Welcome to Tahiti

Oh, hello!  It’s balmy and 87 degrees in late October!  Would you like to go snorkeling?  How about a fruity umbrella drink at the beach bar?

Or…crap, wait.  We’re not in Tahiti.  We’re in…Topeka?

I’m so confused.

Mostly I just want the nice fall weather back.  No more 90* days.  And, for pete’s sake – NO TORNADOES!  I didn’t realize there even WERE tornadoes in North Carolina.  Shudder.

I don’t know if it stems from early childhood screenings of The Wizard of Oz or what, but tornadoes are definitely my most-feared weather phenomenon.  Earthquakes?  Bring ’em.  Hurricanes?  Not exactly a party, but I could deal.  But tornadoes?  Paralyze me with fear.

(Although, I do have a subconscious fear of of tidal waves.  I am constantly having tidal wave dreams.  It’s weird.)

Anyway.  Fall is supposed to be back by the weekend, and not a minute too soon.  I served my time in the heat/humidity prison this summer!  No more of this!

Today’s EAT: Thanks for all of the fun shrimp suggestions on yesterday’s post!  Y’all know your shrimp!

I decided to go with a ceviche, given the balmy weather.  Simple and delicious, right?  Of course not. As soon as I started browsing Epicurious, simplicity went out the window.

Recipe: Shrimp Ceviche with Orange, Carrot and Fennel (via Epicurious)

Unbelievably flavorful, this dish was delicious but kind of a pain in the ass.  It’s one of those meals that somehow ends up sullying an entire dishwasher’s worth of pans and bowls.  I shoulda went simpler for a weeknight solo meal. 🙂

Today’s DRINK: Wait, where’s that umbrella drink?  Are we really not in Tahiti?

No?  Okay…how about some cheap Chardonnay then?

Oh, Santa Barbara Landing.  Your ubiquity on my Trader Joe’s aisle always suckers me in to picking up a bottle.  Yet, you’re rather forgettable.  Sigh.

Today’s RUN: Oh hell no.  The weather forced me indoors.  Which was fine, because one of my post-marathon goals is to do a little more cross-training and strength training.

So I headed to the tiny gym in my building to play a game of “how long can I tolerate this stupid elliptical machine before I want to slaughter myself?”  (Answer: 34 minutes.  It would have been 30, but I was particularly engrossed in an episode of “Little House on the Prairie” on the Hallmark channel.)

After elliptical-ing, I did a short upper-body/core weight set: chest press, shoulder press, dumbbell fly, supermans, planks and crunches.

Today’s QUESTION: What meteorological event scares the crap out of you? In my experience, there seems to be a continental divide on this one.  West coast people think earthquakes are no biggie while fearing wind-related phenomena, while Midwestern and East-coasters brush off the tornadoes and hurricanes but gasp at the mention of earthquakes.  Prove me right – or wrong!

27 responses to “Welcome to Tahiti

  1. Tornadoes freak me out.

  2. lifeisbeachykeen

    I’m a FL girl so hurricanes are, like, whatever.

    Tornados & Earthquakes, i’m headed for the nearest underground shelter! {although, I don’t think underground would be ideal in an earthquake, I have no idea, we don’t do earthquakes in Fl, thanks.}

    It’s very Tahiti-ish in Fl too, you are not alone in this nasty warm weather. I would at least like the cool mornings & cool evenings to return. This 85* @ 7am crap has got to go. It’s November for pete’s sake!

  3. Good question! I have lived in areas prone to tornadoes, blizzards, hurricanes and earthquakes.

    And perhaps not a coincidence that tsunamis are the natural event I am most scared of.

  4. For some reason I went through a phase/obsession with the movie “Twister” as a child, which made me grow up thinking all I needed to survive an F-5 was a simple leather belt.

    Nowadays the idea of a tornado is pretty terrifying…

  5. Earthquakes! We have been having heaps of them here so I’m very mindful of them and I really don’t want one to hit my city!

  6. I’m terrified of earthquakes. The earth should not rumble under my feet.

  7. Tornadoes freak me out also, we had a massive hurricane when I was a freshman in college and actually did have a hurricane party. We drank Hurricane 40s, it was fun.

