy of a good rock song, or the rhythmic thump of hip hop.  Because what country excels at is telling ridiculous stories through fun lyrics.  Sometimes sad, sometimes funny.  Often better suited for peeling the label off a longneck while laying in your truck bed than for pounding out miles.

But I’ve been on a mission to build the perfect country running playlist for a while now.  And I think I’ve got it.

I can’t help but run faster when “Sold!” by John Michael Montgomery comes on.  Really.  And Martina McBride’s “Independence Day” is so such a powerful story.  And “Hell Yeah” by Montgomery Gentry?  Turn it up.  Right on.

Yeehaw indeed!

Today’s EAT: I know many of you deplore country music and stopped reading long ago, but if you’re still here?  Look at the beautiful sushi box I ordered from Soho Sushi tonight!  You see?  Sushi! Urban preppiness at its finest!

After yesterday’s pickle debacle, I needed to have some real sushi.  This box of white tuna, yellowtail and salmon along with a mango-salmon roll and an eel-avocado roll hit the spot.

Today’s DRINK: Sake, sake, sake bomb!

Just kidding.  I don’t do sake bombs when I’m drinking alone on a Thursday night.  (Or ever, really.  Well…rarely.)

This Gekkeikan sake from TJ’s is really really mild.  Almost too mild.  But would be great for someone who’s not a sake fan.  Or maybe as part of a sake-colada.  (Hmmm!)

Today’s RUN: Oh hey, summer humidity.  Thanks for taking a couple of days off this week.  Welcome back.  Not.

Ugh…I cranked out a sweaty 8 miles tonight.  Easy pace, probably 9ish.  Was dripping everywhere when I finished.

The countdown to fall is officially on.

Today’s QUESTION: Country music: yay or nay? I have a feeling I’m gonna be in the minority with my country music appreciation here.  Whatevs, though.  It’s my blog.  Haters gonna hate. 🙂

24 responses to “July playlist – yeehaw!

  1. I also have found some country tunes I love to run to:

    “Song Of The South” by Alabama

    “My Cowboy” “Wanted” and “Bullet” by Jessie James

    “I’m Outta Here” by Shania Twain

    “Undo It” and “Cowboy Casanova” by Carrie Underwood

    “Something Like That” by Tim McGraw

  2. Love country! And Hell Yeah is one of my favorites. Also try Montgomery Gentry Speed, and I love Rascall Flatts faster stuff. Yay country.

  3. I love almost all of those songs.

    “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy” was what my husband and I walked into our reception with.

    Love Montgomery Gentry and “If You’re Going Through Hell…”

    Great playlist!!

  4. lifeisbeachykeen

    I pink puffy heart country music!!! Jason Aldean has a lot of good up beat songs; Crazy Town, She’s Country, Johnny Cash ; all good songs by J.A.

    Gary Allen also has a few good up beat songs, although, his music has changed in the last couple of years since his wife committed suicide.. but Get off on the Pain is a good one.

    Hollerback, by The Lost Trailers

    yeah , i could go on for a while. The majority of my I-tunes is country..

    oh, Wrong Baby Wrong by Martina McBride.. love!

    My first vehicle was a lifted up 4runner, my 2nd was an even bigger toyota pickup !

  5. I have some favorites, but overall wouldn’t call myself a country fan.
    Your sushi looks AMAZING! I’ve never had mango with my sushi. Hmm.

  6. Omg country music is my life! I love your selections and “sold” is definitely an all time favorite! I’m so excited after reading this post haha

  7. haha, i think this is the first post I’ve read (so I’ve only been reading about a week, whatever) that I don’t feel I can completely relate to 😉 . There are definitely a few fun country songs out there though, must admit!

  8. Country is my fav…but im from Texas!

  9. So here’s my main exposure to country music: driving home from a spring break frisbee tournament, sitting shotgun with a teammate from Montana who drove 95 miles per hour while singing along to country. She said it kept her awake. So I have this pavlovian response of gripping the armrests and crying when I hear country, but other than that, it’s cool.

    Your new blog is much more visually appealing, although I do like the throwback to the blogger.

  10. Yup, I’m a country fan. I admit to having more rock (and even upbeat pop) on my running playlists, but I also love country music.
    Some country on some of my current running lists:
    “Callin’ Baton Rouge” Garth Brooks, “That’s How Country Boys Roll” Billy Currington, “Here’s To You” Rascal Flatts, some various Shania Twain, Faith Hill, Martina, Sugarland… Ok, I guess there’s a lot:)

  11. Yay – kenny/brad/brooks&dunn/keith/ —influenced by my college roommate!

  12. Country music? Absolutely!! Being from Montana it’s something you almost cannot avoid!

  13. No problem with country music, but hearing about losing your woman to another woman or how my dog died in a drinking contest may not help on mile 14. Just sayin.

  14. I love country music, it’s always on when I’m driving the car. I can never find a good country playlist for running so I’m going to hijack yours! Thanks :o)

  15. I really enjoy “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus. Please don’t judge, hehe.

  16. YES to that playlist.
    I openly admit that “If You’re Gonna Play in Texas” by Alabama is one of my favorite songs of all time, and is on just about every workout playlist I’ve ever constructed. I think it’s also been on repeat on the CD in my car for the past… eight years.

  17. I have a country playlist on my iPod. It doesn’t get much play time though … maybe it just needs some tweaking…

  18. Love country music! I really like running to Dierks Bentley’s “Free and Easy Down the Road I Go” because that’s how I imagine myself running…free and easy!

  19. yay country music! i run to toby keith nearly every day (i’m a NY’er by birth, it really freaks some of my friends out).

  20. I love country music! But that doesn’t come as much of a surprise to much people, given that I’m from Texas. 🙂

    By the way, I’m catching up on posts for the past few days since I was out of town and wanted to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Congrats on the big 3-0!

  21. LOVE country music! Southern Voice by Tim McGraw is a great running song…and a good general theme song for this Texas girl!

Leave a Reply

