Lies, damn lies and truths

The following conversation transpired between the hubs and I yesterday morning.

Hubs: So what time is this Turkey Trot on Thursday morning?

Me: 8:30.  [pause; put on super-excited-encouraging face]  YAY!  Aren’t you excited for your first-ever race?!

Hubs: Uh…I guess so.  It’s only 5K, I can handle that.

Me: UM.

Hubs: What?

Me: It’s…8K.

Hubs: You are such a liar.

For the record, I never said it was a 5K!  I am pretty sure (meaning: 50% sure) that I explicitly stated the distance of the race as 8K when I signed us up.

In any event….he’ll survive. 🙂  Still nursing my tender Crankle, I’m planning to run the race with him instead of racing it.  It will be fun!

Today’s EAT: The fam is in town, and even on the eve of a national eating holiday, it would be a crime not to take them to Raleigh’s most famous restaurant.  So we had lunch today at The Pit.

Pitmaster Ed Mitchell and me?  We are like THIS.  (fingers crossed)

Anyway, it was fantastic, as always.  Carolina spareribs or baby backs?  It’s always a tough question.  I went with the spareribs and they didn’t disappoint.

A few people have asked about my Thanksgiving menu.  Hopefully at this point, you’re not reading and are at home celebrating with your own family or are out at the bars getting shitfaced with your high-school friends, but in case anyone is still curious?  Here tis:

To Start:

  • Sweet Potato Soup with Toasted Marshmallow and Fried Sage
  • Autumn Salad with Dried Sour Cherries, Goat Cheese, Pumpkin Bread Croutons and Maple Vinaigrette

Main Course:

  • Herb Roasted Turkey and Gravy
  • Cornbread Stuffing with Apples and Pancetta
  • Caramelized Onion Mashed Potatoes
  • Zinfandel Cranberry Sauce
  • Roasted Haricots Verts with Browned Butter and Crispy Shallots

Sweets:

  • Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Spicy Caramel Apple Sauce
  • Maple Pecan Tartlets
  • Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Nom nom.  All recipes are here, in case you’re scrambling desperately.

Today’s DRINK: I opened this to make cranberry sauce…

…aaaaand then I drank it.  Womp womp.

For a $9 bottle of wine from Target, it’s not bad!  I’ve seen this Toasted Head Old Vine Zin around but I don’t think I’ve ever tried it.  Pleasantly surprised.

Today’s RUN: I logged an easy 4 yesterday, and took today off.  Trying hard to keep it under 20 this week.  It’s a struggle, when Raleigh has probably the most beautiful weather in the country right now, and I would love nothing more than to go on a 10-mile trail run!

Today’s QUESTION: How are you celebrating Thanksgiving this year? Fun and fabulous holiday wishes to everyone!

11 responses to “Lies, damn lies and truths

  1. Good luck tomorrow! I’ll also be trotting a 5 miler through some trails. Not sure how close you are to Chapel Hill, but you should try their Thanksgiving Day 8k one year…great socks instead of t-shirts (if you’re into that sort of thing!)

  2. One time my parents “lied” to me in the same way. I could’ve sworn we were running a 5K, but it was actually a 5 mile race. Ugh, I could’ve killed them. H and I are bailing on family Thanksgiving and are vacationing in Wine Country. Could be worse.

  3. hahahha to that convo! gooooood luck tmrw! 🙂

  4. Running a 5 miler and then dinner at Grammy’s!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Wow! Are you making all of that yourself?!

    We’re spending Thanksgiving at home! So happy!

    We’re having Turkey (sous-vide style), Corn bread dressing (I make that!), Brussel Sprouts, Cranberry sauce(s), Gravy, Home baked bread, Pumpkin Pie & Chocolate Pecan Pie. Keeping it light this year for a change. 😀

    Have a wonderful run & gobble gobble day!

  6. I remember you telling me it was an 8k two weeks ago. And I asked if it was the tour de carborro because that is also 8k and you said no. So 8k was definitely mentioned in the cuz’s prescence.

  7. I am guessing you were at the Ridgewood Race. I was there too! I was able to knock “Complete an 8K” off my fitness bucket list.

    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  8. Sweet potato soup – yum!! Hope you are having a great thanksgiving and that hubs’ “5k” went well 🙂

  9. ahahahahah…whoops.

    also, when can i come visit? that sounds good.

    i drove to the suburbs to go to Uno’s and ate pizza. seriously. we played old 80’s LPs on a record player there. (in my defense, there is NOTHING actually open in the city. because its lame.)

  10. omg woman, that Turkey day menu is insane!! Are you secretly a chef? Can’t wait to see dinner photos and a recap from the trot 🙂

    p.s. i ran in snow, sleet, and ice yesterday and was mad jeals of your sunny Raleigh weather…

  11. LOL…I can just picture that convo happening. How did the 8k end up going?

    And that menu…hope you took lots of pics. It sounds yummy!!

Leave a Reply

