More bounce to the ounce?

My favorite search term today: “there’s poo on the trampoline.”

Good lord, that’s a serious situation.  Someone could get hurt.

You know you need to get a life when the highlight of your day is checking your search terms.  Or taking a field trip to the library.

I enjoyed Water for Elephants, so I’m hoping this is similarly good.  I’ll find out soon enough, as I’ve only got rights to this puppy for a measly week.

Today’s EAT: Tonight’s dinner was a home run: exactly what I was craving after my workout and ready in 20 minutes.  Score one for a classic Caesar with salmon:

That gorgeous hunk of wild Coho was on sale for $10/lb (so my piece was under $4!) and the croutons were homemade in minutes from a mini-baguette.  The dressing was store-bought:

Caesar salad gets a bad rap because the dressing is so high in calories and fat.  I’ve found that the key is to buy a dressing that’s more oily than creamy: it coats the lettuce more evenly and you’ll need less than you would of the thicker stuff.  (This Smith + Wollensky dressing was 100 calories for 2 TBSP, which was just about right for my big salad.  Not bad at all!  And no weird ingredients – well, unless you consider anchovies weird.)

Today’s DRINK: I’d been excited about opening this bottle of Cloud Break Chard as it came highly recommended by the Total Wine guy that sold it to me:

So why not on a random Monday night, right?

It’s neither buttery nor oakey, neither sharp nor watery.  In fact, it’s just right.  There are hints of lemon and honey.  For $7, I’d definitely buy this again!

Today’s RUN: Easy four miles on the treadmill.  I just set it at 7.0 with 1% incline and did my best to zone out.  I certainly could have run outdoors, but I’m still getting a little throat scratchiness in the morning so I’m babying myself.  Wah, I know.

Since I was already at the gym, I popped in for a 45-minute Pilates class, too.

Today’s QUESTION: Whatcha readin’ right now?

36 responses to “More bounce to the ounce?

  1. Call me a 12-year-old, but I’m currently reading The Hunger Game series. To balance out the teen drama, I’m also reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series. By the way, love your blog. I don’t comment too much but follow it through Google Reader. Your sarcasm “inspires” me – ha! I know how much you love that word! 🙂

  2. I’m currently reading Room by Emma Donoghue – amazing! It’s written from the perspective of a 5 year old boy. I don’t want to ruin the story, so I’ll just say it’s really compelling and well worth picking up. Now I just have to figure out what’s next on my list… any suggestions?

    • I just finished an Amy Tan book that’s a few years old – Saving Fish from Drowning – and thought it was pretty good. Also told from a unique point of view. 🙂

      I haven’t read Room but it sounds intriguing! Thanks!

  3. Jealous of your salad, it’s EXACTLY what I need right now. But instead I just called for some diner food to be delivered 🙂

    Anywho, I’m reading a monster of a book that’s not nearly as depressing as it sounds “Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer”. It’s seriously fascinating and mind blowing at the same time. Will have to balance it off with some Carl Hiaasen

    • I’M JEALOUS OF DINER FOOD DELIVERY.

      For serious. There is no good delivery here. NONE. I’ll trade you my salad….

      And that actually sounds like the sort of book I’d enjoy. Nonfiction on a dry subject can be really really good if the writer is engaging.

  4. I am reading your blog.

    Now I am commenting on it.

    (What, to literal?)

  5. waiting on an amazon order that includes “This is Where I Leave You” and “the Lost City of Z.” And probably an Allure or InStyle to balance out all that thinkin’.

  6. I’m actually reading a book from you right now–A fraction of the Whole. And while the jacket says it “Hilarious!” I am not finding it funny in the slightest. It’s good, but not funny. What am I missing???

  7. lifeisbeachykeen

    I’m reading The Nanny Returns- and i’ve been reading it for weeks. So lame. It’s probably overdue by now, I should really check to see if it’s overdue.crap.
    I just can’t bring myself to sit down and actually read, maybe because it’s not that great of a book? Hm.

  8. I just finished Alice In Wonderland. I was not all that impressed. I enjoyed Water for Elephants. Can’t wait to see how you like this one.

    good job sticking it out on the treadmill. I have a hard time getting 3 miles out on there lately. Who would have thought I would jump up and down and grab my running shoes at the weatherman telling me it was 20 degrees out!

  9. i’m reading two books, the summons by john grisham (stays at my friend’s house for when i’m over) and another one by lisa gardner called live to tell.

    and search terms. i always read those. hilarity

  10. What a gross search! I get some weird ones too.

    That salmon Caesar looks awesome. It’s been too long since I’ve made that. You’ve inspired me…

  11. Oh and right now I’m reading Robert Crais. Love him!

  12. I’m reading Stirring it Up by the CE-Yo of Stonyfield Yogurt. So far so good!

    I love Smith & Wollensky’s steak sauce. 🙂

  13. I am in the middle of The Discipline of Grace by Jerry Bridges and doing the study guide along with. Loving every single page of it- it’s about our role vs. God’s role in pursuing holiness. Also on the backburner I started American Wife by Curtis Settinfield a while ago and never finished, but I was really liking it.. its a fiction novel based on Barbara Bush.

  14. oops! i think I meant Laura Bush, not Barb :-p

  15. almost finished murakami’s ‘hard boiled wonderland and the end of the world.’ not sure what i’m going to read next!

  16. I’m reading The Big Short, by Michael Lewis. It’s about the housing market meltdown. I’m also reading Beowulf, but only because I have to teach it in two weeks.

  17. Easy and 7.0 don’t go in the same sentence for me 🙂 LOL!

    I loved Water for Elephants. Fall on your Knees is next on my reading list. Probably in June when I’m flying to Asia…not much time for reading (other than blogs) right now! 🙂

  18. I’m reading Homicide by David Simon. It’s like The Wire in book form!

  19. I just started Hunger Games, too. And by started, I mean it’s been sitting on my couch for a couple weeks. I have to have it back at the library by feb 2…. I’m a fan of putting unneccessary pressure on my life.

  20. Poo on the trampoline would be dangerous. Um, not reading anything at the moment, but I need some good book recs.

  21. I read ape house after Xmas and it was great! A super fast read. Right Noe I’m just catching up on magazines like the Atlantic.

  22. Lol – I totally laughed out loud at that search term!
    We’re doing a family book club of sorts right now with the Percy Jackson series. It’s my attempt to get my 9 yr old to read more chapter books and less comic books. 🙂

  23. I’m reading the “Checklist Manifesto” by Atul Gawande (who wrote “Better” and “Complications”) I love his writing and the topic but it’s not so intriguing that I stay up all night reading (which is a good thing, for me, right now).

  24. I’m guiltily hanging my head because I’m still reading Anna Karenina, and I was reading it a year ago at this time too. I pick it up every now and then (just enough to still say I’m reading it) but I just can’t get through a big chunk of it lately. This makes me crave salmon. I wish I had somewhere to buy good salmon. Yum!

  25. I’m currently reading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest, though Meb Keflezighi’s autobiography is next on the list.
    You might really like the Apaltagua Chardonnay if you can find it where you are. It’s not overly oaky either.

  26. I’m about to CRY because I’m twenty pages from done with Between the Assassinations (Aravind Adiga) and I just don’t want it to be over! It’s a series of interconnected stories about the daily lives of people in a small city in India–very funny, very touching, very witty. (I also looooved his novel White Tiger–about a sneaky taxi driver for a rich man in India).

Leave a Reply

