September playlist: guilty pleasures

“Hey, can I borrow your iPod?”

It’s a question that has the power to ignite fear in the bravest of hearts.

Why?  Because of course there is crap on your iPod.  Crap that would mortify you if the borrowing party stumbled upon it.

So perhaps you respond: “Sure, of course.  Hey, let me just show you which playlists are – ”

“Nah, it’s cool, I can just put it on shuffle.”

Shuffle.  Dear God.

You’d better be prepared to explain what Justin Bieber is doing in there, along with Britney-circa-1999, and a few choice selections from Taylor Swift’s Christmas album.  Because the iPod Anxiety Effect is no joke, y’all.

But I can own up to the crap on my iPod.  At least, some of it – the portion that I use for running, anyway.  So here is my Guilty Pleasures Running Playlist:

May I (attempt to) explain?

1. Girlfriend (Featuring Lil’ Mama) – Avril Lavigne: I think Avril Lavigne is a pretentious twat, for the most part.  But this remix has an awesome beat for running. [Listen]

2. Rehab (remix) feat. Jay-Z – Amy Winehouse: Amy Winehouse is a nutcase for sure, but this mix with Jay-Z is high-energy and fun. [Listen]

3. Fighter – Christina Aguilera: All anger.  Great for kicking ass on a run. [Listen]

4. Love in this Club (feat. Young Jeezy) – Usher: I really…I don’t know, it reminds me of an old Bone Thugs track or something?  The lyrics are about as stupid as you can get, but for some reason I love this song. [Listen]

5. I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho) – Pitbull: Okay, I’ll be honest.  I love Pitbull.  At the wedding I went to in South America earlier this month, I (apparently) repeatedly pleaded with the DJ to play “more Pitbull.” [Listen]

6. These Boots are Made for Walkin’ – Jessica Simpson: I know.  JESSICA. SIMPSON.  It’s shameful.  I really have no reasonable explanation for this one. [Listen]

7. Low (feat. T-Pain) – Flo Rida: Who didn’t have the boots with the furrrrrr a couple of years ago?  I’ve since ditched the boots but I still love the song. [Listen]

8. Take it Off – Ke$ha: I totally think less of myself for liking this song.  It’s about glitter on the floor of a shady strip/sex club…right?  Gross.  And yet somehow….YES. [Listen]

9. Crank That (Soulja Boy) (Travis Barker Remix) – Soulja Boy Tell ‘Em: I know what you are thinking.  Soulja Boy and Travis Barker in the same song?  A double dose of douche?  But this remix is freaking AWESOME and has carried me through many hard workouts. [Listen]

10. Bossy (feat. Too Short) – Kelis: This song is so much better than that stupid Milkshake song.  Favorite line: “I’m the bitch y’all love to hate.”  Yeahhhh, haters. [Listen]

11. See You Again (Rock Mafia Remix) – Miley Cyrus: Oh hai, Miley.  Guess what?  I kind of secretly love you.  Because – bonus confession! – this is not the only Miley Cyrus song in my iTunes library. [Listen]

12. Picture to Burn – Taylor Swift: Aside from the fact that she’s starting to look like a tranny (less eye makeup, Taylor!) I think Taylor Swift is kind of okay.  This song is angry in a cute way and fun for fast tempo stuff. [Listen]

13. Thong Song – Sisqo: This one is thanks to Mr. Shue and his dance moves.  I mean…I liked the song when it came out back in the day, but it has a whole new meaning for me now. 🙂 [Listen]

14. Stronger – Britney Spears: Oh, Brit-Brit.  Remember when you were fierce?  I miss Fierce Britney. [Listen]

15. Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson: I don’t think that Kelly Clarkson is all that special.  Like…she’s just another one of those chick singers that came out of that circa-2004 timeframe.  But this song’s driving beat makes is a favorite for running! [Listen]

Whew.  I feel better with that off my chest.

Today’s EAT: Speaking of guilty pleasures…

Strawberries.  Nutella.  Vanilla Ice Cream.  Dinner.  It happens sometimes.

Today’s DRINK: I’ve had a few people ask me whether I “give up drinking” pre-marathon.

Umm….no.

But I do try to be reasonable.

If I’m having ice cream for dinner, I don’t need to wash it down with wine.  Water will do tonight.

