Sloppy planning

Oh hey, husband.  I made a training plan for you.  Then I spilled wine on it.

Sounds about right, eh?  Good thing it was a draft.

Here is the updated version, which I am seeking input on from you, my good runner-readers, because although I have been running for a very long time, I actually know jack-poop about making up training plans.

Background and considerations:

  • It will be his first half-marathon.  It’s April 9.
  • His current “base” is 10-15 MPW.
  • He wants (and has time) to run 4 days a week.
  • He works long, unpredictable hours, so I’m not gonna try to tell him which days to run what.  Just a total number of miles for each run.
  • I’m also not ascribing particular weeks to particular dates.  There are 12 weeks between now and race day: this “plan” is 10 weeks long.  I’m assuming that due to work or whatever he’s going to miss a week here and there.
  • He’s not really gunning for a particular time, just running for fun.

And the numbers:

Week 1: 2, 3, 3, 6 (14)
Week 2: 2, 3, 4, 7 (16)
Week 3: 3, 4, 3, 8 (18)
Week 4: 3, 3, 3, 6 (15)
Week 5: 3, 4, 4, 9 (20)
Week 6: 3, 5, 5, 10 (23)
Week 7: 3, 5, 4, 8 (20)
Week 8: 4, 5, 5, 11 (25)
Week 9: 2, 3, 3, 7 (15)
Week 10: 2, 2, 13.1 race (17)

Thoughts or suggestions?  Too much, too little?

(Also, you might wonder why he doesn’t just use Higdon or whatever?  Yeah, he could.  But I’m a huge nerd and thought it would be kinda fun to make him a training plan.  Besides, I think he’ll do better with simplicity and flexibility, rather than a calendar-style plan.)

Today’s EAT: I’m having dinner at a friend’s house tonight, so no eats here today!  I do have an delicious and unique salad dressing that I can’t wait to blog tomorrow though….assuming I can wait to use actual lettuce as a vehicle for it, instead of just eating it with a spoon.

Today’s DRINK: Guess who’s coming to dinner?

My favorite costs-ten-bucks-but-tastes-like-twenty bottle: Bogle Old Vine Zin. I picked it up, along with some pretty yellow Gerber daisies, to bring to our hosts, even though they said not to bring anything.  (Doesn’t that always happen and isn’t it always a bit awkward?  I’m definitely guilty of having people over and telling them not to bring anything, too, but as a guest I’d never show up empty-handed!)

Today’s RUN:  Recovery in the form of 5 easy miles.  A bit slippery with some remaining ice hanging around, but nothing that couldn’t be run around or carefully shuffled over.

Today’s QUESTION: What, if anything, do you normally bring to dinner at someone’s home? At a minimum, I pretty much always bring a bottle of wine, unless I know for a fact that they don’t drink it or serve it in their home.  (Um….actually, I don’t think that’s ever happened, as I suppose I tend to befriend fellow boozehounds.  But if it did, then I’d bring something else like cookies or fancy chocolate instead.)

Oh, and obviously, any feedback on the half-marathon training plan for the hubs is welcome too! I’m sure he would love to have it ratified, so to speak, by all of you.  (Actually I think he’d probably roll his eyes at me if he knew that I was posting this, but whatever.)

35 responses to “Sloppy planning

  1. I bring wine, because usually I consume a bottle by myself. Training plan looks good, the one I used had some absurd weekly mileage totals that really freaked me out.

  2. I normally bring a bottle of wine or a six-pack or growler of beer. And then H and I usually drink it by ourselves. We’re heavier drinkers than most of our friends so it’s just easier to provide our own alcohol. If it’s planned ahead of time, I also like to bring a dessert because it gives me an excuse to offload baking so I don’t eat a whole cake by myself.

  3. That looks doable, IF he does all the runs. Four days a week, to me, is the minimum you should expect to do when training for a half marathon. Maybe throw a five-miler into week three, I’m not sure.

    So, I generally ask before I come if I can bring a salad, some bread, or a dessert. This is partially because I’m cheap and partially because I do not know jack about wine. I know red and white and you mix them together and you get rosé, right? So if they say no to the above three, I offer to bring beer. Then they say, “Just bring wine,” and I go and buy whatever is featured prominently in the liquor store. But then again, I don’t go to many high-falootin’ functions. I’m lucky if there are enough non-folding chairs for everyone to sit on.

  4. I definitely bring wine or beer, sometimes flowers and/or dessert.
    So, would you want to add or specify hills? I can’t avoid hills where I live, unless I do everything on a treadmill, but some people do have that option. I, by the way, am a pretend-to-be runner, so take the hill comment with a grain of salt.

  5. Nice work on the wine. I usually bring something like that because the food part is always covered. Or dessert- depending on how much time and effort I’m able to put into it….

  6. Honestly, one of the hardest things with people that are low mileage and/or not longtime runners is appropriate training paces. It’s REALLY easy to do all of your runs at a moderately hard pace when you’re running four times a week. I think the best thing you can do is tell him that he can and should push the pace on ONE of the short runs each week, and can do a “fast finish” on the long runs, but that the rest of it truly needs to be easy. Personally, I’d like to see someone get to a high of 30 miles for a half and have them do the distance once in training for psychological purposes (4, 5, 8, 13?), but it’s not like 25 versus 30 will affect whether he finishes.

    • Part of the challenge (with him, and I think many people in his boat) is that (a) it’s hard to know what your paces are when you’re just starting out, and (b) it can change really quickly as make rapid fitness gains in the beginning, especially as a young healthy male. This is an excellent point though…and I will probably be doing most of his long runs with him (assuming I can handle the extra mileage on top of my own) so I can control the pacing of those, hehe. As for the others, I will definitely make that a point of the plan. Thanks for the great feedback!

