Meteorological fantasies

Here’s a fact I’ve begun to accept about myself: I like to complain about the weather.

For most of the summer, it was too hot.  Now, it’s finally cooled down, but it’s too rainy and too humid.  And although I’ll try to deny this and declare my love for cold-weather running, I’m pretty sure that you’ll find me grumbling too cold, too icy, too windy, and/or too snowy at some point during the winter.

Today, I complained.  See?

All day, I whined internally while procrastinating my run.  I tried telling myself I should be glad that at least it wasn’t 90*.  But, nope.  Too rainyStill not impressed, weather.

Here’s another fact:  I get a kick out of those international weather listings on the back page of the front section of USA Today.  Whenever we travel and get a copy plopped at our hotel room door, I become immediately engrossed in the weather section and proceed to call out tidbits to the hubs (“It’s 68 and raining in Milwaukee! 92 and sunny in Abu Dhabi!”) while he pretends not to hear me.

Right.  I am a weather nerd.

So. What would perfect weather look like? Easy: 55 and sunny.  Or if not sunny, at least dry.  That’s my ideal running weather.  The very definition of not-hot but not-cold.  Shorts and a tank-top comfortable.

I poked around to see where in the world I might go, at the moment, to find this blissful fantasy weather.  Hmm, could I live in any of these places?

(All data weather data is from USA Today’s Friday forecasts.  Pictures as cited.)

1. Buenos Aries, Argentina – High 59*, Low 44*, Partly Sunny

(source)

From Lonely Planet: “Mix together a beautiful European-like city with attractive residents, gourmet cuisine, awesome shopping, a frenzied nightlife and top-drawer activities, and you get Buenos Aires, a cosmopolitan metropolis with both slick neighborhoods and equally downtrodden areas – but that’s part of the appeal.”

Could I live there? I’ve never been to BA, but from what I’ve heard – yes, I could definitely live there.  However, I’d be thirty pounds heavier from a constant diet of amazing steak and red wine and thus less able to run, so the weather ideal would be sort of lost on me.

2. Wellington, New Zealand – High 58*, Low 48*, Fair

(source)

From Lonely Planet: “Hemmed in by hillsides around a magnificent harbour, Wellington is NZ’s capital. Given the relatively small population, there’s an astounding number of quality restaurants, cafés, bars, galleries, shops and theatres here. Timber Victorian houses terrace up steep valleys from the waterfront in an almost San Franciscan manner.”

Could I live there? Sold. When’s the next flight?

3. Helsinki, Finland – High 54*, Low 45*, Sunny

(source)

From Lonely Planet: “Helsinki is cool without – as yet – being self-consciously so. Unlike other capitals, you sense that people go to places because they enjoy them, not to be seen. Much modern décor is ironic and humorous.”

Could I live there? Well, I am also “cool without – as yet – being self-consciously so.”  Right?  (Seriously, what does that even mean?  Lonely Planet, call me. I can do yer guidebooks better.  Thx.)

But really….no, I couldn’t live there.  I don’t mind snow but I don’t think I could deal with Finland winters.

4. Ulan Bator, Mongolia – High 58*, Low 31*, Sunny

(source)

From Lonely Planet: “An enormous city of pulsating commerce, heavy traffic, sinful nightlife and bohemian counter-culture, the Mongolian capital stirs as much shock as it does excitement. UB is a cauldron of concrete and dirt. New buildings are thrown up on any available patch of ground, while Humvees battle Landcruisers and yellow taxis for right of way on pot-holed boulevards.”

Could I live there? Um, yeah…NO.  I don’t want to live in a “cauldron” of anything.  Manic drivers in giant SUVs?  That sounds like the worst place to run ever.  I would love to visit though!  (Really…the hubs and I have talked about doing a Mongolia trip at some point, mostly for the awesome trekking, but I’m sure we’d stop in the city too.)

5. Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada – High 54*, Low 37*, Sunny

(source)

From Lonely Planet: “A crop of concrete and glass pops out of the prairies in an area fertile with history and culture. Winnipeg’s isolation, self-sufficiency and outside ignorance have allowed it to evolve into one of Canada’s honest and composed metropolitan cities that can handle being the butt of the Simpsons gag, ‘That’s it! We’re all going back to Winnipeg!’”

Could I live there? Probably.  The interior of Canada has seems mysteriously charming to me.  As in, I feel like Laura Ingalls and her Pa might still be up there today…dragging their wagon across the prairie and igniting pioneer fantasies in my childhood heart.  But anyway.  I could, but I probably wouldn’t. Because those Ingalls chicks had to use outhouses, yo.

One final weather-related fact. At this point, I am refusing to check the forecast for October 1o in Chicago.  If there is one thing that is totally out of my control for this race, it’s the weather. My stalking it over the next ten days is NOT going to change it.  So I’ll check it when I’m packing next Friday morning and deal with it then.

Happy almost-weekend. 🙂

Today’s EAT: Again I dine alone.  Woe is me.  (Yes, the hubs is still in the picture.  He’s just logging some late hours at the office this week.)