Today’s RUN: It poured allllll day today.  I was not looking forward to Monday night running club.  And so I decided to whine about it all over the internet.

As with all important life decisions, I consulted Twitter.  And of course, the consensus was unanimous: I should nut up and go run in the rain.

And so I did.  And it was nice.  5 miles at an unknown pace – they felt like eight-minute miles or so, but who knows.  Not having a functioning watch is kind of annoying.

Today’s QUESTION: I am dying to know…if I got into your iPod/computer/CD collection, what’s the most embarrassing song I’d find?  I spilled mine.  Now you spill yours.  Lurky-loos, too.  🙂

32 responses to “September playlist: guilty pleasures

  1. i definitely am glad that i do not have an ipod for that reason.

    no explanations needed! i want a copy of that playlist pronto – although i probably have all the songs on my computer already hahah i just never listen to music on my computer ever nor do i ever really burn cds to listen to in my car. laziness ha!

    i will admit to the jobros (jonas brothers) shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

  2. I recently experienced the ipod anxiety effect. Definitely most embarrassed about Danity Kane “Damaged”….

  3. So much is shameful on my iPod. So so much. I try to keep it private – my husband is a musician and songwriter so I feel like I am insulting him with all my lame music.
    Your dinner is making me want to hit the corner store for Ben and Jerry’s.

  4. Not only can I admit that I’ve paid for almost every one of those songs but each track elicits tons of good memories!

    I have crazy obsessions with Hall & Oates and George Michael, along with one hit wonders (Night Ranger, Kajagoogoo, Luniz, Snow, Paperboy).

    More recent teeny bopper obsessions include that new Enrique Iglesias song “I Like It” (it samples “Dancing On The Ceiling”…’nuff said!), Miley Cyrus “Party In the USA” and “Fly On The Wall”, anything Girls Aloud and that T.A.T.U song “All the Things She Said”.

  5. o.m.g. Jessica Simpson? haha I have Ashlee Simpson. wth was I thinking??? At least JS really sings. 😀
    I have Avril Lavigne on mine as well.

  6. Embarrassing ipod songs? Too many to name. I have Spice Girls, Aqua, 5ive, Miley Cyrus, Good Charlotte…I could go on! I love the songs from my childhood!

  7. I love songs number 8 and 14.

    I’m guilty of having several Britney and Avril songs on my iPod too. And maybe some Backstreet Boys….maybe…

  8. There is this ambiguous possible jesus music on my ipod from a mix one of my mildly crazy christian friends gave me. No offense to religious people, I’m just not at all. But I secretly love running to the song and I hope it’s not actually a christian rock song but it probably is. Ugh. I should just go delete it off the ipod right now.

  9. Oh lordy:
    1) Brooks & Dunn. Keith Urban. Lots of guitar & banjo. Including one instrumental track from Keith.
    2) NSYNC. All of it. Including the Euro singles. Tons of Britney & megamix Britney (Stronger is 8:30 long!)
    3) Rap. Uncensored, graphic rap. Love it.
    4) The entire Linkin Park / Jay-Z album. I recommend listening to it & buying it. Perfect running music and almost exactly 30 mins long.

  10. I actually take into account what if someone had seen my playlist. So I have no potentially embarrassing music on there. I save that for working at the computer.

  11. Goodness. I have Lionel Ritchie’s song, “Easy”. For long slow Sunday runs. I also have Liza Minelli’s version of “New York, New York” (the only version!). Tons of late 80’s/early 90’s gangster rap. Lots of NWA, Ice Cube, Notorious B.I.G. I guess that’s not lame or anything. Just kind of surprising.

  12. You worked in “twat” and “nut up” into this post. I miss you.

    So my iPod collection is so self-consciously hip that it’s almost an embarrassment unto itself. The ONLY REASON FOR THIS, however, is that when I transferred music from one computer to another I was too incompetent to figure out how to get all of it onto my flash drive. If you had been on my old computer, you would have been mowed down by a stampede of musicals. Which I really don’t need to listen to, anyway, because I’ve memorized all the words.

    • No shame in that! Singing along with the Chicago soundtrack saved me from falling asleep at the wheel for a couple of hours on a recent road trip. I secretly kind of love musicals.

