Nice rack

Maury Ballstein: You want an opinion? With a push-up bra you could have a nice rack of lamb up in there.

Heh.

I’ve gotta write a quick love note to Costco here.  Thank you for selling high quality meat at a very reasonable price. Rack of lamb is one of my favorite meats, and I never used to buy it in New York because it was like $20/lb.  At Costco here in Raleigh, it’s half that.

And their steak?  And shrimp?  Oh, don’t even get me started on the excitement that happens around here on Seafood Roadshow weekends.

Also?  We now own a 14-lb bag of baking soda.

Oh, Costco.  I love you.

Today’s EAT: It’s hard to screw up a nice rack.  Tonight, I did mine with jam:

Le recipe: Apricot Rack of Lamb

And also, I turned the biggest yam I’ve ever seen it in to a delicious mash.  That one was courtesy of the State Farmer’s Market.  Which is worthy of a post in and of itself.  Forthcoming.

Today’s DRINK: Meet one of my favorite red wines of all time.

I was SO stoked when I saw this in a local grocery store!  I’m convinced that Bogle’s Old Vine Zin is one of the best $10 bottles out there.  It kicks the crap out of wines three times the price.

Today’s RUN: No running.  But today I did something I haven’t done in months.  I lifted some weights.

It was pretty pathetic, but it needed to be done.  After last weekend’s marathon, my arms were more sore than my legs.  It made me realize that I always need to make room for some level of strength training in my routine.

I’m sure I’ll be sore as hell tomorrow from my itty bitty weight workout.  Oh well…gotta start back up somewhere, right?

Today’s QUESTION: Do you love Costco as much as I do?  What’s your favorite thing about it? It’s a tough one for me.  Obviously I love being able to buy good quality meat and seafood and produce for cheeeeap.   I also love the sample ladies.  And the $1 hot dogs / frozen yogurt.  And the two-gallon bottles of ketchup.

17 responses to “Nice rack

  1. What a timely post. Last week was the first time I ever stepped foot in a Costco.

    It was overwhelming.

    Suddenly, standing next to 15-pound bags of Craisins and 18-gallon vats of Motts Apple Juice, I found myself feeling delightfully petite — something I don’t experience often.

    Also, I just Googled Bogle’s vineyards and am delighted to learn that they are a west coast outfit. My eyes will be peeled.

    • Definitely overwhelming! Although slightly comforting too, as every Costco in the world looks exactly the same. I am sure that your Alaska version is identical to my Raleigh version, a jillion miles away. It’s impressive.

  2. Love that you quoted zoolander in the first line of a blog post. Ya think I’ve got what it takes to be a ballstein model?!

    I’ve never actually been inside of a Costco (hello NYC!) bit I’ve heard good (and biiiiig) things.

    I used to strength train once every two weeks or so, but that consisted of ten minutes upper body and ten minutes lower body, tops. I am lazy. Or just nut cut out for strength!

  3. i heart zoolander. i think i shall watch it tmrw in fact 🙂

    aaaaaand i’ve never actually been to a costco but i’ve been to a bj’s club which is the same thing. and i LOVE the books section. yes i am a nerd.

  4. I go to BJ’s. Same thing and I love it!

    I also LOOOVE Bogle! I love their cabernet sauvignon 🙂

  5. Sam’s Club! BJ’S! Costco! I love your giant vats of peanut butter.

    I think we all know I fail at strength training. I did 2 planks the other day and was irrationally proud of myself. And I wonder why my lower back hurts after long runs. Heh.

    Miss you!!

    • Two planks is two more than I’ve done in months! Haha. My back and arms were so sore after Chicago. So pathetic.

      Miss you tooooo! Taper time soon for you guys, right? So excited for you!

  6. Costco is really addicting. I find myself buying more than I actually can use though just because they have such high quality meats and cheeses.

    I’ve been seeing a personal trainer who really focuses on my core/upper body to balance out the running. It really has helped me with running surprisingly enough.

  7. I love Costco, but my bank account hates it. Why is my bill over $200? I only bought 8 items!
    I love the book section (and trash magazines) but more importantly their produce section. They sell the best produce around these parts.

    mmmm the $1.99 hotdog/pop deal. So good!

  8. I love me some Costco!

    We go there way too often. lol Um, we get pretty much everything from Costco.
    We also have the 14lb. of baking soda. 🙂 We get the rack of lamb from there too, huge bag of Alexa Sweet Potato Fries, Agave Nectar, Vanilla Beans, Dark Chocolate, Body Wash, Laundry Detergent & Softener, Vitamins, Cereal, Dublin Dr. Pepper, Toilet Paper, Paper Towels, Faucet, Outdoor Water Barrel, Clothes, Dishtabs, Baby wipes (for the kids), Cookbooks, Gifts, Animal Crackers, Organic Vegetables …yeah you get the idea. 😀

  9. I don’t think I’ve ever been to Costco. Home Depot is my ish, tho. 🙂

  10. Just had to say, I love Bogle wines too!

  11. I love Costco as much as you do. Maybe more.
    Our downtown Costco is a ten minute stroll from me. I can get at least $150 worth of eggs, meat, fruit and veggies in the bottom of our stroller.love it.
    Just keep me away from the bakery!

  12. I love Costco. I can’t name one thing I love about it. We buy so much crap there. Samples are always a good time and my husband almost always buys a very berry sundae or chicken bake on the way out. Doesn’t matter if he has just eaten a meal. I think he feels like he is missing out on the best deal in the world if he doesn’t buy something from the counter.

    We buy almost everything from there with the exception of produce. The two of us struggle going through 5lb. containers of red bell peppers before they go bad. You can only eat so many red bell peppers.

Leave a Reply

