Pounding pavement and porters

For the first time in ages, I met up with a local running club for their weekly track workout.  They’re kind of a roving bunch in the winter: they go wherever there might be some lights on, and where they won’t get booted out.

Tonight’s edition was at a middle school in the suburbs.

I arrived.  Looked around awkwardly for the people I whose workout I was crashing.  Exchanged clumsy hellos and hey-remember-mes.  Glanced down and realized I was standing on concrete.

“Is this like a…sidewalk track?”  I asked.

“Yep, and there’s a hill over there!” one girl said, a little too enthusiastically.  I squinted through the haze of the orange field lights.  It looked flat to me.

But then, warming up?  Yup, there was definitely a hill there.  And not just like a banked-corner hill.  An actual noticeable incline.  Awesome.

“It’s the only place that would turn the lights on tonight,” another girl explained.  And yes, so it was: there were at least three teams working out there this evening.  On a hilly slab of cement bathed in hazy orange light.

Runners are a funny bunch sometimes.

Today’s EAT: My belly was growling and doing a carb chant when I got home from running.  I responded with a quick batch of bacon potato chowder.

Sopped up with half of a big baguette.  Carbs.

(Although it was tasty, I’m gonna work on this one a little bit before sharing a recipe.   This was totally off the cuff and as I was in a massive hurry to shove food down my gullet, I took some shortcuts.)

Today’s DRINK: Oh hey, MOAR CARBS.

I rescued a lonely Highland Oatmeal Porter from the back of the fridge to have with dinner.

[Insert ten nearly-identical pictures of this oatmeal porter sitting in the grass, topped with various fruits and seeds and nut butters, along with a blurb about how it’s the most amazing thing ever.]

Nah, I wouldn’t do that to ya. 🙂  Besides, I drank it all before I could give it the health blogger treatment.

Anyway.  For a porter, it was fairly light and fizzy – kind of a dark purple color without much head.  Strong cola flavors.  Fairly hoppy.  Easy to drink.  I enjoyed it, but don’t know if I’d go out of my way to drink it again.

Today’s RUN: Now the gory details of today’s concrete track session.

The assignment: 4 X mile at half-marathon pace, 1 min recovery

The results: 3 X mile at…um…faster than HM pace.  6:56, 7:01, 6:48.  The blink-and-you’ll-miss-it recovery was a little tough, but while I was circling the concrete I felt pretty smooth.  (And for the record, I didn’t actually bag on the last one; it was a premeditated decision, at attempt to not blow my load and re-injure myself on my first track session in two months.  I hope it worked!)

Add 2+change each for the warm up and cool down and I ended the day with 7.3 miles in 56 minutes.  Whew.  I think I’m going to sleep soundly tonight.  And take a well-earned easy day tomorrow.

Today’s QUESTION: What’s your favorite soup? I don’t eat much soup because I’m afraid of slimy vegetables.  But bacon chowders I can handle.

23 responses to “Pounding pavement and porters

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Great work out!

    One of of my favorite soups is black bean soup. It’s super easy, and very tasty!

  2. I like thick soups. My mom made a fantastic chicken and gnocchi soup once. I think I had 4 bowls, not gonna lie. 🙂

  3. “Insert ten nearly-identical pictures of this oatmeal porter sitting in the grass, topped with various fruits and seeds and nut butters, along with a blurb about how it’s the most amazing thing ever.”

    Literal LOL. You rock.

    I’m a big fan of soups…but thick lentil-y soups, not thin soups because they just make me hungrier.

  4. C’mon, porters just scream out for nut butters 😛

    And damn, I haven’t done a track workout in forever – I miss those, but it’s hard to motivate to do them when you’re by yourself.

    Favorite soups are more like stews – beef carbonnade, thick thick lentil stews. Both with bacon. OBViously.

  5. Do you ever run with Fleet Feet Raleigh? I used to teach at a school in the ‘burbs of Raleigh, and yeah, lighting was scarce.

  6. AAAAAAAAAHAHAHA. You kill me.

    I do a great red chile chicken soup in the winter time and posole with hominy and roasted pork.

    That bacon chowder looks like a great matchup with that beer. I love porters and stouts when it’s cold.

  7. Hahah, love it! Why not put it in a special glass that you sell on your Open Sky site?

    So weird they didn’t grade the field properly before building the track. It must really mess with your head to run on….so unexpected.

  8. I enjoy most soups. Sadly, my favorites are the creamier kind. Anything that starts out with “Cream of” is usually a win in my book. Same goes for chowders…

  9. chicken noodle. hands down. there’s something comforting about it. although if i’m pairing soup with a sandwich i go with tomato and grilled cheese. i am such an exciting soup person i know.

    great workout. i hope you sleep like a rock after that workout

  10. French onion, or broccoli cheddar, my absolute favs.

  11. I can’t stand canned soups anymore. It’s got to be homemade and no celery for the love of God. I’m a big fan of most homemade chilis and most chicken tortilla types.

    What kind of school has a concrete track? My shins hurt just thinking about it.

    • Ahhhh slimy celery in soups is the worst. Even worse than slimy mysterious vegetable chunks.

      Chicken Tortilla rocks, mostly for the tortilla chips and cheese and sour cream. Hm, I need to try my hand at that one soon!

  12. “[Insert ten nearly-identical pictures of this oatmeal porter sitting in the grass, topped with various fruits and seeds and nut butters, along with a blurb about how it’s the most amazing thing ever.]”

    LOL LOL LOL LOL LOLERZBEAMS

    Also, nice workout.

  13. You would think more tracks would have the lights on late to discourage high schoolers from hanging out in dark areas without supervision. I guess you take what you can get.

  14. You’re afraid of slimy vegetables too? lol

    Favorite soups-Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup), Shoyu Ramen, Pho, Korean noodle soups, Nabeyaki Udon, ButternutSquash/Crab Bisque from Whole Foods. Delish! I would only have recipes for the Caldo & Ramen recipes. 🙂

  15. I love soups with slimy vegetables. Then again, I also love scrolling through seventeen photos of oats from various angles and on various backgrounds day after day. LOLS.

    Nice job churning out those repeats under such weird circumstances; sounds like an interesting venue.

    But really, soups. I love soup. My favorite to make is a savory pumpkin soup, with spinach and chunks of sweet potato. Not a chowder, but still super thick and delish.

  16. Haha! Beer topped with nut butters….hmmm.

  17. “[Insert ten nearly-identical pictures of this oatmeal porter sitting in the grass, topped with various fruits and seeds and nut butters, along with a blurb about how it’s the most amazing thing ever.]”

    this quote is…..epic.

  18. I’m a big fan of the slimy vegetable soups. But I make a really good butternut squash & apple soup (pureed..no slimy mess here). And beer topped with nut butters (don’t forget the ground flax) sounds delish.

Leave a Reply