I knew I should have a somewhat healthy, balanced meal instead of eating ice cream for dinner.  Enter: Pork Nacho Salad.

This was so easy and really delicious. I’m not sure why I’ve never put salad on nachos before because it’s a genius combination.  The key, I think, is to toss the salad with the dressing before hand so it sticks to the lettuce.  But…wow.  I’ll definitely be making salad-topped nachos of various varieties again!

Sound good?  Try it for yourself, or make your own variation.  And let me know how it turns out!

Today’s DRINK: I’ve been sipping in a glass of red while cooking and blogging this evening:

Artezin (ha – get it?) Zinfandel.  Not horrible, but nothing special either.  It was very dry.  I don’t like red wines that leave me thirsty.

Today’s RUN: In spite of my weather-related whining, I dragged myself out for five easy miles.  The taper continues!

Today’s QUESTION: If you had to move abroad, where would you move? I have no intention of expatriating any time soon, but it’s a fun question that I think about often!  I’d love to live in Ireland or Scotland!

23 responses to “Meteorological fantasies

  1. omg i LOVE to complain about the weather hahahah.

    i’d love to live in spain somewhere or go back to france. of course i’d have to brush up on my foreign language skills — small price to pay though 🙂

  2. My husband and I are always talking about where we would live abroad. Our dream is to live some where other than the US for at least part of our son’s childhood.

    The current lead place is Argentina for my husband and the Netherlands for me. I’ve lived in Ghana and South Korea in the past and liked various things about those experiences but am not sure I’d go back.

  3. I would love to live in San Francisco.

    Wellington is nice 3 days of the year. I lived there for 3 years, the winters are bitterly cold, its very, very windy but when its nice, its nice!

    • Jess – that’s kind of funny! The internets (in my brief research) totally make Wellington out to be the SF of NZ. But the weather in SF is very mild year round, so clearly that’s not true. Ha.

      In any case, both cities are gorgeous!

  4. Oooh, good Q. The Norwegian part of me would love to go to Norway, but I hear it can get killer expensive. Honestly, either Spain or somewhere in South America. I want to work on my Spanish more, and live in a warmer climate for just a little bit. Then, I would happily come back to Minnesota!

    • My heritage is largely Swedish and I totally want to go there, too. But, yeah, it’s SO expensive.

      Living in a warm, Spanish-speaking climate for a while sounds awesome!!

  5. Salad on nachos is one of my faves — satisfying saltiness and crunchiness with a side of nutrients? Sold.

    I’m not sure where I would move abroad. Ireland sounds neat — I must have a strange attraction to rainy/gray places. I’d also like to visit my other family motherland — Croatia… it would be sweet to live right on the Mediterranean.

  6. Oooh New Zealand – looks gorgeous! I too love, love Ireland! I would probably choose Dublin or perhaps London. But Dublin is just so beautiful and everyone is SO nice 🙂 I want to go back so badly!

  7. I’ve already checked the weather for Chicago…twice! I have a feeling I will be doing this on a daily basis until 10-10 arrives.

  8. I’m actually not freaking out about the weather for 10-10-10 just yet!! For one thing, it’s too early. And also like you said…it is what it is, its the one thing that we can’t control. and hey-we trained in some pretty crazy conditions this summer 🙂

  9. Yummy salad nachos look so good. I would love to live in either Germany, Italy , Sweden, or Ireland.

  10. I would love to live in Rome! I visited for a week when I was 17 and fell in love with the city. I even took Italian as my foreign language requirement in college in the hopes that I could use it there again some day. 🙂

  11. I’m a bit obsessed with weather too. 🙂 I think we’re going to have pretty good weather in Chicago.
    I haven’t traveled abroad enough to know where I would want to live. NZ looks & sounds amazing. Our good friends are from there.

  12. Are you sure you’re not from Portland? Weather is the #1 topic of conversation here year round. 🙂

  13. I wanted to be a meteorologist before I learned how much math was involved in college.

    Winnipeg is not totally unlike Minnesota except with less people. We used to road trip up there when we turned 18 because that was the drinking age at the time. It was a very mature and responsible thing to do.

    We’ve had your ideal weather (well maybe a little warmer) for about a month now. But then all hell breaks loose at the end of November, so I wouldn’t recommend it.

  14. I am totally torn between Bangkok and London. I would love to live in either of those places!

  15. I’d love to live in the south of France. Siiigh!

  16. I love the concept of this post! If I had the ability to move abroad I would go to Europe — so many cultures in such a small area! I loved Eastern Europe, but the winters might get to me … perhaps Spain? Although Ireland is gorgeous. I don’t know how anyone could ever decide…

  17. you should move to Columbia. I have a friend from there and apparently the weather is *always* in the 50-60s and dry.
    Love your blog svp 😉

  18. mmmm. and obviously it’s Colombia, not Columbia.
    🙂

  19. Pingback: A regional guide to complaining about the weather | eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

