Famous feet

Gu to ring up.  Shoes to put away.  Toddlers to entertain while their mothers roam the Nike racks. It was just another day in running-retail-land.

Until a British couple walked in and headed to the shoe nest.  The guy poked around in a corner, studying some display sneakers; his attractive blond companion explained, in her pretty accent, that she needed a replacement pair of running shoes.  Alrighty, coming right up.  I headed down to the stock room.

“Holy crap,” one of my co-workers snatched my sleeve as I was on my way back up.  “Ricky Gervais is up in shoes!”

I poked my head around the corner.  So he was.  With his attractive blond wife.  Who needed replacement sneakers.

(source)

As it turned out, he wanted some new shoes too!  And that, my friends, is how I ended up spending half an hour of my afternoon with Ricky Gervais and his wife (producer Jane Fallon), explaining the concept of over-pronation and discussing the pros and cons of Superfeet inserts.  They were unbelievably nice and kept saying cute British things like “cheers!” and “brilliant!” I never did mention that I knew who he was.  But hey, Ricky – if you’re reading this now, I totally knew who you were!  And I love your work!

I rarely have brushes with celebrity.  And now I can say I have extensively touched the feet of the David Brent, Regional Manager, Slough branch, Wernham Hogg Paper Company.

You’re allowed to be envious. 🙂

(And the original British version of The Office kicked so much ass.)

Today’s EAT: Delivery from our favorite Thai place – one last time.  Pad Thai with crispy duck and spicy basil fried rice – dinner is served!

(Don’t mind the packing tape in the background.  That’s how I roll these days.  HAHA – get it?  Hey, where was that wit when I was hanging with Ricky earlier today?!)

A takeout lid doubles as a plate when all most of your kitchen is already packed:

At least there are no dishes to wash!

Today’s DRINK: Some wine drinking is happening while packing tonight, and the hubs has joined me on my crusade to empty the wine rack this week.  We’re still working on the bottle I opened last night, but hopefully there will be a couple of great wines to share over the next few days!

Today’s RUN: None – day off.  I’ve got my work cut out for me this week – aiming for 60 miles in the midst of this moving madness.  Not sure how I’m going to make it happen.

Today’s QUESTION: Have you ever met a celebrity? Share your favorite brush with fame!

31 responses to “Famous feet

  1. Pretty cool! Maybe Michael Scott will walk in tomorrow 😉 I’ve never met a celebrity, but I was once at the same party as Mary Kate Olsen. It was a soccer tournament/outdoor BBQ/drinkfest sponsored by Adidas. I was standing like 5 feet away from her, that has to count for something!

  2. That’s so cool you saw AND got to converse with him! I’ve been feeling left out of the celeb sightings ever since I moved to NYC, but today I happened to walk by a filming of a Curb Your Enthusiasm episode in the East Village! I got to see Larry David, and up close too because they were wrapping up things! I hope the moving goes well:\ At least you have a big truck to put all your stuff in!

  3. ahhhhhhhhhh so envious! i’ve never gotten to see a celeb in real life! lucky you 🙂

  4. Awesome. I agree. British version totally great.
    You should have asked him if he was “having a laugh?”. lol reference to Extras. 🙂

    I’ve met Jeff Bagwell (Astros), Wolfgang Puck (he actually flirted with me..weird), Bill Sadler, Tyler Hoechlin, Agnes Bruckner, Mark (Mario Batali’s sous chef on Iron Chef) and Lidia Bastianich. Saw Mario Williams (Texans football player) at Target. Walked by Shaq being driven by in one of those carts at the Houston airport. And walked by Haley Joel Osment.

  5. Hehe, but did you sell him any compression socks? I am LOVING my CEP’s. I once saw Daryl Hammond (from SNL) in a diner on E. 75th St!

  6. I’d have been singing this to myself:

  7. I love! Ricky Gervais!

    I haven’t met many famous people. Although about 6 years ago, I met Lewis Black at an after bars house party and he told me that I reminded him of a girl in Appleton, Wisconsin.

    Thats about it 🙂

  8. So does this trump meeting Dan Wilson?

  9. How fun! And also that Thai food looks amazing! I’ve met some running celebs like Kara Goucher, Constantina Dita, Dena Kastor, and Bart Yasso. In music world I met my absolute all time favorite musician Dave Matthews!!! 🙂

  10. OMG…this makes me laugh so hard I pee myself a little every time I see it:

    I’ve met a couple celebrities. Back in college, “Road Trip” was shooting on my campus and I went to watch them film (my friend was a PA and invited me). Breckin Meyer went over to get a snack from the craft services table, which I was standing near. He walked over to me and introduced himself, but didn’t want to shake my hand because he had Cool Ranch Dorito crap all over his fingers. 🙂 He was teeny tiny, but cute.

    And one night I hung out with Billy Bush (if you can even call him a celebrity) at a bar in the Village. I was there with a friend and he came in with a couple friends. They were talking about raunchy stuff, and when I hear raunchy stuff I have to inject myself into the conversation. 😛 Anyway, we were chit chatting for a lot of the night. His friends introduced him as “William”. And he kept getting messages on his Blackberry from Eva Longoria…LOL.