  8. Hey Shelby! I love this post! When I lived in Tulsa I got so desensitited to tornadoes and tornado warnings…they happened everty day in the spring. Not fun, but I guess one gets used to it! The ceviche looks AMAZING! It looks as flavorful as it sounds! And, I think a pretty little umbrella in that colorful delight would’ve garnished just as well as in a pina colada 😉

  9. The weather is wacky here in NYC too…been in the 70s and humid the last coupla days!! Hope it cools down for NYCM (and it looks like it will, but gonna be rainy too…but then again we know its too soon to predict anyway 🙂 )

    I’d say earthquakes terrify me. Especially since they are so played up in the news…

    Oh BTW-I went to 16 Handles last nite and it was awesome!! It was right near a bar I was at, and I remembered you mentioning it on here so figured why not try it out after I was done downing beers 🙂 Will definitely be making another visit…

  10. Tornados and earthquakes scare the crap out of me!!

  11. Ha! My mom actually called and asked if our roof was still on because the midwest storms made national news — and yeah, I haven’t run all week because of the stupid wind. I was on the TX gulf coast for Hurricane Emily in 2005 (veered off toward Mexico the night before it made landfall). I worked at a TV station and had to stay there with a wretched cold, updating the website for 36 hrs. It sucked big time. But I don’t remember ever being that scared for some reason. I was just worried a window would break and the cat would get out.

  12. Welcome to the South! Heat, Humidity & Rain are our specialties. 😀

    Honestly, I’m terrified of all 3. Hurricanes, Tornadoes & Earthquakes.
    Obvs being in the Gulf Coast we see a lot A LOT of Hurricanes (or Tropical Storms with tons of flooding). Meteorologists can hurricanes coming and we can plan how to handle the situation (stay put or evacuate). Hurricanes are all different, but definitely scary especially the aftermath of having no water/no power/no gas. You think it’s hot in the South…wait until a Hurricane hits in the summer and you have no A/C. LOL

    Tornadoes are possible anywhere really. But yeah they are definitely terrifying. We drove through a tornado storm once AT NIGHT. Scariest.thing ever. because we could not see anything! But the meteorologists can also tell where they could possibly pop up.

    Earthquakes you can not forecast! No one sees them coming or can predict when it will happen! That terrifies me. We have faults all over the country, so really they can happen anywhere. A 3.- hit Dallas once. WTF? Too close. 😀

    Let’s not even get started on snowstorms. haha I’d die!

    It’s all about what people are used to. It’s like those people who can’t deal with snow (TX) or people who can’t drive in the rain (SoCal). 😀

  13. ^ geez what a long reply. sorry!

  14. Coincidentally, I have recurring dreams about tornadoes. I have yet to see a fun blow tornado in real life ( plenty of funnel clouds) but have dreams about them constantly. Nothing bad ever happens to me or my family in the dreams though…strange.

    Tornadoes scare the crap out of me and they are a very real part of living here (MN) unfortunately. I guess I haven’t thought much about hurricanes or earthquakes because I know I will probably never live anywhere that has them.

  15. Definitely tornadoes – we live in one of the NC counties where the tornado hit on Tuesday. Yesterday we had two tornado warnings and about 50 inches of rain (well, at least it felt like it). And yes, I was terrified!

    I’ve lived in NC my whole life and have only heard of tornadoes one other time in this area besides this year. What’s up, Earth?

  16. oh no tornado warnings! i’d be terrified! extreme weather of any sorts scares the bejeezus out of me, although i’m going to go with lightning storms as the worst. stay safe!

  17. The high here today is 91*.

    Shoot me please.

  18. I’ll prove you right on this one- earthquakes scare the crap out of me. I think it’s the ridiculously outrageous fear of the ground opening up under my feet. Laugh if you want. But when it happens, I’ll say “I told you so!”. Or yell it as I fall to my untimely death.

  19. I am from eastern NC and I have to say that tornadoes/water spouts scare the hell out of me. When I was in 5th grade, a water spout went over my Nanny’s house while I was in the shower getting ready for school. I have been freaked ever since.

  20. Just found your blog, I’m an NYC runner, love reading about your runs etc!! 🙂
    Sara

  21. It’s even gross and humid here! YUCK! I’ve always been scared of hurricanes and tornadoes mostly. Since I’m originally from Buffalo, even the most horrible snowstorm does not phase me.

    True story: when I was little, I thought I was Laura Ingalls for a good couple of years. My mom was “Ma”, dad was “Pa”, sister was Mary…hehe. Pleasedon’thinkI’mweirdnow… 🙂

  22. Tornados scare me more than any other weather condition. I guess growing up practicing tornado drills in elementary school combined with an early obsession with the Wizard of Oz scared me for life.

  23. Hmm, I rarely get scurred by weather, but after Sofia’s roof got ripped off her Park Slope apartment I am now officially nervous about tornados. Even in NYC…

  24. I’m most scared of tornadoes. I was in a tornado during my year in Memphis and that solidified the tornado fear for me. Possibly the most terrifying five seconds of my life. Ever since then it scares the crap out of me every time my weather radio goes off.

  25. Definitely tornadoes too. I’ve never experienced one but high winds definitely freak me out more than the ground shaking.

Leave a Reply

