Nerdy blog moment

I had a moment tonight.

I was running from track practice to the bar (cool down) while munching on a Larabar.  Eating and running while preparing to drink.  Yep, these three activities really are generally how I spend my time.  And I love it.

Compounding the bloggy nerdiness:  I was on my way to meet up with two of my favorite bloggers at the bar. 🙂

People sometimes ask why I spend so much time on this blog.  This is why.  I love having an outlet where I can talk about all of the things that I’m passionate about.  And make friends with so many cool people that I would have never otherwise connected with.

(And who don’t mind that I show up at the bar covered in sweat from my workout.)

Today’s EAT: The hubs ordered Thai food tonight and I tucked into a plate when I got home:

Spicy basil fried rice and a little side of crispy duck. Crispy duck is possibly the most delicious thing ever, although I try not to eat it too often because it’s basically fried fat.  Still…so delicious.

Today’s DRINK: After a couple of classes of wine at the bar, I decided I could splurge and have just one more beer to sip at home tonight:

Anchor Summer Beer, which surprisingly I don’t think I’ve ever had!  It’s kinda lemony, but growing on me.  On a hot day with some good seafood, it would be a nice pairing!

Today’s RUN: Now that “short race season” is over, phrases like “pace recognition workout” and “grind-it-out effort” have re-entered coach’s vocabulary.  That means longer workouts.  Oh, hooray.

Tonight’s track workout really wasn’t much longer, distance-wise, than most of the track workouts we’ve done this year, but somehow it felt like looking at a ton of bricks when I first saw it.

The assignment: 5 X 1000M at 5K pace with 200M recovery.  True 5K pace was stressed: for me, that would mean an honest 6:30 to 6:40 pace, none of this “well, let’s run 6-flat just because it’s the track and I can.”

The results:  Hey, guess who kept the pace spot on?  Actually, this really felt like a “cruise” workout.  The intervals were relatively long, and I fought more against boredom than physical fatigue.  I think that was part of the point of the workout.

1000M – 4:08 – 6:36 pace
1000M – 4:10 – 6:40 pace
1000M – 4:07 – 6:35 pace
1000M – 4:07 – 6:35 pace
1000M – 4:11 – 6:41 pace

That last one was a little meh, but honestly I think I just overcompensated a little.  I kept telling myself, going into the last repeat, that I didn’t need a sprint finish, that 80-second quarters weren’t the point, that I shouldn’t leave it all out on the track tonight.  Why?  Because Thursday night we have a 7-mile tempo that will almost certainly be a shit-show, and I didn’t want to fry my legs in advance of it.

Overall, I felt good about this workout.  (Total with warm-up, cool-down, etc = ~7.5 miles.)  My legs are still reeling a little from Friday’s long run and a 53-mile week last week, but the point tonight was to dial in a set pace and cruise, and I was able to do that.  I’ll take it.

Today’s QUESTION: Have you ever met up with other bloggers or tweeps or other online friends? I actually have a lot of wonderful friends that I’ve met online over the years. 🙂  I used to be sort of shy about admitting that, but nowadays I embrace it!  Yep, I’ll let my Nerd Flag fly high and proud!

23 responses to “Nerdy blog moment

  1. That is a perfect description of why we spend so much time on our blogs. I really could not have said it better. It is something I am passionate about and it makes me genuinely happy, so why not put effort and time into it.

    I have only met one blogger in person before. But I love love love getting to know people through their posts and interaction on twitter and gchat. I am so grateful for finding a little community of people that have the same or similar interests as me. It is just nice to be able to relate, ya know?

    PS You are a crazy fast runner. Your average 5k pace would leave me weeping. 🙂

  2. “eating while running and preparing to drink” –> definitely sounds like a solid philosophy to me! 🙂

    i’ve definitely met up with bloggers before! i don’t go out of my way to meet them but whenever the opportunity arises i take it. two of them i consider really really good friends

  3. Glad I could contribute to the blognerd quotient for the evening! 😉 I agree with you that blogging is awesome for this very reason – I’ve met a few like-minded people who I consider “real” friends now, which is cool. I’d say it’s worth the effort, even if I’m never discovered by a publicist who wants to publish my memoir 😉

  4. I agree with the “running, eating, drinking” statement — I spend alot of time doing those things too!

    I love the people I have “met” through blogging — I have yet to meet anyone in person yet though!

    ps I received the compression socks over the weekend and I will be trying them out in the morning! Thanks again!

  5. I haven’t met anyone from the “blog” world. I have, however, met several girls from my local “Nest” board. Good times!

  6. Oh man, I remember 5×1000 from high school and boy if that isn’t a recipe for mental fatigue. Something about having to do five of them.. guh! Nice workout!

  7. Hooray for blog friends becoming real life friends. I heart you Shelby! Also, Thursday’s workout scurrs me. 7 miles. Grinding tempo. Oy.

  8. Yep-and some of my blog friends have turned out to be great real life friends! 🙂

    I remember when I first started blogging about 5 years ago, the NYC running blog community was so much smaller…look how far it’s come 🙂

  9. I have yet to meet anyone from the blog world in person, but I feel like I have definitely made good friends, even if they are just online for now!

  10. I’d really like to meet other bloggers in person but there aren’t that many in my area! (Portland). 😦

  11. i love meeting bloggers 😉 there seem to be a lot in nyc. but it’s fun to meet the out-of-state ones too.

  12. I met my first blog friend this past weekend – actually, he and his wife – and we had a blast! I feel like we’re legit “real-life” friends now instead of just blog friends. Of course for the first time, you want to meet in a nice, well-lit area and not, say, the alley behind Burger King. Oh, and have an “out” in case they are weird. Hee hee.

    That said, next time you’re in Indy, stop by. I’ll be in the alley behind Burger King.

  13. BTW I see we were commenting on each other’s blogs at exactly the same time. Talk about nerdy!

  14. I still feel like I’m kinda new to blogging (and I love it for the same reasons you do!) – you (ever so briefly!) and Megan are among the first bloggers I’ve met. You guys are awesome – I love meeting other runners and people that I have a lot in common with 🙂

  15. I have that beer in my fridge! My beer fridge that is 🙂

    Nope – haven’t met anyone IRL yet, but would love to. People don’t travel to the Twin Cities that often – unless you count layovers at the airport! There are a lot of bloggers I know I would enjoy meeting and would get along with right away.

  16. Excellent work last night. Nothing fun about pace recognition workouts. You did a fine job.

  17. Nice run! And yes I meet up with internet buddies all the time… in fact I ran with 4 Twitter peeps just this morning. Good times.

  18. I’ve met a few, and they’ve all been terrific. Embrace it! We’re all in good company. You going to be there tomorrow night?

  19. I love meeting bloggers! When I was in NYC last month, I met two of my favorites. I felt like I’ve know them forever through reading their blogs and it wasn’t weird or awkward at all, like it sometimes can be with meeting new people.

Leave a Reply