  13. BRB CHECKING IPOD…

    So it turns out I pretty much have awesome music on my ipod right now. A bunch of heavy metal and irish punk I threw on there esp for running. Probably the most embarrassing songs would would be Limp Bizkit’s and Break Stuff, which is a great angry running song but…yeah. I have also been known to crank some cheesy 80s butt rock from time to time.

  14. Welll before I left my ipod on a bus in the middle of Laos, it would have been some ridiculous late 90s boy band song (LFO, probably)… now I just have my phone, which my husband loaded up with only good music.

    I hate to admit it but I think that Girlfried by Avril Lavigne is one of the best running songs ever.

  15. I was actually going to make a similar post about the oddity of the stuff on my ipod. For the most part, it dates me quite a bit considering I’ve got more Peter Gabriel than anything else (NO. I AM NOT JOKING. I LIKE PETER DAMMIT WHICH IS WHAT SHE SAID.) and more Phil Collins than I’d like to admit. The Phil part I’m ashamed of. Like, the other day my shuffle went from Rush to Anthrax to Ludacris to Billy Joel to Jay Z back to Peter Gabriel then to Dr. Dre.

    I’m weird.

  16. I have the first 3 Glee albums on my iPhone, and for some reason I find myself trying to hide the screen whenever I pull one of these albums up on the subway. I don’t know why, cuz Glee is awesome!

    I’m sort of embarrassed that I have not one, but two Black Eyed Peas albums in my iTunes. I don’t even remember buying them and I don’t think I’ve ever listened to them. Also, I inexplicably have the soundtrack to that movie The Girl Next Door, which I bought by accident. Whoops.

  17. Ha! I think I have every one of those songs on my ipod. My (secret) favorite song is “Jump!” by the Pointer Sisters – it makes me happy and reminds me of a scene in Love Actually with Hugh Grant. Also, even though I appear to be nice and innocent to passerbys, little to they know that sometimes I’m rocking out to 50 cent. 🙂

  18. I don’t have my ‘pod with me right now, but off the top of my head I would say T.I. – Bring ’em out, and I totally used to have that Kelis song. It got lost in the Hard Drive Crash of ’07. Not on my ipod, but I own that Ashlee Simpson CD, too (I think she only has one).

    Errr I mean…. my ipod is all Radiohead, Vampire Weekend, MGMT, Gorillaz, and {insert cool band that is so cool you’ve never heard of it here}.

  19. Shelb – no need to be embarassed. First of all, I already knew you loved crap dance music from college. Secondly, all bets are off when it comes to running music! Whatever helps you put one foot in front of the other. On my current wish list (indicative of what is already on my iPod): B.O.B.’s “Magic” and Flo Rida’s “Club Can’t even handle me.”

  20. My guilty pleasure? “Summer Girls” by LFO.

    And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

    Hehe, love your playlist! I have many of those songs on my ipod.

  21. I have a lot of Michael Jackson, some embarrassing Whitney Houston and lots of urban hits. 😉

  22. HA…I have almost all of those in my iTunes, no need to explain.

    My most embarrassing is Clay Aiken “Invisible.” It’s like kidding/not kidding.

    And did you seriously just say “twat” in a blog post? That made my day.

  23. Love this post! I have a couple of the same ones you do, Avril, Brittney…..and Baby by Justin Beiber. Why is this the only song I never seem to get sick of?? I recently added R Kelly’s “I am the Greatest.” I am the hugest dork in the world, because I will be running and start raising my arms up in praise of my accomplishments when this song comes on. Yup, I like to mix things up!

  24. hahaha. this totally made me laugh. and i have more than one miley and i am really not that ashamed. i am sort of ashamed about toto. i tell people it was a mistake.

  25. Long time reader…first time commenter…sad to say I’ve got some Lyle Lovett but am redeemed because I’ve also got Shabba Ranks, Tina-a-Ling.

  26. I think the most embarrasing honors probably belongs to “Wannabe” by the Spuce Girls. Nice, fast beat, but everytime it plays I can’t quite believe I put it on my iPod….

  27. Ok, I have to repost just to fix my typo- Spice Girls. I’ve also got some quality MJ, Journey, lots of music of the 80’s I guess.

  28. I think I win – Color Me Badd’s “All For Love”.

  29. I kick myself for all the Ke$ha songs I have on my workout playlists and that I put on workout playlists for IntheGym.net – and I’m slightly embarassed that I’m still jamming to “This is Why I’m Hot”.

Leave a Reply