  11. This is certainly an OOTUES (only on the Upper East Side) moment. that place is packed with well and lesser-known celebs!

    believe it or not, in my twenty-four years in new york i haven’t seen or NOTICED (let’s face it – I’m kind of a spazz) many celebrities. i’d say the most exciting brush with fame occurred at the age of nine when my mother spotted richard gere (from behind, thank you), watched him walk into a doorman building on East 9th street, then proceeded to harass the doorman to get an autographed picture from richard, written to me. a few days later we go back to the building only to be given an autographed picture that reads, “To Sophia – Richard Gere.” spelling error! and because i have a jewish mother, she insisted he re-write with the correct spelling of my name. a few days later, our wish was granted. then we befriended said doorman and visited him every once in awhile for the next few years. he watched me grow up. cute or weird? you decide.

    sad to see you eating thai out of container tops because when the kitchen is packed, that’s some serious moving business. 😦 we seriously have to have at least a quick drink before you leave, cool?

  12. I also met a bunch of celebrities when I was working at Oxygen, because we would throw parties and concerts with artist meet-and-greets for VIP clients. I think the best person I met was Sue Johanson…oh yes…the old sex show lady: http://www.talksexwithsue.com/index2.html

    She is freaking HILARIOUS.

  13. That is sweet – I think you’re famous by association now! I still think the most famous person I’ve met is Harmon Killebrew, who I met when I was about 7 years old at a MN Twins game. No one seems to know who he is unless they’re a baseball history buff, but I’m still impressed by it:)
    The crispy duck looks amazing. Hope finishing the packing goes ok. I’m sure the goodbyes are harder than the packing.

  14. That is awesome! I’m glad they were nice, you read so many stories about how celebrities are snobs, etc.

    The only celebrities I have met are all politicians: Jesse Ventura, Al Franken, and I think thats about it!

  15. morgan freeman in british virgin islands. classy guy!

  16. Ok. This is awesome. If you’re going to be leaving NY, at least do so knowing you have fondled Ricky Gervais’s feet. And yes, I know you were fondling them.

    Besides seeing Anthony Edwards running, I did sit behind Danny DeVito and Rhea Perlman at a show a couple of years ago. This was supafly for a number of reasons, but mainly because they are really short and I was able to have an unobstructed view of Proof (an excellent play, btw).

  17. I always seem to hear about celeb sightings from others and always miss them 🙂 Though I did spot Cynthia Nixon ar a restaurant on the UWS where we were having brunch. And my office is in the same building as the Food Network so there has been a Rachael Ray sighting…

    Your week sounds a lot like mine-packing and trying to get the miles in. I’m running 20 the day before my move-this ought to be, uh, interesting 🙂

    • Oh and favorite celeb meetings have to be athletes…e.g., Kara Goucher, Deena Kastor, Meb Keflezighi…always so nice and down-to-earth. And back in the day when I was reality TV obsessed a few members of the Survivor cast 🙂

  18. The only celeb I have met is Kid Rock. Not so sure that even counts because it was back in the day when he played locally, before he made it big!

  19. WOW! Way cool!!!! I love him too!

    I met Stephen Fry and got his autograph. 🙂

  20. How fun! Must have been so cool to talk to them and wow them with your running-retail expertise.

    For “The Office”-related celebrity encounters, B.J. Novak came to my college and did some sort of stand-up act. I didn’t go to it, but later on I observed him drunkenly carousing on the street near my off-campus house, creeping on college girls.

  21. I don’t think I have ever officially “met” someone famous. I was within an arms reach of Tiger Woods last year at the PGA. It was cool at the time and we were excited. Now? Awk-ward!

    I’ve met a few local celebrities like TV news people, but those aren’t that hard to come by. When I was serving tables in college, one of the anchorwomen always came in with her kids. And one of the weathermen used to hang out at the bar us bartenders hung out at. It was weird because he was always shwasted.

  22. susan sarandon @ city winery
    matt dillon on carmine st
    kevin bacon @ the canal room (very antisocial)
    Bono on 52nd and broadway
    Prince @ St Paul, MN Airport
    Julie Stiles @ Pete’s Tavern after the Travis concert at Irving
    Julie Stiles part 2 @ Rumsey Field during the National Concert

  23. Pingback: Netster 宅男

  24. No celebrity sightings of not recently. Although, during the school year, wifey regularly sees some joker named Bono.

  25. Jimmy Fallon. I spotted him at a bar where my husband’s band had a gig in NYC. He actually got up and did a few songs with them. Got my picture taken and such. It was my perfect first time in NYC celeb run in.

  26. We don’t get too many sightings in Charlotte unless you count Nascar drivers. Some in the past have been Wyclef, guys from Jackass, David Spade, Ice T. We need to change that!

  27. I LOVE HIM. British Office kicks US Office’s ASS. Every time someone says “so do you watch the Office?” I kind of want to kill myself.

    I’m impressed that you played it cool. I probably wouldn’t have been able to do that.

Leave a Reply