  7. I bring wine or fancy bread/cookies.

    I love Bogle wine! My favorite is the Cabernet Sauvignon. 🙂

  8. Wine is always a solid bet, or sometimes I’ll bring a sweet quickbread (avocado chocolate chip has been a hit — not kidding) or cookies.

    I think the efficacy of a training plan totally depends on what the runner’s objective is. If he’s not gunning for a particular time and just wants to have fun? He can pretty much just train however he wants! (Although he’ll definitely have more “fun” if he’s got a good enough base to finish the race without any major mental anguish and physical suffering.) I think the plan you’ve laid out will do him just fine; the flexibility and lack of speed work seems very beginner-friendly and appropriate.

  9. it looks so similar to this one: anne’s half plan. okay, i need to calm myself down; i’m having training envy.

  10. I bring one bottle of wine on weekday evenings and at least two bottles of wine and a toothbrush on weekends.

    If he just wants to do the HM for fun, I think the distances are OK. But I agree with kristenschleicher on the principle of pace differentiation.

    Even if it is for fun, it would help if he could have some sort of vague target pace/time as a basis for differentiation. Let’s call it “fun pace” rather than “race pace” to keep the pressure off.

    Run no 1 (the shortest one) somewhat faster than fun pace OR make-it-up-as-you-go-along lamppost intervals.
    Run no 2 nice and easy – somewhat slower than fun pace.
    Run no 3 more or less at fun pace.
    Run no 4 (the long one) much slower than fun pace.

    I hope this doesn’t violate your “simplicity and flexibility” criterion! 🙂

    • Oh, I definitely think he has a vague sense of where he wants to be, pace-wise. (Most people do, I think, even when they’re just “fun runners”.) It’s actually kind of funny because I think he’s a “smarter” (more conservative) runner than I am when it comes to not going out too fast.

  11. I think the training schedule is great. Not too daunting, but enough that he’s getting those miles in. I love that you’re doing this for him!
    I bring dessert. Every time. Maybe it’s b/c I’m scared they won’t have any??? 🙂

  12. I think the plan looks decent if he just wants to run for fun, as long as he can stick to it (which seems like he can!).

    I like bringing dessert to dinner at a friends because a). I know little about wine b). dessert is fairly easy to make c). I can healthify it and see if anyone notices…and most importantly c). it ensures there will be something sweet to eat after dinner!

  13. I think that plan looks fine as long as he commits to all of his long runs. To me, that’s the most important thing for training. The other runs during the week just determine how painful that long run is going to be!

  14. Unfortunately very few of my friends are boozehounds, so wine is usually out. Or maybe fortunately, since I know jack about it other than I like it.

    I offer to bring dessert most of the time. Baking is my all time favorite and if I spend the time cooking it I know I’ll eat less of it.

  15. I bring two bottles of wine each time, sparkling and a white, cause I know they will have red for sure… And I work in a wine store so I’m not confortable to bring wine that cost less than 15-17$… 😉

  16. Same as you, I always come bearing booze. For most (hmmm maybe all?) of my friends, I know it’ll be appreciated and probably consumed during the visit on one of those late nights where you stay up reminiscing and catching up about everything. Flowers are also a good option for something longer lasting.

  17. Do you think you could convince him to do a day of cross training? I believe in it! 🙂

    And, I usually bring wine, especially now, when I have 59 leftover bottles from NYE. Eeeks.

  18. I’m the only one of my friends who enjoys cooking so I usually bring the meal haha… if for some reason it’s been covered I either bring an appetizer or dessert. My non-culinarily (word?) gifted friends cover the booze and salad.

  19. YAY. Also: SHIT, you just reminded me I need to work on a training plan too.

    I always bring booze or fruit; on the very infrequent occasions we dine with non-drinkers, some fancy sparkling cider does the trick.

  20. I think the plan looks good. I am a nerd too, I love to write my own plans. My husband likes to plan when he wants to do his longest run and how far first. Then back down 1 or 2 miles a week. As for the week day runs, 2 is good, 3 is better but not always doable. I do flow yoga 3-4 days a week also. I think running one 13 miler on a Saturday before could happen if he needs it mentally (just to know he can do it).

    • That’s more or less what I did here! Well, I started with the longest run/highest mileage and the current, and backed it down from both ends, I guess. Making training plans is kind of fun! (Even though I never get around to doing it for myself…haha)

  21. i usually ask what to bring. of course most people tell me not to bring anything. so i then make a cream pie or something. i’ve actually never brought wine to someone’s place before. i have brought beer though…

    and i think it’s SO COOL that youre designing hubs plan. i think it looks great. my only question is: are all the miles done at the same pace? i think he’d probably find the running more fun if there were different kinds of runs in there. at least i know for me it keeps boredom away.

    • Yeah, I’m realizing that he probably could use some guidance on pace. I don’t want to have him do actual speedwork, but obviously he needs to keep an eye on it and vary it a little bit.

      Um…you can come to my house any time if you bring a cream pie!

  22. I always like to bring a bottle of wine or beer if the hosts or more beer drinker types. Also, I’ll use anything as an excuse to bake, so I always like to whip up simple cookies, bread or another type of treat to bring along.

    I like your running plan, too! While I need more of a structured plan (run this amount, this day, at this pace), I love creating new workout plans – just pretending I’m a personal trainer. It’s fun to know you’ve dreamed up something that is going to take someone to their goals!

  23. I was wondering if you have a degree that gives you the authority to make a training plan?? Perhaps exercise science? If not, I think he should follow Hal Higdon. 🙂

  24. bahahahahah I was just going to say….”who are these people that don’t drink/serve wine in their households and why and the EFF are you friends with them!?!?!?”

    In the clear…phew.

  25. Pingback: Updates on things you didn’t ask about | eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

