Introducing: the Rotating Blogroll

A few people have gently scolded me recently for not having a blogroll.  Tsk, tsk.  I know.

It’s not because I don’t read blogs.  Ha-hooo, no.  (My overzealous Google Reader is getting a good chortle out of that one, too.)

Nope – it’s mostly because I am lazy.  I had one for a while, but it was too much work to keep up with new blogs I’d found and removing ones that became inactive.  So it went the way of the Training page, which I just trashed today because I was entering my workouts in too many damn places.  (If you really care how far or fast I’m running every day?  It’s all on Strands – see the blue clicky badge on the sidebar.)

But I do spend a lot of time reading blogs.  And I do have favorites.  And I’d love to share some of them with you.  So how about I just post, like, three at a time?  And stick them on a little mini sidebar thingy?  And then archive them on their own page?

I also like this because it will let me say a little somethin’ about each blog and why I love it. 🙂  So here we go, Rotating Blogroll, version uno:

  • Cheaper Than Therapy ( http://cheaperthantherapy.me)   She runs, she drinks beer.  Our cats look like twins.  I feel like we must have been friends in a former life or something.  I kind of wish we were friends in our current life because I’d like to crack a beer in her gorgeous backyard.
  • I Dream of Greenie (http://idreamofgreenieblog.com)   I could almost be vegetarian if I had as much fun with meatless food as Ms. Greenie.  As a former LA resident I love living vicariously though all of her local adventures.  Also, she shares my picklephobia; how could I not love her?
  • A Marathoner (http://amarathoner.com)  Yes, he’s a dude and yes, he’s my teammate.  But he is a great source of inspiration: he’s, like, a regular guy who decided to become a runner and is on his way to being a really good runner.  Come follow along with his NYC Marathon training!

Rotating Blogroll is also great for days where I cannot think of anything else to write about.  Other contenders for today’s post:

  • The weather is cooler and I opened my window!
  • I made chicken with pasta for the sixty-fifth time
  • My cats are lazy: a detailed discussion

Your disappointment is palpable.

Today’s EAT: Alright, so I am going to say a few words about that chicken with pasta.  Because it was kind of different and fun!

Whole-wheat corkscrew pasta with chicken, chopped peaches and walnuts in balsamic syrup.  With a little Greek yogurt mixed in for some creaminess.  And goat cheese and fresh basil on top.  A little bizarre?  Yep.  Tasty?  You betcha.

I am continuing to really dig adding fresh fruit to savory dishes right now.  So refreshing!

Today’s DRINK: No wine, no beer.  Just lots of sipping from this guy:

I know – snore and more.  I have a 5K in the morning, though.  Normally I wouldn’t mind having one glass of wine or something on a race eve, but the wine rack is empty.  So water it is.

Today’s RUN: A beautiful 4 miles on the river this morning!  I cruised it in a little over 32 minutes and barely broke a sweat.

Somehow the weather totally changed overnight and it was cool and breezy with NO HUMIDITY this morning!  What a difference it made.  My pace was seriously about a minute faster per mile at the same perceived effort.  It felt awesome.

The weather should be similarly gorgeous at the 9 AM start of tomorrow’s Founder’s 5K!  There’s still time to come on out – race day registration is open until 8:30!

And since I’ve touched on two-thirds of my lame-o rejected topics for the day, now, here’s a picture of my lazy cat to finish things off.

(Those would be my freshly-laundered jeans.  She slept on them all afternoon.)

Today’s QUESTION: Give a shout-out to one of your favorite blogs this week!

5 responses to “Introducing: the Rotating Blogroll

  1. Love this feature and of course am honored to be included.

    Next time I am in NYC or you are out here, we are on for a drink (my wine rack is somehow never empty) and/or a run (as long as my 9 minute miles aren’t too slow!)

    Oh and I love the sweet/savory combo too… I’ve been toying with the idea of creating a pasta dish around watermelon-weird I know!

  2. no wine?! no beer?! what is the world coming to?! hahaha.

  3. This gives way better exposure than just seeing the blog names shoved in a long clinical list on one side of the screen. Gives a blog rookie like me better information about who to e-stalk next. Good luck in the race!

  4. Good luck with your race Shelb!
    And check your text messages if you haven’t gotten mine yet.
    Love, Dad

  5. I love this idea! Thanks for sharing your favorites – looking forward to checking them out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

