The last tempo

We are moving tomorrow.  Looking around our apartment, you might not know it.  We are, uh, perhaps a little behind on the packing front.  How we managed to cram so much stuff into these 300 little square feet is beyond me.

Emmy continues her exploration of the box piles.  I have a feeling she’ll be disappointed when the movers come tomorrow and dismantle her vertical playground.

Not afraid of heights, that cat!

Honestly, I am pretty exhausted right now, both physically and emotionally.  Tonight was the last of the goodbyes, to my teammates, on the heels of a tough tempo run that I didn’t feel great about.  I am surprised I held it together as well as I did.  Between the stress of packing and moving logistics, the running (35 miles this week so far, and I’ve already played my day-off card) and the farewells, I’ve been kind on edge all week and was pretty close to losing it tonight!

I cannot wait for this move to be over.

Anyway.  We pick up our truck bright and early tomorrow.  Let the fun begin!

Today’s EAT: I wish the last supper were more special.  But it was simple delivery.  Summer rolls, beef satay and chicken bun from Baoguette:

Definitely tasty!  I miss cooking, though!  Take-out containers are getting old.

Today’s DRINK: I scrounged the last bottle of wine from the back of the fridge.  A Rose Vinho Verde:

This Muralhas de Moncao blend is light and sweet!

Today’s RUN:  I made a little joke to a couple of teammates a couple of weeks ago.  We were discussing how workouts were getting longer after the summer season.  “You know,” I said.  “I’ll bet coach will bring that horrendous 2 X 4 mile tempo back just in time for me to leave.”  Chortling ensued.

Well, guess what landed on the docket this week.  Groan.

I know longer workouts are good for me, but I suck at them.  Big time.  8 miles of tempo is really not my idea of fun, and I always lag behind the group compared to the shorter track workouts.  But as we all know, running is hard sometimes.  So I resisted the urge to skip out and gave it my best shot.

The assignment: 2 X 4 miles.  First four at marathon pace.  Last four at half-marathon pace.  (My goal was 7:50-8:00 marathon pace, 7:30-7:40 half marathon pace.)

The results: I honestly thought this was going to look way worse when I was in the thick of it.

I guess the pace wasn’t actually that far off.  And I managed to negative-split it, which is a huge improvement over last week.

The first loop felt fine and I forced myself to hold back from the pack in front of me, which was running ~7:45.  The second loop?  Sucked.  Everyone else took off and I fell so far behind the group that I was running by myself.  I had to force myself to finish the workout.  Bleh.

I wish I’d executed better on my last (in-person) CPTC workout (for a while, anyway), but at the end of the day it’s 11 solid miles in the bag, so I’ll take it, right?

Today’s QUESTION: How many times have you moved in your adult life? This is number four for us.  Yeah…it’s kind of getting old.

15 responses to “The last tempo

  1. We’ve moved six times since turning 21. Do you already have a place lined up or will you look for one once you get there?

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    When I was 19 I moved out of My mom’s house into an apt, and since then i’ve moved 6 times. 7 times in 6years. awesome. We just moved 3mths ago into a house we built, so hopefully that was the last time. Isn’t it crazy how much stuff you accumulate in such a small space. We lived in about a 600sq ft trailer and I had no idea we had THAT MUCH stuff. holy cow, where did it all come from, and where was it hiding while we lived there. I’ve never moved out of the state of FL though. Never moved more then an hour from my hometown.

  3. I’ve only done one city-to-city move in my adult love, from Atlanta to NYC. But in my nearly 9 years in NYC I’ve moved 8 times. Yeah. I’m really ready to settle into my current apartment.

    Good luck with the move!!

  4. In 2006 I moved from California to Maryland and ounly brought with me what I could fit in my VW Jetta. When I moved again not even two years later I was amazed at how much JUNK I had accumulated? Where does it all come from? I’ve moved 4 times since college and hoping and praying we can afford to move again soon. It’s time to upgrade our digs!

  5. I know NYC apartments are like shoeboxes, but 300 sq ft? OMG. Your next place will seem like a mansion. I’ve moved so many times over the past 10 years I’ve lost count.

    I’m sure great things are awaiting you in your new city. Good luck with your move!

  6. If you count moving away to college and apartments in the same town, then five. (Minus the in-town moves, three.) Two cross-country. It blows. I need wine and Vietnamese takeout just thinking about it.

  7. I hope your move goes well!

    I have lived in 7 towns in the past 10 years. I can’t wait to move again. I didn’t really intend to be in Indiana for this long/still. At least we finally moved to Southern Indiana where there are “hills”.

  8. hahah what a workout to end on! but a very good one to end on 🙂

    good luck with the actual move! i bet that wine is much needed right now. moving sucks!

  9. Good luck and safe traveling with the move, Shelby! You will be missed 🙂 I’ve had two big moves in my adult life – the first was to Boston from my hometown in WNY for college, and then from Boston to NYC about 4 years ago. I don’t plan on doing it again for a while!

    Great running – that sounded like such a hard workout. I’ll have to get some balls sometime soon and try it.

  10. Oooffff. All the details of moving are such a drain. Best of luck. Way to chew through that workout in the midst of all this moving anxiety. Thanks for sharing your stats — very fun to peruse instead of actually running that doozy of a workout myself!

  11. Good luck with everything Shelby! Hope your drive is full of good weather, decent food stops and some fun too:)

  12. Sunday will be #3 for me!
    1. NJ to Murray Hill, NYC
    2. Murray Hill to Upper West Side
    3. Upper West Side to Hell’s Kitchen

    I too still have a bit of packing to do…mostly clothes tho! I’ve had to toss so much stuff out-crazy what accumulates in just a matter of years!! I too don’t know how I crammed so much stuff in a small apartment (and am so psyched for the space upgrade I’m gonna get!)

  13. I’ve only moved three times in my adult life but it feels like alot more since I’ve moved from apt to apt within those cities. I am sick of packing, unpacking, moving tape, etc. It sucks.

    Hope yall have a safe move!

  14. (((HUGS)))
    Emmy is so cute. 🙂

    Hope all went well with the move.

    I’ve moved 4 times in 7 years (once to Cali, twice while in Cali and once back to TX) and I’m ready to move again. 🙂

  15. If you count moving to Boston when I finished college, I have moved 12 times; every year for the first 6 years, 7 times in 10 years. It was good it slowed down after that. But some of us are just “tumbleweeds”, at least while we are trying to figure it all out.

Leave a Reply

